We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
USD 9 - USD 18
CUISINES
Fast food, Seafood, Australian
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (379)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
226
94
25
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
226
94
25
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch fresh fish seafood prawns prawn cocktail salad kingfish filet tuna fries eat in or take away king george whiting great range fish of the day eyre peninsula local produce tour
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Fresh Fish Place was recommended to us and after having fish and chips I now know why, I have not tasted fish as good as this in a long time, perfectly cooked, beautiful crispy batter not running in grease, chips golden, crunchy but soft...inside, beautifully served with a fresh salad if desiredMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 July 2022 via mobile

Not up to par. Tourists only. We walked in expecting a seafood extravaganza. We were totally ignored as we walked around the shop and after about three minutes left. Having said that the prices are extortionate and over full retail which you would pay anywhere...in any main capital. Fresh local seafood it is, Local prices off the boat it is not.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 May 2022 via mobile

This was recommended at the visitor information centre when I enquired about purchasing fresh seafood. The shop offered fresh, frozen and cooked seafood, as well as accompaniments. We purchased a dozen shucked oysters and kingfish fillets to enjoy where we were staying. Pricing for the...quality was good. The oysters were plump, tasty and very fresh. The helpful girl who served us also suggested the best way to cook the kingfish. It was beautifulMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 March 2022 via mobile

The selection of seafood to enjoy is so extensive to either dine in or takeaway. Fresh seafood cooked perfectly served quickly by friendly staff. We had the wHiting today but I will be back to try more as so much appealed and if we don’t...catch anything in Port Lincoln I will buy even more.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 March 2022 via mobile

Ate here based on the reviews. Delicious fish and salad. Thought it was a bit over priced at $25 though. You get 2 pieces of fish (we chose Whiting). Sat outside on the deck. Nice view across the racecourse which is opposite.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 March 2022 via mobile

The fresh fish place is more than just a fish shop , though their shop offered a great range of fresh and frozen seafood. Started with a prawn cocktail ( flashback to the 70 & 80s) with fresh prawns , crisp iceberg and cocktail sauce...- YUM. Followed by fish ( choose your type) and chips. It’s certainly more than what you typically pay for F&C but we’ll worth it. Fresh fish with crispy batter and chips that are not oily at all.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 March 2022 via mobile

Was recommended to have lunch here.. OMG so glad I did. So fresh and delicious. Seafood Platter for 1 @ $34.90, well worth it.. Highly recommend when in Port Lincoln..

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 March 2022

I have nothing to add to the heading. I have nothing to add to the heading. I have nothing to add to the heading.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 January 2022 via mobile

We came here for a birthday dinner with my family of 4. After waiting 50 minutes, the first meal came out. 5 minutes later the 2nd came. 5 minutes later I enquired where 3 & 4 were. 5 minutes later the 3rd meal came out....5 minutes later I asked where the 4th was. The 4th never came. So at 70 minutes from order placement the person in charge came over and I asked him to not worry about delivering my meal and just refund the purchase. He said “sure thing”. No apology or anything. My wife was shocked as was I, but I just wanted to get home and forget the disappointing birthday meal. The 3rd meal was pretty overcooked and it was a solid let down. When the refund was given the person in charge thanked me. I’m not sure what for, but there sure wasn’t any apology. We spent $100 on the meal. I feel it’s a bit hit and miss.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sandy H, Owner at The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2022

Sorry for the "let down" Gracie but I am not too sure if you are aware that there is something called COVID in our vocabulary and the whole planet is stupidly staying home. Staff shortages in the hospitality industry continue to grow, along with more...More

Reviewed 7 December 2021

Definitely worth a look if you are a fan of fresh seafood! They have a huge variety of seafood both fresh, pickled and frozen, cooking utensils and gifts. It is very tidy and well maintained. We came in to purchase seafood but next time I...would definitely have something from the cafe! Beautiful fish shop- one of the best in SA! We bought the kingfish fish cakes, pickled and frozen scallops and frozen Spencer gulf prawns. All were of high quality!More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Freshfishplace, Owner at The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

👍🏿👍🏿👍🏿👍🏿👍🏿 thank you.

Reviewed 21 September 2021 via mobile

Calamari was much dearer than squid yet when it arrived it was almost identical. The food was warm not hot, as though it was sitting on bench before it was served. The fisherman‘a platter was mainly chips at a cost of $34 Overall expensive and...very disappointed.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 September 2021

Late lunch on a tour recently and were impressed by the attentive, friendly staff. Deeeeelicious fish and chips with salad meal.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 August 2021 via mobile

I had salt & pepper squid. It was too salty to taste the food. I had to drink a lot of water while eating the squid . What a disappointment!!!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Freshfishplace, Owner at The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Oh we are terribly sorry for this, obviously the recipe was not to procedure. You really should have said something at the time, we guarantee that you will enjoy your meal. Company policy is to replace or refund.

Reviewed 10 June 2021

Great place for a fish lunch, The oysters, Fish & shellfish are seriously good and fresh from the "Fresh Fish Place" which really does live up to its name. Parking is easy, eat inside or on the deck, great choice of seafood for lunch. Went...twice a loved itMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Freshfishplace, Owner at The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Thank you for the great review. Please come back with your friends and family 🙏🏿🙏🏿🙏🏿🙏🏿🙏🏿

Reviewed 1 June 2021

Accidentally found this place while looking for fresh prawns. Decided to eat something light as we were starving and accidentally ordered 2 servings of fish and chips with extra fish. Was there anything left? NOPE. Loved the extra touch of having a fresh salad with...my fish and chips. Even polished that.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Freshfishplace, Owner at The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

This is fantastic news Candy. Thank you.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Marina Hotel
214 reviews
2.29 km away
Tasman Beachside Apartments
15 reviews
2.84 km away
Hilton Motel
150 reviews
2.88 km away
Port Lincoln Hotel
865 reviews
3.04 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Rogue & Rascal
286 reviews
2.87 km away
Del Giorno
875 reviews
2.82 km away
Marina Hotel
415 reviews
2.28 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Port Lincoln Visitor Information
316 reviews
2.78 km away
Parnkalla Walking Trail
28 reviews
2.16 km away
Fishery Bay
23 reviews
.28 km away
The Old Mill
15 reviews
3.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cherrillp2015
10 March 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Julia M | Reviewed this property |
No crabs but definitely king George whiting. You might like to consider nannygai too which is a wonderful fish. Good luck.
0
Votes
Lawrence N
21 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Freshfishplace | Property representative |
Hi Lawrence, our behind the scenes factory tour and our retail store are both wheelchair friendly (there is a wheelchair ramp into the store) however we do not have disable toilets available at this stage. We are a 5 minute... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood

Yes, The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood offers takeaway services.

The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4