We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion

Leighton Buzzard Road | Water End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3BD, England
+44 1442 213594
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good30%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (103 reviews)
“fillet steak” (9 reviews)
“halloumi” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Bar, Pizza, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Leighton Buzzard Road | Water End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3BD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Visited with 8 other friends for a birthday meal. The venue is lovely when you arrive and very welcoming - Plenty of parking! Eventually we got served drinks and I ordered a shandy - its properly best if you just order a lemonade as the...More

Thank Mike C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with 20 family and friends for a breakfast/brunch celebration. The breakfast was booked for 10.30 but was not served until 11.45. We arrived at 11.30 for brunch which was pre- ordered but it was not served until 12.15. We asked for tea to be...More

Thank Keith H
Oakman I, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Keith H, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We can only apologise for the experience you received on this occasion, please get in touch and let us know a little more about your booking with us so we can...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I took my wife for a Valentine's lunch. We choose the Red Lion because we have always found it to be safe and reliable. However we were very let down. The service was slow and unfriendly and even the drinks took ages to arrive. Their...More

Thank Mike H
Oakman I, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Mike H, Thank you for visiting the Red Lion and for taking the time to leave us your review. We can only apologise for the poor experience you received on this occasion, this is so far from the high standards we maintain for ourselves....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited restaurant for Valentines pros friendly service, food average nothing special for price better gastro pubs to be found in Hemel.More

Thank jcoolLondon
Oakman I, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi jcoolLondon, Thank you for visiting the Red Lion and for taking the time to leave us your review, we are sorry you feel the food quality was not up to scratch. All of our ingredients are sourced from the highest quality suppliers, which are...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We’ve really enjoyed eating at the Red Lion for years but had a really disappointing lunch today. Starters were relatively quick to arrive but the main took 45 mins to arrive. When it did, a member of the kitchen staff brought it out and apologised...More

Thank Matt M
Oakman I, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Matt M, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for visiting us. We can honestly only apologise for the experience you had with us on this occasion, there is no excuse. Please, rest assured we will be investigating this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a really lovely roast lunch at the Red Lion last weekend. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. We will definitely be returning.

Thank Allfullup
Oakman I, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Allfullup, Thank you for the lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Red Lion Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came as a group of 6 to celebrate a birthday a couple of weeks ago, and from the minute we got in knew it wasn't going to be very special! Got seated at a table for 5 which we had to squeeze in (we...More

Thank 359alice
Oakman I, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi 359alice, Thank you for choosing the Red Lion for the special occasion. We are always flexible with table choices and would have been happy to offer another table, we are having the door repaired to stop the draught coming through permanently; we can only...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been a handful of times to the red lion mostly for brunch and that is always really good . But today we decided to go for dinner and it wasn't that good . My 5 year old had roast beef and most of...More

Thank Laura B
Oakman I, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Laura B, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. All feedback is a great indicator of areas we need to improve on. We would like to apologise for the experience you and your family had with us regarding the meal. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Yuk! Lovely place, but food was a let down. Had high hopes but food was served on small boring plates. No imagination, no wow factor, more fat than meat. Bad experience with service, got food before drinks in fact 3mins after ordering. And a rather...More

Thank Lee H
Oakman I, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Lee H, Thank you for the review. We would like to investigate this experience further, please get in touch: enquiries@oakmaninns.co.uk Kind Regards, The Red Lion Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Worst experience ever.. didn’t like the taste of the food.. really don’t wanna talk about it. Don’t recommend!

1  Thank polinaattah
Oakman I, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi polinaattah, Thank you for the review, please get in touch with us directly with some more information, it is very hard for us to improve without details. Kind Regards, The Red Lion Team

PreviousNext
12345660
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
189 reviews
3.80 km away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
798 reviews
3.91 km away
The Watermill Hotel
437 reviews
4.35 km away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
435 reviews
4.36 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Crockers Chef's Table
92 reviews
2.13 km away
Chiang Mai Cottage
349 reviews
2.67 km away
The Cochin
513 reviews
2.76 km away
Ristorante Alberto
223 reviews
2.69 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gadebridge Park
125 reviews
2.82 km away
Frithsden Vineyard
81 reviews
2.31 km away
Berkhamsted Castle
127 reviews
5.10 km away
St Mary's Church
26 reviews
2.79 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ted821
3 November 2015|
Answer
Response from mouseHerts | Reviewed this property |
Sorry we didn't have the steak, so I can't comment.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Leighton Buzzard Road | Water End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3BD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 213594
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing