We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Lion

$$ - $$$, British,
104-108 Reading Road, Yateley GU46 7RX, England
+44 1252 890840
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good36%
  • Average21%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“onion rings” (4 reviews)
“pudding” (4 reviews)
“open fires” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
104-108 Reading Road, Yateley GU46 7RX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have lived in Yateley for more than 20 years and the White Lion is our local. We go there most Friday nights for a drink and often eat there. New management have probably scuppered that. When we want to eat at the WL we...More

2  Thank aitchraz
General Manager A, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aitchraz, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Unfortunately we were busier than expected that particular evening and i'm sorry for the confusion , we do of course take table bookings, we just do not reserve and...More

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Vintage Inns should be proud of this one. Having visited similar we choose to go here before moving to Yateley. We were not disappointed. Nice and quiet to sit in and have a warm meal. Weather was a bit dismal but the chirpy waitress made...More

Thank Adam S
General Manager A, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Adam Thank you very much for you kind review. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Brandon and Team

Reviewed 6 October 2017

Food is good, a little above average but certainly not memorable. Although very well situated by the main Reading Road with a large car park, it does not seem to have a large clientele .... maybe it (the decor, ambience) could be a little more...More

Thank Corrillan
General Manager A, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Corrillan thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. We are due a full refurbishment sometime in the new year.

Reviewed 4 October 2017

Tuesday night visit.Good value food ,service a bit slow for only 2 tables taken in restaurant .would visit again

Thank suzukiclub
General Manager A, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your positive review and feedback Brandon and Team

Reviewed 3 September 2017

Have been here about before but will not be returning. Waited 40 minutes for Sunday Roast. Potatoes really burnt, parsnip also burnt and covered in pepper, flat Yorkshires. Turkey was supposedly wrapped in bacon but there was no bacon and my turkey was lukewarm at...More

Thank Sue W
General Manager A, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Sue W, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 25 August 2017

I initially went with a friend to another restaurant not too far away but when we sat down we discovered a very poor choice of vegetarian options for my friend so we left and came to the White Lion instead. (If you want to know...More

Thank Richard P
General Manager A, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Richard P, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The White Lion, Yateley! I will pass on your feedback to the Chefs and your waitress for the evening Addie. Kind Regards Brandon and Team

Reviewed 12 August 2017

Visited here on Monday 3rd July around 1.30pm for a late lunch with a colleague. I appreciate it was late for some for lunch but it was almost empty. One of us ordered the fish finger sandwich and a wrap. We then ordered desserts and...More

Thank Adele72
General Manager A, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Adele72, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. I will share your feedback with the team and improve on it. The disabled key has now been replaced. Kind regards

Reviewed 11 August 2017

Visited The White Lion last year on a business visit, food was very good and the service, too. The only downside is that the 'dining style' chairs are not very comfortable to sit in - hopefully on my next visit, the chairs will be more...More

Thank wiseflower
General Manager A, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hello Wiseflower, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. We are due a refurbishment next year so stay tuned for nicer chairs ! Kind regards

Reviewed 2 August 2017

Considering it was a Tues eve and it was quiet when we first arrived, there was a long wait for our food. We ordered a meat feast pizza for my son but requested it without red onion chutney, unfortunately it came with the chutney still...More

Thank Jane H
General Manager A, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Jane H, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory.

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Decided at last minute to go out for lunch yesterday afternoon. Pub was not busy. Ordered a roast dinner, lamb shank and a sirloin steak. The steak dinner was good. The Sunday roast was appalling, cold, thrown on the plate, the quality of food means...More

Thank NG3313
General Manager A, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for your review and for bringing this to our attention. I am terribly sorry to hear you had a bad experience. I would like to discuss your visit with you in more detail. If you have time could you please contact us at...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Dog and Partridge Yateley
272 reviews
.12 km away
The Bird in Hand
153 reviews
1.57 km away
La Galleria Restaurant
146 reviews
.55 km away
Short And Sweet
52 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cricketers
39 reviews
1.05 km away
Jake's @ Tri-Lakes
130 reviews
1.19 km away
Leisure Matters
40 reviews
3.36 km away
California Country Park
167 reviews
4.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
John S
3 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from boromover | Reviewed this property |
I have just spoken to the White Lion in Yateley but it was difficult to get my query across before the line went dead. Tried again but no-one picked up the telephone. This PH is part of the Vintage Inns group and... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 104-108 Reading Road, Yateley GU46 7RX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Yateley
  • Phone Number: +44 1252 890840
Description
The White Lion in Yateley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing