We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Three Roofs 3 The Island | Hope Valley, Castleton, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WN, England
+44 1433 620533
Website
Today
09:30 - 16:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:30 - 16:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 503: English reviews
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Coffee and cakes ok. Outside seating area mainly in shade and on top of very busy roundabout entrance to main car park so completely lacking in any ambience and the interior didnt look scintillating . It's apparent popularity might be down more to its location than high quality fare and service which we found very average.

Helpful?
1 Thank sandalian
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We decided to visit Castleton for breakfast on our way home from Sheffield as a treat. The full English breakfast we had at Three Roofs was very nice and value for money. The staff were friendly, welcoming and polite, the facilities lovely and clean. We have been here on other occasions whilst staying in Castleton and feel that the café... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mart48
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On our recent trip to the Peak District, we popped into this great cafe no fewer than three times! The first was just for ice cream after a hot and tiring walk, but the staff were so welcoming and the food looked so delicious that we decided to return for breakfast​ the following day. The fact that they serve vegetarian... More 

Helpful?
Thank kathymartin2017
TheThreeRoofsCafe, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for taking your time to write this lovely review and visiting The Three Roofs Cafe, three times on your recent trip! It really does mean a lot to staff and I knowing that we are doing a good job. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your your lunches, cakes and veggie breakfast so much.... More 

Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called here for much needed coffee and cake after the Mam Tor ridge walk. There was a large selection of cakes and tarts including gluten-free options and the coffee was great. There was a wide selection of meals and snacks on the menu and it was very clean.

Helpful?
Thank missyirwing
TheThreeRoofsCafe, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your much needed refreshment and fuel, after your Mam Tor walk. Hope to see you again sometime. More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had lunch here spontaneously and very glad we did! I had the wonderful soup of the day (so good) and my partner had an open sandwich which was amazing. The staff were friendly but run off their feet because it was so busy! Not much room to sit outside but lots of windows inside so it didn't matter. They... More 

Helpful?
Thank melodymorris
TheThreeRoofsCafe, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks Melody! So glad to hear you found us and that you both enjoyed your visit and food - thanks again. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was looking for a cup of tea just to take away and found this place. Great services asked exactly how I want my tea! Also the cakes looked really nice but didn't get a chance to try them out.

Helpful?
Thank Buzz C
TheThreeRoofsCafe, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review and hope you can visit again to try out our home-baked cakes! Thank you. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful food great choice of warm salads and wraps home made soup very tasty well presented excellent. Would definitely recommend

Helpful?
Thank claire l
TheThreeRoofsCafe, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and recommend us Claire. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We popped in for lunch after a long dog walk. Our dogs were given dog treats by the waitress and we were made to feel very welcome. The artisan baguettes were delicious and an ample plate of food was provided. We will be returning and would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor M
TheThreeRoofsCafe, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this review

Eleanor, so pleased to hear that you and your four legged companion enjoyed your visit! Thank you for the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We visited this place for light refreshments before embarking on our tour. The staff were amazing, I could not fault them. The Victoria sponge however was very dry, we paid +£11.00 for two cakes and two drinks, a little pricey but once we complained, the staff changed the cake without no fuss

Helpful?
1 Thank perfectsymertry
TheThreeRoofsCafe, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this review

So pleased to hear you were impressed by and couldn’t fault our staff, we do always aim to deliver outstanding customer service. Again as we apologised when you were with us, so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the cake originally served, sometimes mistakes do happen but we will always strive to correct straight away without fuss. More 

Exmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Great welcome for a party of seven (one in a wheelchair ) plus dog. Lovely food and refreshments. Good prices.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
TheThreeRoofsCafe, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review Stephen - hope to see you all again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Three Roofs Cafe also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Three Roofs Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 11 - USD 18
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 16:30
Monday
09:30 - 16:30
Tuesday
09:30 - 16:30
Wednesday
09:30 - 16:30
Thursday
09:30 - 16:30
Friday
09:30 - 16:30
Saturday
09:30 - 16:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Three Roofs 3 The Island | Hope Valley, Castleton, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Castleton
  • Phone Number: +44 1433 620533
Description
The Three Roofs Cafe is a cafe situated the heart of Hope Valley. The cafe delivers a high level of good homemade food, hot and cold beverages and a nice homely environment that gives good value for money. The Three Roofs Cafe has parking facilities within close proximity are a number of local attractions and amenities. You can even stay at the The Three Roofs Cafe with a beautiful 1-bed holiday let available to hire above the Cafe. The village is great for walkers, cyclists, familes and is dog friendly too. There are many facilities in the local village including, Bed & Breakfast, local pubs, souvernir shops and lots of beautiful cottages.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Three Roofs Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?