We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aquacaf Gourmet Cafe

94 Barrage Rd, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
+61 8 8555 1235
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good33%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“fish” (20 reviews)
“lentil burger” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Seafood, Healthy, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
94 Barrage Rd, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2018

Group of us had breakfast here on a Sunday morning. Great location right next to the river and the staff were ever so friendly and accommodating. I had eggs and bacon with mushroom and tomato. Poached eggs were cooked perfectly. The freshly squeezed orange juice...More

Thank Iain C
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Fresh mulloway fillets in light beer batter with awesome fries and Asian salad. Both of us agreed the best fish and chips we have had in ages and in just the right amount. Quick and friendly service.

Thank BigWal2015
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Drove from Adelaide to go on the Spirit of the Coorong cruise and had no idea what a pretty little town Goolwa is We came across a lovely little cafe right on the water but as we had already had breakfast we had a cup...More

Thank Nerilyn A
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Beach restaurant on the beach. Four for my birthday. The gar fish special was super. What appeared to be an overcooked burger turned out to have wonderful flavors and not have any signs of being overcooked. And the pasty was very good.

Thank cjdotheworld
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Goolwa has some lovely places to eat but none can match this location, food and service. Sitting and enjoying the excellent food and warm scones overlooking the water on a lovely day, what more could you ask for? Definitely one to visit again and again!

Thank 205jake
Sally G, Owner at Aquacaf Gourmet Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate it.

Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Went here for a coffee with the family. The coffee was actually quite good. Everything else including the welcome, the order taking, the waiting time and payment was quite average. There seemed to be plenty of staff but numerous trips to deliver part orders was...More

1  Thank Thomas R
Sally G, Owner at Aquacaf Gourmet Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Unfortunately the week between Christmas and New Year is, as you would know, absolutely manic. There are only so many coffees the barista can make at once and waiting time is longer during this time. Also orders for smoothies, milk shakes and other items may...More

Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Thank u to everyone at Aquacaf for a beautiful lunch in the cool today as the north wind swirled around outside. Really wonderful food including the lentil burger. Fantastic to find a beautifully prepared vegetarian meal that is not an afterthought. The fish and chips...More

Thank Stephen D
Sally D, Owner at Aquacaf Gourmet Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We appreciate positives so much. We work hard to please everyone including people with special dietary needs or wants and I am very glad you were happy with your meal.

Reviewed 27 December 2017

The menu advises that aquacafe aims to produce good homestyle cooking, so why are the prices $4-6 above similar places?  The service was friendly, if haphazard (no cutlery with meals, no water on table and no serviettes until requested) and the coffee was good, but...More

Thank Duncan W
Sally G, Owner at Aquacaf Gourmet Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for your review but I do have to point out that our Childrens' breakfast menu is priced between $6 and $10. We do not put cutlery and serviettes on the tables until an order has been given as many people come in for...More

Reviewed 22 December 2017

Good spot for a coffee or a light meal. Views of the river and a pleasant ambience. Easy access worth a visit or two

Thank Mungo L
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Group of approx 30 people for lunch. Pre-ordered menu. Food was good but slow coming out. Vegetarian and gluten-free meals had not been prepared, despite having been ordered. Cafe did prepare the vegetarian and gluten-free meals beautifully after others served. Looking forward to coming back...More

Thank Catherine M
Sally G, Owner at Aquacaf Gourmet Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for your review. Firstly the food was organised to be served at 12.30 and we were asked to hold off as a couple of people were running late. It was served at 12.35. We were notified of 19 to 21 people and 25...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
Marine Cove Resort
4 reviews
.68 km away
Motel Goolwa
46 reviews
1.49 km away
Goolwa Riverport Motel
30 reviews
3.82 km away
Authenticity Sanctuary Health & Wellness Retreat
103 reviews
9.12 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Landing Waterfront Bistro & Bar
127 reviews
1.26 km away
Bombora Goolwa Beach
255 reviews
1.50 km away
208 reviews
1.34 km away
Hector's Cafe on the Wharf
385 reviews
1.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Goolwa Barrage
59 reviews
.18 km away
Goolwa Visitor Information Centre
44 reviews
1.14 km away
Goolwa Motor Museum
28 reviews
1.59 km away
Art@Goolwa Inc.
19 reviews
1.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
18 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sally D | Property representative |
Hi, no sorry, we are closed Christmas day. I believe the Goolwa Golf club is open or the Anchorage in Victor Harbour.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 22
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Takeout, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
8:30 am - 4:00 pm
8:30 am - 4:00 pm
8:30 am - 4:00 pm
8:30 am - 4:00 pm
8:30 am - 4:00 pm
8:30 am - 4:00 pm
8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 94 Barrage Rd, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Goolwa
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8555 1235
  • E-mail
Aquacaf Gourmet Cafe is a riverside cafe/restaurant offering delicious breakfast, lunch, dinner, coffee and cakes and the best scones in Goolwa. We use as much local fresh produce as we can and our wine list is predominately local wine. We are open 7 days a week all year round. We are also open for dinner, Friday and Saturday nights (seasonally so please check when booking).
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing