We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough

28 Duke Street, Chelmsford CM1 1HY, England
+44 1245 250145
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (10 reviews)
“stew” (2 reviews)
“mixed grill” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
28 Duke Street, Chelmsford CM1 1HY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice ales and well-kept. Excellent value, sometimes too cheap. Staff are high-turnover but always well-trained and I really don't understand why they have such a high-turnover. They could do better with interesting ales but I can watch the football and enjoy an Adnams.More

Thank tdtm82
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for your positive comments about The Plough! It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit we have had a few new members join our team but we have not lost any of our team apart from ones who have been promoted...More

A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First visit to this pub but will definitely be returning. Thanks to all who made our visit so memorable. Ps great food Barry

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

In Chelmsford for two nights and this became our local. Good selection of ales and a menu full of good options

1  Thank KAF0460
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

We are so happy to read such a great review about The Plough! We hope to see you again next time you are in Chelmsford.

Reviewed 10 February 2018

Walked here on a freezing Saturday morning to try out the breakfast because I LOVE a fry up and the "Mega Breakfast" sounded amazing. It was! It totally lived up to its name. It was huge. Very tasty. Not at all greasy but packed with...More

2  Thank vikki20012016
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Vikki, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Plough! Thank you so much for your high rating! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Come here often with various colleagues in the industry. It’s always good for a quick cheap lunch. Service is quick and the food is reasonably priced. Toilets could do with being checked more frequently but other than that, it’s a nice place to have a...More

2  Thank Andrew G
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Andrew, thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 4 January 2018

there was 10 of us for family get together was pretty ok weren't horrible but not fantastic staff pleasant service fine

2  Thank madelyn m
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hello Madelyn, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

We found this whilst in Chelmsford and googled somewhere to eat. We found the plough and it was such a good choice! Food portions are huge and the quality and price were amazing too. Very cosy atmosphere and lovely staff. Thank you.

2  Thank Ashleigh H
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thanks Ashleigh for giving us a 5* review we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you very soon.

Reviewed 23 November 2017

Returned again , second time this year my first review still stands but further comments the pub still serves excellent food at a very good price, two meals for £9.50 I had beef and vegetable pie (other pubs take note that a pie has pastry...More

2  Thank essexrainman
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thank You again for returning and leaving us another great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Went here on Friday night with friends prior to going out to dinner. Great selection of drinks on offer with plenty of real ales, staff are friendly and helpful plenty of seats to sit down, as it was so nice regarding choice and service went...More

2  Thank sid13
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Sid, thank you so much for the positive review! Until the next time we meet, take care!

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Went here for a family reunion. The pub is nice with a good atmosphere but the food we had was terrible!!! We had the rump steak but both of our steaks were mostly fat and tasteless. With a few chips, tiny mushroom, tiny half of...More

2  Thank Lorraine D
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Lorraine, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at 01245 250145 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Chelmsford
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
424 reviews
.15 km away
The County Hotel
559 reviews
.32 km away
Saracens Head Hotel
212 reviews
.43 km away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
435 reviews
.54 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Crystal Palace Sam's Karaoke
272 reviews
.17 km away
The Gurkha Restaurant
898 reviews
.19 km away
Il Palazzo (Chelmsford)
177 reviews
.15 km away
Livedosa
304 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chelmsford Cathedral
209 reviews
.33 km away
Civic Theatre
43 reviews
.17 km away
High Chelmer Shopping Centre
27 reviews
.38 km away
Central Park, Bell Meadow and Sky Blue Pasture
20 reviews
.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Plough staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 13
Meals
Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 28 Duke Street, Chelmsford CM1 1HY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Chelmsford
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 250145
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;