We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turtle Bay

22-24 Exchange Way | High Chelmer Shopping Centre, Chelmsford CM1 1XD, England
+44 1245 263444
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“goat curry” (31 reviews)
“scotch bonnet” (7 reviews)
“jerk ribs” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Caribbean, Jamaican, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
22-24 Exchange Way | High Chelmer Shopping Centre, Chelmsford CM1 1XD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 437 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

After being in the sun my partner and we went to turtle bay for some drinks. The cocktail maker behind the bar was amazing. Oliver his name was, he really knew his stuff! I told him I’m not good with strong cocktails, I prefer fruity...More

Thank millielouisec
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Really nice meal, very relaxing two great waiters, very professional and polite. Food arrived quickly, hot and tasty! A bit different in the evening, very lively, but a bit noisy for us. Lunch just great!

Thank Patricia B
Reviewed 3 days ago

Hello people, long time no review... So this time I decided to visit Turtle Bay and the name makes sense considering how long they take to serve drinks. I visited here on a quiet Sunday evening with my friend and we initially arrived to a...More

Thank HTRTYD
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and bringing this issue to my attention. I must say that I am disappointed you did not enjoy your visit to us here in Chelmsford as it sounds we did not meet our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service was not great. I personally was not that taken on the food, we ordered lots of starters and sharing platters between 7 of us and it was of standard quality and nothing that wowed meMore

Thank sashford79
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, And many thanks for taking the time to pop a review on here for us, I'm sorry to hear that you feel the service was not great and didn't enjoy your food! Was there anything in particular? as I welcome all feedback both...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with a very large group, we had booked and they had arranged a couple of big tables. I liked the overall look and feel of the place and the staff and service was really great. Red Stripe on draught was really good and...More

Thank Soundgesture
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey there, Many thanks for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor, so great to hear you and your party had a good time with us here at Turtle Bay Chelmsford, we do aim to please for parties of all sizes....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having been here more than once, it was quite noticeable that there have been some cost cutting changes - at the customers expense. During the Happy Hour offer of 2 for 1 cocktails, I managed to fit both. my drinks into one glass - with...More

Thank g00ner14
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you for your review and sorry to hear that the drinks ordered were not up to our required standard, we have not made any updates on our drink menus but have recently employed a few new team members here at Turtle Bay...More

Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Attended with a party of 6 and we were not disappointed. Atmosphere was great, staff were very helpful and friendly. We attended during the 2-4-1 cocktail and managed to buy a few to go with our dinner. Food was great and well worth the money...More

Thank Jamie G
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hey there Jamie Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to write up a review for us here on trip advisor, absolutely stoked to hear you and your party had a great time when recently dining with us here at...More

Reviewed 15 April 2018

Originally booked at Bourgees opposite, but walked out before ordering, not happy with the way we were being treated and took a chance with Turtle Bay being able to seat 6 adults with no booking on a Saturday night. Although very busy, the staff were...More

Thank oldfriends2018
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Hi There...... Many thanks for your kind words, and we were more than happy to accomodate! So glad to hear you and your party enjoyed your evening with us here at Turtle Bay Chelmsford. Hopefully we will see you at the Bay again soon! You...More

Reviewed 14 April 2018

I had the sweetcorn fritters for starter!!! I would have happily had them again for main and dessert! Best Starter EVER!. Had Salad for main and hubby had a chocolate/rum/coconut pot for dessert.....but Im ashamed to say he only got to eat half of it.....I...More

Thank vikki20012016
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Hey Vikki! Thank you so much for your kind words, so cool to hear you and the hubby had a great time with us here at Turtle Bay. For us it's not just about serving addictive food, it's the whole experience! The sweetcorn fritters are...More

Reviewed 12 April 2018

We had fun however the food is very average mass produced. The overall vibe is good with generally a good buzz. However if looking for a dining experience this would be quite low down the list.More

Thank chaplondon
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Hi There..... Many thanks for sharing your recent experience with us, all of us here at Turtle Bay strive to deliver the best possible time for all our guests and are always here to give the warmest of Caribbean welcomes! For us, its all about...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Chelmsford
Saracens Head Hotel
212 reviews
.08 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
424 reviews
.27 km away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
435 reviews
.60 km away
Boswell House Hotel
48 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Wine Cellar
257 reviews
.06 km away
Cote Brasserie - Chelmsford
416 reviews
.03 km away
Zen Noodle Bar
272 reviews
.07 km away
Stewarts
75 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chelmsford Cathedral
209 reviews
.11 km away
Civic Theatre
43 reviews
.47 km away
High Chelmer Shopping Centre
27 reviews
.02 km away
Central Park, Bell Meadow and Sky Blue Pasture
20 reviews
.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mandy B
12 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from skaro1503775 | Reviewed this property |
Hi there! There was quite a lively Caribbean vibe when we were there, but not intrusive and all part of the overall upbeat and positive atmosphere. We had a party of three and could all hear each other fine. Enjoy!
0
Votes
Ceebeegee
15 August 2016|
Answer
Response from dinnerdiner2015 | Reviewed this property |
There's music and a relaxed atmosphere although I can't vouch for weekend evenings. For early evening cocktails or for a family lunch it hits the spot. That said, it's a chain restaurant in the shires, so if you're... More
0
Votes
Ellie14
10 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from nikki7042 | Reviewed this property |
We were there last night and there were just people at the bar drinking 👍
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22-24 Exchange Way | High Chelmer Shopping Centre, Chelmsford CM1 1XD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Chelmsford
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 263444
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;