We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alma Hotel

$$ - $$$, ,
Willunga SA 5172 11 Hill St, Willunga, South Australia 5172, Australia
+61 8 8556 2027
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average14%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Wine Bar, Contemporary, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Willunga SA 5172 11 Hill St, Willunga, South Australia 5172, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great meal today at the Alma. Roasted pork with crackling finished of with their classic sticky date pudding. Great pub with great service.

Thank LeighCreekTraveller
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Our sticky date is certainly worth travelling far and wide for! Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your meal and our friendly service

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

lunch menu was very full on,with many things to choose from. I decided to go for the $12.00 menu of beef rissoles with gravy and mash,best ive had in a pub for ages,upon talking with our group everyone enjoyed their meals.

1  Thank roberteneberg
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your feedback that you enjoyed the atmosphere, service and food. Our $12 lunch menu (n/a public holidays or special calender days) is a real hit, with the rissoles being almost as popular as the salt and pepper squid and burgers

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Another wonderful nite at the Alma .... I had the Pork and Prawn salad so delicious i want to go back today and have another one...my husband had the Lamb shanks ....oh and i forgot the Aranchini Balls for entree best ive had .... It...More

Thank Chicken3333
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to do a review. The pork and prawn salad with noodles and nimjam dressing is one of our most popular dishes, Plus lamb shanks are a definite fave in winter. I presume you were here for Frog Mouth, it was...More

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We stopped over after the Saturday Willunga market, this hotel can get quite busy with the local. Good old-fashioned pub food with some attempts at 'pitching above the crowd'. Enjoyed for what it is.

Thank david l
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks David for your review. The Alma does get busy on a Saturday afternoon with locals and visitors alike after visiting Willunga Farmers Market. Glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and food

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Went there Saturday night 22 July for dinner. There was a large group for dinner. I ordered the fish of the day which was barramundi and my husband and daughter had schnitzel's. They received their meals and had eaten them before I received my meal....More

Thank Flashy01
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hello, I remember serving you your Barramundi. The birthday group was 28 in number so unfortunately we can not get all 28 meals out within 5 minutes of each other, but all meals were out within 15 minutes, which is a reasonable time. The issue...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017

8 of us had lunch on Easter Monday, our meals were lovely as they always are, but have to say how disappointed we were that the Veg & Salad bar isn't there anymore, they always had the best Cauliflower in Cheese sauce. The staff are...More

Thank Dorne F
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Dorne for your review and lovely to hear your group enjoyed your good and service. We no longer have the salad bar. Instead we offer complimentary fresh local bread and the choice of salad or vegetables with your meal, also included in the price...More

Reviewed 22 March 2017

Always a good place for a large group of diners; recent visit was with a small group of friends on a busy Friday night. However, no problem: we were given a nice table in a quiet spot; ordered at the bar (heaps of choice!); food...More

Thank carole2710
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thanks Carol for your review and glad you enjoyed your catch up with friends. Friday nights are usually busy in the bar and dining room bit like you say there is usually a nice spot Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 18 March 2017

Was delighted with our lunch time stop at this old style pub. I ordered (at the bar) fish and chips along with a glass of local wine. Felt like I was stepping back a few decades in terms of friendly service and a great pub...More

Thank Ginger151219
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thanks Ginger, yep we are old school in pub terms... friendly service, good size meals with a good atmosphere. Glad you enjoyed your time with us

Reviewed 10 March 2017

We ate at the Alma several times both in the bar area and their dining room. What a wonderful place, great meals,, you could not walk away and say you were hungry, large portions if beautifully cooked meals. The staff were lovely and very helpful....More

Thank Carole S
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you, it was lovely having you for meals whilst you visited this fantastic place we call home. We always love visitors, and we have tourist maps available and a large range of magazines and brochures on the local area. Plus if that doesn't work,...More

Reviewed 15 February 2017

We went with friends to the Alma Hotel and had a wonderful time. The food was very good. The atmosphere was old style and the staff very good

Thank Pollyanna315
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you for your review!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Le Mistral
105 reviews
.05 km away
Old bush inn
131 reviews
.55 km away
3 Monkeys Fine Foods
65 reviews
.29 km away
The Green Room on High Street
53 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Willunga Farmers Market
45 reviews
.14 km away
Battle of Bosworth and Spring Seed Wines
31 reviews
1.52 km away
Hither & Yon
16 reviews
.29 km away
Minko Wines
12 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Alma Hotel staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 15
Cuisine
Bar, Wine Bar, Contemporary, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 00:00
Thursday
10:00 - 00:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Willunga SA 5172 11 Hill St, Willunga, South Australia 5172, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Greater Adelaide  >  Willunga
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8556 2027
  • E-mail
Description
The Alma Hotel was established in 1856 and since then has been serving the hungry locals and tourists alike. Great value meals, warm hospitality. Local wines by the glass,relaxed beer garden. Come and enjoy a traditional country hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing