We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hector's Cafe on the Wharf

$$ - $$$Cafe, Seafood,
Main Wharf Goolwa SA 5214, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
+61 85555885
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (71 reviews)
“scallops” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Seafood, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Wharf Goolwa SA 5214, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

It started with a most friendly and attentive Welcome from the owners and we were positioned at a window table. A very happy wait person took our drinks order and in a flash she was back. Lo, and behold, my ale was poured into a...More

Thank Allen R
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a group of three adults on a quiet saturday afternoon we visited here for the first and last time. Service was forced and unfriendly and the iced coffee was awful (how can you get this wrong?) the milk was not cold enough with just...More

Thank louiscoco
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came for lunch and stayed for the afternoon. Awesome food and wine. Such a friendly place to visit. Love the staff and being made to feel part of the "Hector's family".

Thank Merralyn
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service, food and atmosphere. Nice by the water with wine and friends. Will definitely come back 🤣

Thank grizzle54
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous spot on the water for a yummy lunch. Duck spring rolls r a must and the Atlantic salmon was just delicious, must mention the sweets too, mini lemon meringues .. great service, great hosts ..

Thank Suzanne B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found the whole wharf area an enjoyable visit. Polite friendly people and well layed out. One would forget they are only meters from toown life.

Thank Derek S
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Loved eating our lunch here overlooking the bridge to Hindmarsh Island and the boats going past. The food was really lovely too!

Thank Leanne K
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We have been to Hectors every time we go to Goolwa as its a great place to have breakfast or lunch and watch boats etc on the river. The food is great and the staff very friendly.

Thank Neil D
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Hectors cafe had a great atmosphere and surroundings , unfortunately we were seated a table inside because it was cold and we could clearly hear the kitchen being very vociferous and cussing during our dining experience. I was further disappointed by the oily undercooked salt...More

Thank jaacross55
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Rude service and bad coffee. What more could you ask for. At least the setting is beautiful, can't fault the view.

Thank rayd1943
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Landing Waterfront Bistro & Bar
113 reviews
1.55 km away
Motherduck
162 reviews
.43 km away
Cafe Lime & Gourmet Foodstore
69 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Goolwa Visitor Information Centre
36 reviews
.21 km away
The Goolwa Barrage
38 reviews
.91 km away
The Steam Exchange Brewery
59 reviews
.04 km away
Goolwa Motor Museum
23 reviews
1.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joanneruchs
4 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from KapoAdelaide | Reviewed this property |
They are open every day but only for dinner on Friday and Saturdays. It's a nice place to go for breakfast or lunch.
0
Votes
David M
30 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from KapoAdelaide | Reviewed this property |
Hi David. We have found that most cafes and restaurants charge between $12.00 and $15.00 corkage and some charge up market restaurants will charge even more than this. We purchased our wine at the restaurant so I can't... More
0
Votes
Barbri938
18 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Bec H | Property representative |
Hello! Hectors won't be open on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day this year but we are open for Christmas functions in the lead up if you were to get a group together? Please call the restaurant on 8555 5885 if you have any... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Wharf Goolwa SA 5214, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Goolwa
  • Phone Number: +61 85555885
  • E-mail
Description
Hectors On The Wharf is a cafe bar overlooking the Murray River in Goolwa, South Australia. The establishment itself is uniquely positioned on the historic Goolwa Wharf, and is accessible not only by foot or car, but by boat as well. The name of the cafe comes from a local historic character called Hector, who was a fisherman on the Coorong and lived on a wooden boat by the Goolwa Wharf for more than 40 years. Hectors on the Wharf is open for breakfast and lunch every day, and dinners on Friday Saturday nights during the warmer months of the year. The menu uses local produce where possible, and boasts a fantastic array of fresh, beautifully prepared seafood. Thats not to say that you should be discouraged from ordering other items off the menu, which include gorgeous salads, pastas, burgers, and a selection of specials that are frequently changed depending on what is seasonally available. Our menu also provides for special dietary requirements and our kitchen staff will do their best to cater for your needs. The restaurant is fully licensed and stocks a range of local wines, beer, and spirits. Though primarily promoted on Friday nights our cocktail menu is functional throughout the week. You're very welcome to bring a bottle of wine along to compliment your meal though this will incur a corkage fee. Don't fancy a meal? Hectors has a range of delicious cakes and biscuits available and has a reputation in Goolwa for having the best coffee in town! Though it isn't necessary to reserve a table during the summer period it is recommended because of the busy nature of the cafe. We are also available for private functions. If you would be interested in booking Hectors for an evening please call us and speak to one of our friendly staff.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing