We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Oak Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Pinkney Lane | Bank, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7FD, England
+44 23 8028 2350
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 18:00 - 21:00
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 14:30
Mon - Sat 18:00 - 21:30
Sat - Sun 12:00 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

862 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 853: English reviews
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked and visited the oak Sunday evening for a set 3 course Xmas menu from arriving to leaving could not fault anything the staff are excellent can not do enough for you the food was fantastic everything was homemade not bought in excellent portions all lovely and hot and the whole atmosphere was festive and relaxing so nice to visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited here for lunch had not booked table. Offered upright bench type seating in passageway beside outside door .Chose to wait until something more suitable became avaible This NEVER happened, for all there were several unoccupied tables. When we asked if we could sit at one of them told NO as these tables were to accommodate 3-4 people .... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sandie m
cps_dias, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sandie m, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I can only apologise that you were disappointed with your table at The Oak Inn, As my supervisor explained that the other tables were reserved for 3-4 people and we couldn't move you at that point as a table for more than 2 would not have fitted... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Oak is a pub you can visit all year round and not be dissapointed. The staff make you welcome and clearly enjoy doing so. The menu is in the main made up of local produce and wonderfully fresh. My wife loves fish and seafood- she's spanish- so is torn between dishes when we visit. The prices are very reasonable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank David S
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came in on a Sunday lunch at 1pm Hadn't booked a table and it was packed , the staff gave us a reserved table as the people had not turned up, our friends came to meet us and we ended up sitting outside as tables very close together and couldn't all fit round ours, When ordering at the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abbey F
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food is very generous in portion size and a good selection of beer and ale. Worth the scenic drive to get there

Helpful?
Thank Ben G
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tried to book a table for 8 at 6pm for my daughters Birthday only to be told that children are not allowed in the pub at this time of the day.... 6 is not exactly a ridiculous time to enjoy a meal and still have the children tucked up in bed by 7.30... Poor show and very disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank Gary R
cps_dias, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Gary for taking the time to write us a review, I can assure you that we do welcome children at The Oak and we also have a fantastic children's menu. However we do have a house policy that only allows children under the age of 10 in the Oak until a certain time. I am sorry that this... More 

Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dropped in for a late evening meal and we couldn't have asked for a better reception. The meal was freshly cooked and really tasty - couldn't have faulted it at all. Definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Kim N
Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here for Sunday lunch and it was perfect, the atmosphere was typical English country pub warm and friendly, and the roast dinner was spot on. We had my wife's mother staying with us for the weekend who only speaks Portuguese and it just so happened there was a wonderful waitress called Sofia from Portugal who was fantastic. Would recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iboylin
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

fantastic warm friendly pub in the heart of the new forest, food was excellent i had the roast pork. all the staff were super friendly and as i had my mother in law with me it was great to come across Sofia who to our surprise was a native portuguese. it was a shame i couldn't just walk home and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ianboylin
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went here for dinner and was pleasantly suprised at the quality of the food. We had booked in advance and glad we had as it quickly filled up. The king prawn starter was delicious as was the pie main. Washed down with wine and beer a lovely night out and well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank DeanandJakki

Travellers who viewed The Oak Inn also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 

Been to The Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 16 - USD 41
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 17:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
18:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pinkney Lane | Bank, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7FD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest  >  Lyndhurst
  • Phone Number: +44 23 8028 2350
Description
The Oak Inn is a quintessential award-winning country pub, famous for its fresh, locally-sourced food. In the heart of the beautiful New Forest, it has a wide range of wines and a selection of ever-changing real ales. As well as a glorious al fresco garden, cosy open fires are found indoors.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Oak Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Southampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Southampton, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Oak Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?