We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Townhouse

1 London Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3JR, England
+44 1424 211730
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good22%
  • Average13%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible15%
3 days ago
“Punch Taverns Errors.”
2 weeks ago
“Townhouse Bexhill ”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
1 London Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3JR, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

After waiting nearly a month for it to re-open, I was hugely dissapopinted at the revamp this outlet has under gone. It was widely used throughout the week when the previous owners had the establishment, and we visited on numerous occasions as the visit was...More

Thank Robin P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came in for a drink and found prices change from one bar staff to next, seems first undercharged by 50p. When two drinks cost nearly £9, then over £9 one begs to question why..instead of 'customer service' telling you very sorry we made a mistake...More

Thank hilsxx
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Generally filled with people either watching some sort of sporting event or singing loudly and drunkenly into a microphone unless that wasn't karaoke and was in fact some sort of live music, which would be even worse. If you want somewhere to have a quiet...More

Thank Fist_ace
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

A fantastic lunch for the family with great food at even better prices. Everything youd want on the menu from a pub and all meals were lovely! Highly recommended!

Thank Kevinb2147
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words, we do try our best and the team will be happy to hear your positive feedback. Thank You

Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Came in for lunch with friends. The waitress didn't clean our table when we sat down. It looked like it had been there a while. The food itself was good pub food and very reasonably priced. We did have to ask for cutlery too. Overall,...More

Thank Rachie C
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Visited for first time with my son Matthew and family. Very good service and food. Will hopefully be back for Sunday lunch tomorrow 👍

Thank 42Patsy38
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Be careful. Price on menu is not necessarily price charged as 'stickers' may have been removed. Not the cost involved but the principal. When challenged the owner was very rude and had I not been with friends I would not have stayed. Although I work...More

Thank guestling2016
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your remarks. Unfortunately due to a printing error on the menus corrections have to be made after printing to reflect the actual prices. We are not trying to mislead anybody and the price difference in point was a pound. You were offered...More

Reviewed 13 March 2016

Had the steak - it wasn't good. Medium-rare came out exactly the same as well done did, and both practically needed a hacksaw to cut up they were so tough. My jaw was aching afterwards! The staff were friendly though, so maybe some of the...More

Thank burningmatt
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review

What a shame......so disappointed you didn't bring this to our attention, we serve dozens of steaks weekly and usually don't have any problems, if and when we do, we are always happy to do it again or replace with something else or even refund your...More

Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

I have been going to Townhouse for a few years now... I sometimes go with others and at times alone... I normally go to watch footy and I find that there is also someone to have banter with and staff and customers are always pleasant......More

Thank Bhav370
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words......we try hard to get it right, we admit not always successfully but who's perfect?

Reviewed 8 February 2016

We stayed one night here at the end of Jan, for £40 a night including breakfast...and what a breakfast! The Townhouse is above Pissario's restaurant and the food coming out is of true restaurant standard, hubby had the full English I had the Eggs Florentine;...More

Thank stmoritz1960
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review

This is not for The Townhouse in Bexhill......wrong place.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Athena's Fish & Chips
262 reviews
.16 km away
The Culinaire
146 reviews
.11 km away
Wickham Bistro
51 reviews
.16 km away
Marinos Fish Restaurant
167 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bexhill Beach
378 reviews
.72 km away
De La Warr Pavilion
625 reviews
.40 km away
Egerton Park
188 reviews
.50 km away
Bexhill Museum
120 reviews
.50 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Niamhbarfoot
Hi, would me and a friend (both 14) be able to come into the town house and order a main meal each without anyone over 18?
29 October 2015|
Answer
Response from TownhouseTeam | Property representative |
Hello, thank you for contacting us, unfortunately we are a licensed premises and as such we are governed by certain conditions.....one being "any one under the age of eighteen must be accompanied by an adult" even then there... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 9
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 02:00
Saturday
12:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 London Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3JR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Bexhill-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 211730
  • E-mail
Description
A traditional English pub serving good quality traditional food, all cooked to order and served all day.We also offer a selection of real ales plus a large selection of lagers. For the finer weather days we have an exquisite beer garden with different zones for different moods, chilled and relaxed, alfresco dining and social meeting place, real flame heating and a fire pit provide a little respite against the English climate.