We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Paper Mill

) #9 of 134 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead $$ - $$$ , British,
Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
+44 1442 288800
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good40%
  • Average18%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (7 reviews)
“fullers pub” (7 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have eaten a few times, Sunday Lunch was OK, but nothing special, however we did have a large gathering of the family in January 2017 and that all went well. Unfortunately we have been trying there Monday night Quiz, The Quizzes are very enjoyable,...More

Thank syncmaster955b
David C, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you feel our pricing is premium, we do have a large drinks menu and feel that we offer something for every budget. I am glad you enjoyed our quiz and your comments will be relayed to my...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have dined here twice in the last six months. The food, especially the ribs and fish and chips were excellent. However my wife's large glass of wine cost £10.40!! I might find southern prices more expensive than my home county of Cheshire, but this...More

Thank SquireCheshire
David C, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We have a drinks menu on the bar that has a large variety of wine available by the glass, with prices to suit all guests. We would happily advise you on your next visit and offer you a sample or...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The waitress had no idea about the drinks on offer, and refused to serve a clearly 30+ year old man with a beard and tattoos. the food was over-seasoned, and over-complicated. (it tasted like the ocean - fishy and salty) having heard positive things about...More

Thank northenboy16
David C, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, however I am sorry you had such a bad experience. Our ethos is that "every customer leaves happy" and Pride ourselves on good service, so we have failed here. If you would like to email me direct I would like...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lot of building work currently in progress around the pub should lead to extra effort. But not when we arrived. We received slow service and warm drinks in dirty glasses. Surprisingly, we also received a scam parking notice in the mail later that week,...More

Thank AdamABlackie
David C, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry that you had a negative experience with us at the Paper Mill. We strive to offer great customer service but have failed on this occasion. We are having a small refurbishment to our outside area, I...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Met with family for a meal after a traumatic day at my uncles funeral. Ordered a pork belly dish which was quite pricey, which when it turned up did not have any meat but all soft jelly like fat which was inedible. When I finally...More

Thank Paul S
David C, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear your meal was not satisfactory. The manager on Duty did pass all your comments on to myself and our Kitchen team. Please rest assured they have been acted upon. I sincerely apologise for making...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have been to the papermill many a time, more recently though just for drinks, tonight I went with a group of friends and booked in the restaurant. Several specials were unavailable despite a 6pm seating, ordered a roast beef, when the food came the portion...More

Thank Kelly S
Robbie B, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy our roast, all your comments will be looked into and passed on to our executive chef. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback, as it is the...More

A TripAdvisor Member
41
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Have never visited this place before. Having just returned back to the UK I was really looking forward to a traditional roast. I was not left disappointed. The variety of vegetables wasn't very good however everything was tasty and well cooked. The service was rather...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Robbie B, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the 4 star review. We are happy to hear you liked our traditional Sunday Roast. Hope to see you back soon. Thanks Sam and Team

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Poor quantity, lacking in taste and what I would call expensive for pub food. Poor menu. I wouldn't go back for food. Be nice for a few drinks outside on a warm evening. Hotel stay nearby, living on expenses, so not as if I paid...More

Thank ChipoSticko
Robbie B, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us here. We pride ourselves on making fresh, seasonal, tasty dishes. Our staff are trained to ask about your meal and I am sorry if that was not the case on...More

Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Prior to visit I didn't know this place existed! Great day out. Went with friends ( we had prebooked). On arrival we were greeted with tea/coffee then had a very informative talk about the history of paper, followed by a trip down the canal on...More

Thank Evahertfordshire
Robbie B, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour. Thanks Sam and Team

Reviewed 8 May 2017

I often use this for business meetings over lunch. There is always room in the car park, the service is quick & the staff are nice. The food is not the cheapest but consistently good with a wide range. It usually comes promptly & I...More

Thank BigblueAl
Robbie B, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Al, for your feedback. Really happy to hear that you enjoy The Paper Mill and I hope too see you back here soon. Thanks Sam

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Watling Street Cafe
6 reviews
.68 km away
K2 Balti House
374 reviews
1.26 km away
Bull Rodizio
241 reviews
.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Snow Centre
1,414 reviews
1.28 km away
Frogmore Paper Mill - The Paper Trail
69 reviews
.74 km away
Planet Ice - Ice Rink
51 reviews
1.23 km away
XC
44 reviews
1.23 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
vickykaur
is there parking here?
17 June 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from OliviaBurney |
Yes, BUT its only free parking if you sign in when you get inside the pub (you can choose 4 hours or 24 hours). Its run by a parking company who monitor it with in and out cameras, so do not forget!
1
Vote
Anne P
I am coming tonight & I have coeliac disease, can I see a gluten free menu now please
16 June 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from David B | Reviewed this property |
You need to get in touch with the Restraunt direct I can't help you sorry
0
Votes
Ian C
Do you put pepper on everything?
5 February 2015|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Maura J | Reviewed this property |
Suggest if you have allergic or dislike of pepper that you contact the Paper Mill direct. I have never experienced an issue with excessive seasoning.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 288800
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing