We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 2/3
20:00

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$10 - AU$35
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (405)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
207
121
31
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
207
121
31
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pork belly coleslaw pasta prawns the pub eye fillet big screen wednesday night friendly service meals history australia
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 January 2024

Great little spot in Bowen. Meals came out promptly and fresh! Lost a star as we were waiting to be seated for our booking- a few staff walked passed and didnt acknowledge us, we eventually went to the counter and enquired ourselves.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2023

We were a group of 13 we ordered a variety of starters and mains and it was all amazing so pleased everyone one had a fantastic night food was freaking awesome and service was great. Loved the menu thought the price was pretty good for...what we all got.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2023

Went with the family. Staff service wasn’t the greatest at all. Ended up waiting a ridiculous amount of time for our dessert, might have been better off going in the kitchen and cooking it myself.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2023 via mobile

We've been coming to the Grandview for a meal from about four years ago. The new renovations to their outside area made for a great dining experience especially during covid times. We even eventually brought our extended family with us on one occasion. One memorable...meal (that I even have a photo of) was the Chef's special of chicken breast roasted on the bone. Everything about it was perfect, well cooked, juicy with fresh mashed potatoes and vegetables - very good. Even daughter's Buddah bowl on offer on that occasion full of delicious tofu, fresh avocado, rice noodles, extra marinated chicken on the side with a delicious dressing to bring it together. Everything fresh and vibrant. Subsequent years we've been relatively pleased with the meals but none has ever matched the Chef that did that chicken breast dish. Anyway always dining at the Grandview on at least one of our three nights here for the last four years, I've never had cause to be this disappointed. Wanting something simple we chose chicken schnitzel - can't go wrong here can we? We didn't realise it was Wednesday second main meal half price. On receiving our meals I felt Wednesday half price main meal may be more "use up leftovers, Wednesday". The chicken schnitzel was on the dry side and did not taste fresh made. How do you ruin the flavour of a crumbed chicken. My last schnitzel was at Palm Cove SLSC and it was crisp, juicy and tasted fresh. Has the Chef changed? Was this a cooked schnitzel and just reheated? The roast potatoes of the day tasted like roast potatoes of the week - tasting of refrigerator storage and then reheated. Vegetables were corn and broccolini - okay. We ate most but left a lot behind. Didn't bother telling the waitress who came to clear the table we were disappointed. Would it have changed the chicken or the potatoes?More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2023 via mobile

Fun trivia night but don’t put ketchup or cold and raw onion rings on nachos please, maybe a bit of sour cream would be nice!

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2023

Tried to do a review on Google but already done one in February so not allowed - go figure Travelling again to Cairns so went for lunch on Anzac Day - once again fantastic food and exceptional staff especially the English/Welsh lady in the front...barMore

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2023

Steak with calamari topper. Worst meal I’ve had in a long time. Lucky I was hungry , last time they get my business.

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2023

We heard about this amazing pub when looking for cool things around the area and we so were not disappointed we gave it a try. To start the staff were so nice, on the ball and were able to make good on a dietary requirement...I have that many others have trouble with. Next the prices were so bloody reasonable even I could not complain (I am a bit stingy) Finally - I have travelled all over Australia and overseas and it is my thing to try all the local pies to find who does the best. Previously the record of best pie IMO was a little bakery in Marion SA. This place has now defeated that record and I have to say there beef and mushroom pie was perfection in every bite! Thank you to the staff and owner for such an amazing experience.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2023 via mobile

Terrible experience. Came here to celebrate a birthday with 9 friends and was spoken down to by a staff member. Was told she’d send a manager who never came, customer service needs to addressed. Our party of 10 will never come here come here again...because of this experience.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caity, Marketing at Grand View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2023

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We can't find a record of your booking and believe you may have meant to review the Grand View Hotel in Cleveland. If this is the case, we'd appreciate if you could...More

Reviewed 18 January 2023

We had a burger & a steak sandwich. Good food at a reasonable price. I'm not sure when the pub was renovating but it has a great beer garden & is very modern inside.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2022 via mobile

Great Food and atmosphere - very insta friendly if your into that. ☺️ The pork belly was super delishious and the coffee was excellent as well.

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2022 via mobile

Warm chips and cold parmigiana, a complementary dessert which was refused doesn't compensate for substanded meals.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2022

Arrived early for dinner and had a beer and "best ever" lemon lime & bitters. Young guy made it and it was outstanding. Dinner was very good. Lots of space in the restaurant. Rate the pork belly dish highly

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2022 via mobile

Staff don’t listen to orders wine or food, had to keep correcting them. $27 for 6x oysters kilpatrick they were the size of my thumb nail, and the sauce on them no idea what it was, but wasn’t bbq of any sort. Don’t do crumbed...steak as a meal but do it in a sandwich…. What ever, and the chicken parmy was soggy served with Deb mash and I asked for salad but got coleslaw, can’t stand the stuff. Also I had to chase up the gravy. Never will retun been disappointed twice now.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2022 via mobile

Do not have enough words to express our so poor experience today. Even if you are not Forest Gump🤷🏻‍♂️ … RUN, RUN,RUN from this place.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Port Denison Motor Inn
128 reviews
.24 km away
Bluewater Harbour Motel
310 reviews
.61 km away
Bluewater Harbour Serviced Apartments
18 reviews
1.19 km away
The Pearly Shell Motel
49 reviews
1.54 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Jochheims Pies
210 reviews
.14 km away
Birds Fish Bar
215 reviews
.85 km away
Sails Coffee Lounge
41 reviews
.52 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Horseshoe Bay
340 reviews
4.07 km away
Horseshoe Bay Rotary Lookout
142 reviews
3.75 km away
Grays Bay
47 reviews
3.84 km away
Summergarden Theatre
62 reviews
4.81 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Michael B
14 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Outandabout1208 | Reviewed this property |
Good tasty Aussie food- steaks and seafood.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

GRAND VIEW HOTEL, Bowen - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices, & Reservations - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand View Hotel

Yes, Grand View Hotel offers takeaway services.

Grand View Hotel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5