We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
USD 27 - USD 50
CUISINES
Contemporary, Street Food, Central Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
243
117
43
20
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
243
117
43
20
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sashimi dumplings pork belly bao chilli scallops pad thai yum cha asian fusion amazing food the wait staff busy night staff member banquet dishes leaf peninsula
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is without a doubt our favourite. Our meal tonight was sensational. You can’t go wrong here. The food is delicious, the staff are lovely and the miso and atmosphere is great. The Wagu Beef Dumplings, the Shredded Pork pancakes, the Salmon Sashimi and...Squid with Kaffir Lime were our Small Plate selections and the Phad Thai, our Large Plate selection, is just stunning.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have lived in Rye for 30 years and when this opened many years back I never went hearing it was expensive, my husband and I went on spur of moment booked for 7:00 and was greeted warmly, the meal was amazing coming out in...perfect time as it is banquet for the time being, the flavors and presentation beautiful made us look forward to next course, my only complaint like many other restaurants the chairs really really uncomfortable but seems to be the way today. We will be back and no not expensive for the quality and service we received. Well done steam you’ve won us over. Many thanks for a great night.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a shame! Our group received disappointing service at Steam Restaurant in Rye last week and it ended up a very ordinary and expensive night out. Our party of six went out to support our suburb’s local restaurant scene midweek and to have an enjoyable...meal together. We were forced into choosing only from the banquet menus. If we went as three separate couples, we could have chosen individual dishes which would have been our preference. The Steam waiting staff were inattentive, seemed confused, stressed and by the end of the night were argumentative. The various staff serving our table, did not know know which couple eating certain dishes and bringing out the wrong food to our table. When we did get our meals, the food was good and tasty. However, we did not receive our meals at the same time so we did not end up eating together. One couple received their dishes at least half an hour after the others. Not good! Also, if you do go into this very noisy establishment where we needed to chock our table to stop it from rocking, keep a good record of what you eat and drink. Check the bill carefully. Unfortunately, we won’t be coming back.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a table for 6 last night at Steam and it never fails to impress. Some of the table own various places in the city so each meal was being judges and we ordered the 8 course favorite to share. WOW. The chefs have...got this to an art. The sauces and flavours make your taste buds come alive. I seriously could have eaten 8 courses of the scollops with the glaze sauce ontop🤩 the best anyone at the table have eaten. The floor staff are very informative with explaining every dish and you wont be sitting waiting for a drink as they keep an eye on your table and if they see it getting low your next one is on its way. Thank you for an amazing night. Do not change a thing guys.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely woeful, service was inattentive, did not know who’s meal was ordered, slow, and then the billing was inaccurate, charging extra than the listed price of beers. The quantity that was consumed was also very very questionable. Very disappointing night. Would recommend every person stay...awayMore

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Jen S, Owner at Steam Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day to you Garry, I have to strongly contend this review as inaccurate. Our staff were very attentive to you and your group of friends and provided your table with everything that was requested very promptly. I personally heard the staff member that took...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing dinner with friends at Steam Restaurant in Rye. They went above and beyond to make sure I got my gluten free food. We had the set menu and they changed two dishes in the set menu to accommodate my needs. Food was delicious amazing....They even informed me that they would make sure that there was no cross contamination. Highly recommend this place. Staff are wonderful.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 30 January 2021

We were recommended trying Steam by our B & B host and we were very happy with our night out. We chose the base set menu with the option to add extra dishes if needed. Generous amount of delicious food which was beautifully presented. Lovely...wait staff. People watching on a warm night at the front of the restaurant was fun too.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 January 2021

Family of 11 no trouble. Never had to call over a waitress for drinks, food was hot and regularly spaced banquet.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 January 2021 via mobile

An absolute terrible experience at this restaurant. I made a booking in advance to ensure we had a table for the dinner service, we arrived on time and was unfortunate enough to have to wait over 20 minutes outside for our table as the previous...diners had not finished.. As an adventurous foodie couple, the Asian fusion flavours were there, but not executed well. Garnishing a meal with a full stalk of coriander does not make it easy to eat with the rest of the dish, same with the mint on the dessert. Please cut it finely and sprinkle over the dish if it’s meant to be there. We no longer live in a time where we put things on a plate that is not meant to be eaten. Our booking was for 8:15, we finally finished our final course of dessert at 11:10, the wait times in between the courses was absolutely unacceptable and we were visibly tired and irritated the end. The table service was extremely poor, having to share my water with my partner multiple times as the servers seemed to overlook us and how empty our glasses were. Please just leave the bottle next time. After all of this, there was not even an apology for the terrible experience and service. I would have expected to at least have the water taken off the bill as a token of responsibility on the restaurants behalf. I will not be going back and I do not recommend you dine here.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?4  
Reviewed 29 December 2020

Bad customer service - why do people in the service industry not care about how they treat their customers? We lost our $40 booking fee when we rang to postpone- NO EFFORT was made to help us re schedule- just NO. I was told the...customer service was bad at STEAM.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Moonlight Bay Apartments
133 reviews
.47 km away
Rye Hotel Accommodation - One Four Nelson
200 reviews
.52 km away
Bayview Motel
85 reviews
3.20 km away
Moody's Motel
67 reviews
4.58 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Imola Red Cafe
203 reviews
.16 km away
Sacrebleu French Cafe
111 reviews
.40 km away
Ruby Modern Thai Restaurant
164 reviews
.49 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rye Beach
209 reviews
.48 km away
Rye Pier
35 reviews
.46 km away
Flock of Segulls Indoor Market & Cafe
13 reviews
.13 km away
Akuna Skin & Body
17 reviews
.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
dont-want-to1
14 November 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jen S | Property representative |
Hi Guys we are a fully licensed restaurant, with beautiful selection of wines to accommodate our cuisine. No BYO. Cheers Steam
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing