We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Haus Hahndorf

38a Main Road, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
+61 8 8388 7555
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good36%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (102 reviews)
“wagyu” (16 reviews)
“bacon and eggs” (11 reviews)
Open Now
7:30 am - 10:30 pmAll hours
CUISINES
German, European, Australian, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
38a Main Road, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

The meal was the worst schweinehaxen I have ever had. It was like Eisbein warmed up - no crackling or intent of roasting whatsoever.

Thank Rosemary P
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Just dined at the Haus after being recommended by a local for best schweinehahen. It turned out to be the worst I’ve ever had. Rubbery, warmed up and zero crackling, the key feature of a schweinehaxen. Add to that being placed at the worst table...More

Thank Corrie P
Reviewed 1 week ago

During our recent stay in Hahndorf we attended a Christmas function at The Haus and were very pleasantly surprised. The actual meal was good but we must give a big shout out to our waiter, Luke. We have rarely had better service from waiting staff;...More

Thank TeamJaffa
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi TeamJaffa! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your meal and the service provided by Luke, our Front of Haus Team Member! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and will pass on your kind words to Luke and our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Don’t know what happened but we were referred to eat here and the girls were so busy but as our appetite wasn’t with a large meal we chose the pizza and glass red which was perfect. We charged our room where we stayed but menu...More

Thank Classyofnhill
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Classyofnhill, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review of your recent experience with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your pizza and glass of red! We are sorry to see that our menu wasn't extremely appealing...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently dined at this restaurant for lunch as a family group. To start with, I must say that the service was very good. However that is where it stops. The meals were extremely expensive and were no better than standard pub fare. The noise...More

Thank AllanAdelaide3112
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear AllanAdelaide3112, Thankyou for taking time to share your recent feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy the quality of meals that we pride ourselves on. We use fresh local produce and support the local community where we can to ensure we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I was back in Adelaide renovating a house, we came here on a few occasions, the food is pretty awesome.

Thank MaryRose2017Sydney
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi MaryRose2017Sydney, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to see that you think so highly of our food! Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards, Haus Management Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had breakfast twice here. Excellent coffee, good scrambled eggs, which is surprisingly hard for some restaurants to do yellow and creamy. Pancakes were almost very good but fell slightly doughy short. Staff we cheerful and friendly.More

Thank Leslie T
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Leslie T, We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your breakfast with us! We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback, it's disappointing that our pancakes were not up to standard on this occasion, but I will pass your feedback onto...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food was great and the service even better. Very nice salt and pepper squid. You can tell the people here care. I'll be coming back next time I'm in town!

Thank Tony L
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tony L, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your kind words! We look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to Hahndorf! Kind regards, Haus Management Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our visit to this restaurant was a huge disappointment. We were shown to a table outside and waited over ten minutes before I went to ask for water and menus and was told there was no table service outside which we had not been told....More

Thank AliBongo57
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi AliBongo57 Thankyou for your recent feedback, we are very disappointed that you didn’t receive the service from our front of house staff that we pride ourselves on. We unfortunately don’t provide table service outside however is something that we are looking at changing with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came with children. This isn’t a child friendly venue with open fireplace and no children’s corner or colouring in equipment. Ordered two breakfast meals. The bruschetta my friend got looked amazing. I ordered eggs Florentine and it had only the tiniest dollop of hollondaise....More

Thank Jones M
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jones M, Thankyou for providing feedback on your recent experience at The Haus Restaurant. We are glad to read the chefs prepared perfect sautéed spinach and poached eggs and appreciate the friendliness of our staff. Please don’t hesitate to ask our staff as they...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Udder Delights Cheese Cellar
203 reviews
.69 km away
The Hahndorf Inn
828 reviews
.06 km away
The Seasonal Garden Cafe
261 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
Beerenberg Strawberry Farm
490 reviews
.91 km away
Hahndorf Hill Winery
190 reviews
1.11 km away
Hahndorf Sweets
49 reviews
.14 km away
The Aboriginal Art House
34 reviews
1.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Footytrip
30 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from HausRestaurant | Property representative |
Hi Footytrip, We have a variety of function and private dining spaces available to cater for a group of your size. Please contact the restaurant directly on (08) 8388 7555 to confirm your booking! Kind regards, Haus... More
0
Votes
Maria M
29 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from HausRestaurant | Property representative |
Hi Maria, Yes, it is always best to book at The Haus. 08 8388 7555
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 45
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Television, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
7:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
7:30 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
7:30 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
7:30 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
7:30 am - 10:30 pm
Friday
7:30 am - 10:30 pm
Saturday
7:30 am - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 38a Main Road, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Greater Adelaide  >  Adelaide Hills  >  Hahndorf
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8388 7555
  • E-mail
Description
The Haus Hahndorf is a dining and social experience like no other. Located in the heart of the stunning Adelaide Hills, The Haus Restaurant showcases an amazing selection of dishes created from the best in local produce which changes with the seasons. Open 7 days a week serving food ALL DAY for, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, it is no surprise that The Haus Restaurant is one of the most popular restaurants in Hahndorf. Come and enjoy our professional friendly service and if you're not after a meal just sit down and enjoy one of our tempting pastries, artisan coffees & FREE Wi-Fi. We also offer a large range of Healthy & Gluten Free options, as well as Vegetarian & Vegan-friendly dishes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing