We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan

$$ - $$$, British,
2 Hutton Road | Ash Vale, Aldershot GU12 5HA, England
+44 1252 325212
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good29%
  • Average14%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“prawns” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Hutton Road | Ash Vale, Aldershot GU12 5HA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Great food, friendly atmosphere, attentive staff and a thoroughly enjoyable time was had by all! Happy Christmas!

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Tim P
Reviewed 6 days ago

Good value and attentive staff well worth a visit. Very popular so if eating reserve table . Lovely location where in the summer you can sit outside near the canel.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank U4168QYlindad
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited the Swan earlier this evening and was staggered that out of the five Real Ale Pumps only one was operational ( Greene King IPA? no me neither!!) as all the others were sold out!! They were also out of stock of Guinness on...More

Thank John W
Reviewed 1 week ago

lovely visit with friends lovely food and excellent service. would recommend everyone to visit as beautiful building with fab food!!

Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank libby100bighugs
Em2811, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decided to visit again and it is still average. Needs a bit of love and staff who care. Should be better. I hope it gets better because it should be amazing.

Thank Ben W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The roast was great. Prompt service and lovely food. The Swan is definitely on the up again after unfortunately going down hill for a few years.

Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank Chickens2702
Em2811, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your kind review, I have passed your comments onto the Chef and rest of the team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had this waiter called Harry and he was a great young waiter with lots of energy and very friendly towards me and my family, I will be recommending this restaurant due to this lovely waiter

Thank Harry W
Em2811, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been visiting the swan for years. Today, hummm., ordered two mains,sausages n mash, both the same, side of peas, side of chips. Bought out 2 x fish n chips. Nope! Waiteress, blonde tall lady not happy.,., !!! Not our fault! They don't give you a...More

Thank pringles044
Em2811, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear your visit was not great. I have addressed all the points you raised with the team, and hope you will give us another chance

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Today me and my friends went into The Swan to enjoy our lunch, we were very pleased with both the food and the service in particular our waiter called Harry was very polite and made our lunch very enjoyable.

Thank Aaron S
Em2811, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review, I have passed your comments on to the team. Glad to hear Harry looked after you!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Harry our waiter was polite and efficient, we enjoyed our meal and the drinks were lovely. We will definitely come back!

Thank DANIELLE W
Em2811, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you again soon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Spice Of India
69 reviews
.89 km away
Ash Vale Tandoori
45 reviews
.53 km away
Vale Cafe
21 reviews
1.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Basingstoke Canal
117 reviews
2.22 km away
Aldershot Military Museum
99 reviews
2.24 km away
Farnborough Air Sciences Trust Museum
225 reviews
2.98 km away
Frimley Lodge Park
93 reviews
3.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stuperks
2 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Richard P | Reviewed this property |
I would suggest that if they cant be bothered to answer the phone then you shouldn't bother going there. Online booking may be more convenient for them but if you have a question that you wish to ask them then you should be... More
0
Votes
David L
6 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from David L | Reviewed this property |
This Pub is great but random in the quality stakes. Love the pub but whenever there is a new manager it goes downhill. Might you consider the Crown and Cushion?
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Hutton Road | Ash Vale, Aldershot GU12 5HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Aldershot
  • Phone Number: +44 1252 325212
Description
A Chef and Brewer Gastro Pub.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing