We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Scotsmans Pack

School Lane, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BZ, England
+44 1433 650253
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good33%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (8 reviews)
“pastry” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
School Lane, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Delicious, traditional pub food in a cozy environment. Massive portions so you may want to give the starters a miss if you'd like some dessert. Would recommend the leek and pork sausages for a posh bangers and mash.

Thank Bonnieness91
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a pub that serves restaurant food. It’s good old fashioned great British pub food with little twists and they’re really really good at it.

Thank AlanThompson54331
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A return to my roots for a family meeting but it was sadly lacking. My father loves pies but was very disappointed. My cod was the smallest portion of fish I have ever been served. Husbands burger ok but underwhelming. Friendly staff at first then...More

Thank sueborwicknicol
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter and I stayed overnight on a Friday. The room was very clean, bathroom lovely and a nice Bakewell tart left for us with plenty of tea coffee etc. Despite our room being over the bar, it was quiet by 11. We had dinner...More

Thank Mary G
ChristyDawes, General Manager at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mary, We are glad that you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Ash

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice atmosphere, food okay but we both chose the steak and ale pie and both were quite disappointed, the pie was very dry. Would definitely go back and try something else.More

Thank Corvetteswift
ChristyDawes, General Manager at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear your pie was dry. Very occasionally a batch doesn't quite turn out the way we would like it and as soon as we find out we have to make it again, but generally the pie is very good - I have it...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Scotman's Pack seems to be having some sort of identity crisis. It's a traditional real ale pub in design, but has random quirky animal pictures that don't quite fit and offers a range of gins that any hipster bar would be jealous of. The...More

2  Thank lfielding12
ChristyDawes, General Manager at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thats the first complaint we've had about having too much gin, but hey ho, can't please everyone. Just to clarify - the term you are after is Gastro Pub and according to our other Trip Advisor reviews we do it well. Kind Regards Ash General...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Just off the main road is this traditional country inn with a tasty menu. Tables are close together so you are bound to strike up a conversation with some of the locals. Make the most of the winter deal on a Monday and Tuesday.

Thank Monica P
ChristyDawes, General Manager at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Monica, Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Kind Regards Ash

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

This was a two day voucher break and very good place to stay. Staff were excellent and very welcoming. Room was big enough and a four poster bed! Only comment was breakfast at £9 each which I thought a bit steep. But have everything going...More

Thank jackstay403
ChristyDawes, General Manager at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Jack, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. With regards to the breakfast, these are included in normal room rates, but because of the amount of money we get back from the vouchers we do...More

A TripAdvisor Member
41
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We visited for Sunday Lunch and were not impressed, the place is all set out well and very inviting but the food was a big let down. The plates were cold ( basic), meat over cooked ( dry) , Yorkshire puddings poor , the veg...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
ChristyDawes, General Manager at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry that you were not happy with your meal, As you can see from our other reviews, this is not typical in our pub. Please in future make this known to a member of management so that we can sort this out for you at...More

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on a Thursday night on an offer for 2 .....evening meal, breakfast & accommodation for £99! Accommodation was nice......clean room....tea making facilities with lots of milk cartons....therefore if you want a few drinks in your room you don’t have to keep asking...More

1  Thank nolanmark2
ChristyDawes, Manager at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Mark, Thank You for your kind review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Ash General Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Maazi Indian Restaurant
442 reviews
.31 km away
Hathersage Social Club
191 reviews
.52 km away
Cintra's Tea Rooms
318 reviews
.48 km away
Colemans Deli
238 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Peak Walking Adventures - Day Walks
204 reviews
.40 km away
Hathersage Swimming Pool
221 reviews
.42 km away
David Mellor Visitor Centre
127 reviews
.77 km away
The Scotsman's Pack Bar
21 reviews
.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
redhotwhite
20 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from ChristyDawes | Property representative |
Hello, We allow dogs in the pub but I'm afraid not in our accommodation. Hope this helps. Thanks!
0
Votes
AngloperuvianAbroad
31 March 2016|
Answer
Response from AngloperuvianAbroad |
P.S do you have many gluten free options?
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 41
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: School Lane, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Hathersage
  • Phone Number: +44 1433 650253
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing