We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rising Sun Inn

Moseley Green | Forest of Dean GL15 4HN, Lydney, England
+44 1594 562008
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good30%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (9 reviews)
“brownie” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Moseley Green | Forest of Dean GL15 4HN, Lydney, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

22 people prebooked for a birthday meal having heard good reviews and with an outdoor play area we thought would be good as kids in the party. The lady behind the bar downstairs was lovely and very accomodating....but after ordering food unfortunately it went wrong...More

Thank tlk5062
Martin R, Owner at The Rising Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I apologised in person and did not charge anybody for what was a really 'bad day out'. It was pre booked but we found ourselves stretched with unexpected arrivals in other business areas. This in conjunction with new Kithchen set up left us sadly lacking...More

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Called in with elderly in-laws for quick lunch, they were happy to split a fish and chips into 2 for them. Fish and chips were well cooked and delicious. Good selection of beers, wish I hadn't been the driver :-( Almost killed by the size...More

1  Thank mattaitch
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I've eaten many time at The Rising Sun, with its fabulous location, warm welcome and it's always had a 'nice feel' to it. It's recently changed hands and a good deal of money has been spent on internal cosmetics and it now looks fabulous. We...More

Thank Dave2811
Martin R, Owner at The Rising Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks for your review I would refer to my last response. The Kitchen has been in transition. Our new Head Chef started today so changes on the horizon We are pleased you enjoyed the Pub and the food is under review Thanks

Reviewed 27 September 2017

We arrived Tuesday 26 at 3pm after a cycle ride around the forest trail, looking forward to a nice meal so were pleased to see the sign good food open all day. The bar staff were polite and friendly but sadly the food, which was...More

Thank Nick B
Martin R, Owner at The Rising Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Hi Thanks for your review I m sorry that we let you down with the food on this occasion Suffice to say that our hard working Kitchen team have been under some pressure due to manpower shortages Pleased to report that our new Head Chef...More

Reviewed 16 September 2017

Called in for lunch on a hot sunny day. Fabulous garden and facilities for kids. Food was good well cooked pub food. Thouroughly enjoyed by all of us and the kids enjoyed the afternoon too running around the large garden

Thank V609HWsue
Martin R, Owner at The Rising Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Really pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks for your review

Reviewed 30 August 2017

There was 8 of us ordered sandwiches they were horrible ,chips were roast pots left over from Sunday and cut in half the bread was stale bagels and they had run out of real ale , last time we went they were out of lemonade...More

Thank Susan T
Martin R, Owner at The Rising Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

All a bit confused by this We don't serve bagels, we have never in five years run out of real ale and we are in CAMRA's Real Ale guide. I m very confident in all our Team. Regards Martin

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Beautiful friendly pub. Excellent location. Very tasty food. We ordered the cheese and ham roll with salad and chips for £5.95. A bit disappointed with the portion size, more like a starter than main. We were still hungry after we had finished. We think that...More

1  Thank Nick B
Martin R, Owner at The Rising Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thanks for your constructive review I note your comment and will speak to the Kitchen Team Hope you visit us again

Reviewed 22 August 2017

This place is a gem. Always a friendly welcome from the bar staff, no matter how busy they are. They welcome kids, dogs and dirty walking boots; everyone gets a smile. The food is good too, generally a bar snack and full menu are available....More

1  Thank Ash B
Martin R, Owner at The Rising Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thanks for your review Pleased that you have enjoyed your visits

Reviewed 17 August 2017

We had 6 friends staying in the area so decided on a lunchtime meal at the Rising Sun. 8 of us Turned up without booking. We found the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Meals were fine & have no complaints about anything really. My...More

1  Thank Ken M
Reviewed 11 August 2017

The setting for this pub would be hard to beat, the barman was very friendly and polite, everything very clean and welcoming. Our only, slight, criticism was that the meals went cold quite quickly because the food was served on cold plates and that, while...More

Thank Ann G
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Fountain Inn
205 reviews
1.72 km away
Nags Head
30 reviews
2.11 km away
Follys End Farm Cafe
34 reviews
2.61 km away
The Miners Arms
468 reviews
2.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
Go Ape
298 reviews
.88 km away
Royal Forest of Dean
488 reviews
1.91 km away
Dean Heritage Centre
230 reviews
3.80 km away
The Secret Forest
81 reviews
5.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
nigelingreg
16 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Peter S | Reviewed this property |
Just good old pub grub give them a ring very easy to speak to nice people
0
Votes
nigelingreg
16 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Martin R | Property representative |
I m sorry to say we haven t at present. It's on a long list of things to do Full range of sandwiches, soup, fish and chips, ham egg and chips, gammon and chips etc All fresh and not a frozen chip in sight
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 9 - USD 26
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Moseley Green | Forest of Dean GL15 4HN, Lydney, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Forest of Dean  >  Lydney  >  Parkend
  • Phone Number: +44 1594 562008
Description
Good pub food, in middle of forest. Very friendly service and lovely setting. Open from midday and food is served throughout the day until 9.00Pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing