We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
22
8
4
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
22
8
4
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salmon cakes horseshoe bay great spot new owners breakfast and lunch these guys sourdough views coffee meals passing
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Great find - great spot - service great - food excellent mango and chicken salad and wild mushrooms pasta also had a couple of wines and cake. (Must say cake was a bit dry but had a side of ice cream) well worth a visit.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago

It was very busy but 4 orders came out together and with as smile. Coffee and hot chocolate was pretty good and the view was brilliant.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

My partner and I visited the cafe 3 times over the course of a month (mid May to mid June), always on different days of the week and at different times. 1st visit - asked what was in the cake cabinet, given a very brief...and vague answer, this led to the wrong cake being brought to our table. When we raised this with the server she took the cake without apology and returned with the right one. We were served by a shorter older lady with brown hair. 2nd visit - ordered meals which took 40mins to be delivered, was a weekend so can be expected. However, my coffee order was completely forgotten and I had to raise it with then on the way out of the cafe. I received my coffee with a poor apology and the reason “our system doesn’t work properly”. Served by multiple people. 3rd visit - waited 10mins in line to order food without being served or the people on front of us being served. Not even an acknowledgement that they would be with us in a minute. We walked out. It’s such a shame the service is so bad given the location and food is very good. Won’t be going back anytime soon.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

found this little gem when out exploring for the day. we were looking for somewhere dog friendly to have lunch and when we drove in to the beautiful horseshoe bay we knew we wouldn't get any better than this with the cafes amazing location and...views. the service was friendly and lunch was served within 10 minutes of ordering. my husband and i had the caesar salad and it was the best we have ever had. will definitely be stopping again when we travel through next year.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was excellent, great cake slices and proper coffee. Prices were what we expected for the quality of the food. Service was interesting to say the least. Owner (?) was very stressed and rude, messed up our simple order of 1 coffee and 2 cakes...twice and when we informed what we could eat due to an allergy we were met with “nothing, it all has nuts” which was clearly not true. Other staff were friendly and approachable. If this was how the owner treats costumers, I can only imagine how she treats her colleagues. I think it leaves no one wondering why there is a “looking for staff” sign out front. Could be great, but due to behavior of the owner we can only rate it as “poor”.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
jillypad, Owner at Horseshoe Bay Cafe Bowen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Before publically slandering the owner, being myself, one should get their facts correct. I will now be taking this to the solicitors as it is slander against myself. I have been away for a few days and after talking to the staff have identified who...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a Very relaxed atmosphere. Service was very friendly and quick. Served great coffee, with lots of delicious cakes and slices to choose from. Will definitely be going back.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After stopping into Bowen on the way through to Townsville on the 16th may we were happy to come and check out the view on offer, unfortunately on arrival was not acknowledged and decided to find a seat, after reviewing the menu was not able...to find any kids meals so my partner just went up and asked if a kids menu was available, receiving a “nup”, my partner proceeded to ask whether we could just get a smaller bacon and eggs meal for our child( happy to pay for full meal) for our son- just didn’t want to waste food but was walked off on by the very poorly trained and arrogant staff member. Decided to take our money elsewhere, very displeasing when wanting to support local business. WILL NOT BE BACKMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
jillypad, Owner at Horseshoe Bay Cafe Bowen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, could you please let me know when you came to the cafe. Because as an owner i do kiidies portions , i do half portions, so i need to know when this was please and the colour of the hair of the staff .

Reviewed 3 May 2021

I'm not short on Money by a long shot and im Happy to pay for a great meal but this is extremely overpriced. $25 for a steak burger that the menu lists as $18 was more like a $16.50 burger. And then a surcharge on...top. 2 Large milkshakes 1 small shake and kids nugget meal a further $42. What a joke never again can't give less than 1 star/dotMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
jillypad, Owner at Horseshoe Bay Cafe Bowen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2021

hi , would not want you back. may be you should go to macdonalds and not get quality food

Reviewed 2 May 2021

Wow! We absolutely loved our breakfast here! Everything was cooked too perfection and tasted lovely. The sizes were also very generous. The coffee and chai latte were the best we gave had! What a hidden gem! We will be back!

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

The bacon and egg roll is one of the best ever! So tasty. Amazing location, great service, highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Rose Bay Resort
137 reviews
1.21 km away
Palm View Holiday Apartments
26 reviews
1.83 km away
Bluewater Harbour Serviced Apartments
18 reviews
2.97 km away
Queens Beach Motor Hotel
41 reviews
3.13 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Le Sorelle Coffee House
410 reviews
3.38 km away
Grand View Hotel
369 reviews
4.12 km away
Jochheims Pies
199 reviews
4.07 km away
Birds Fish Bar - Bowen Fishermans Seafood Company PTY. LTD.
177 reviews
4.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Horseshoe Bay
318 reviews
.05 km away
Horseshoe Bay Rotary Lookout
138 reviews
.38 km away
Grays Bay
44 reviews
.32 km away
Summergarden Theatre
57 reviews
3.28 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Horseshoe Bay Cafe Bowen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Horseshoe Bay Cafe Bowen

Yes, Horseshoe Bay Cafe Bowen offers takeaway services.

Yes, Horseshoe Bay Cafe Bowen offers delivery services.

Horseshoe Bay Cafe Bowen is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4