We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Stepping Stones

$$ - $$$
British, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Carnation Way, Ashbourne DE6 1AY, England
+44 1335 300800
Website
Today
11:30 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 530: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We chose this pub as it had a gluten free menu & one of our party was gluten free, the food was really disappointing, poor quality, extremely over cooked & very dry. We did mention it to the waitress & she did give us money off the bill but we wouldn't go back

Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
Billinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Came here for dinner on a Saturday night, we were staying in the travelodge next door so after a long journey this was ideal for a feed! Plus we didn't book so got seen too straight away despite being busy. Typical chain pub grub but if it's what you're after it does the trick. We did have one disaster on... More 

Helpful?
Thank rkinsman89
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

food terrible if id wanted Aunt Bessie's I would of stayed at home. No beef, cauliflower cheese with no cheese on it pig in blankets advertised on menu but only chipolata's frozen roast potatoes and frozen Yorkshires

Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
TheSteppingStones, Guest Relations Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. We apologise that we had run out of Roast Beef , on what was an exceptionally busy day. Thank you once again. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've been to the stepping stones quite a few times now and every time we've been it's been spot on foods nice,staff are friendly and you get a very good all round service would highly recommend to family and friends. Hopefully will be returning soon.

Helpful?
Thank Jade S
TheSteppingStones, Guest Relations Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

All i can say is 5stars food fantastic..fantastic atmosphere..fantastic service by Wez. Really lovely lady. Jeanette,Sam,Cara and Marie ann were proffesional and courteous. All the staff were gems.Well done to team kitchen Kallan,Matt and Ryan superb food..really delicious.Definetly be back. See you soon guys x

Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for breakfast with Santa...absolutely fantastic!! Excellent service, very organised and the Santa was brill took his time with the children & came round when eating breakfast...best "Santa" by a long mile one of the best I've taken the children to over the years! 5* well done & excellent breakfast!

Helpful?
Thank MelissaWragg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went tonight for works Christmas dinner and I can only say how excellent the food and service was we were made to feel welcome and nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff it made our night and would like to say a big thank you to kallan Matt and Ryan in the kitchen for cooking a superb... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
TheSteppingStones, Guest Relations Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We shall pass on your compliments to all the team for you. Thanks once again. More 

Uttoxeter
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

Food not good, staff carried the plates out with cloths why I don't know as the plates were cold making the food luke warm, meat pie had been microwaved and the pastry was soggy, gravy was brown water. Would we go back not on your life.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nipper60
TheSteppingStones, Guest Relations Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies that you did not enjoy your meal. Please feel free to contact the business on 01335 300800, and we will be more than happy to discuss your visit with us. Thank you once again for taking the time to review the business. More 

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016

we went tonight for a Christmas meal about 20 of us some of the meals was cold and had to go back to be re heated, and didn't have sausages and a couple looked like they were childrens meals. At 11.30 we was 6 ladies just finishing our drinks waiting for our taxis. we was asked to leave and a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank susan e
TheSteppingStones, Guest Relations Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Please contact the business on 01335 300800 where we would be more than happy to discuss it further with you. Thank you. More 

Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016

We were out for the day with our daughter,partner and granddaughter.was not sure where to eat and come accross this place.They were busy but managed to find a table for us.We did not have to wait to long for our food, due to the amount of staff they had.We all had different meals, and judging by the empty plates we... More 

Helpful?
Thank minimark52
TheSteppingStones, Guest Relations Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. More 

Travellers who viewed The Stepping Stones also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Stepping Stones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 15
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Carnation Way, Ashbourne DE6 1AY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Ashbourne
  • Phone Number: +44 1335 300800
Description
Next to The Travelodge Hotel, Five minute drive from Ashbourne Town centre and twenty minutes drive from Alton Towers and Derby City Centre. Easy access from A52 and A50 and open every day.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Stepping Stones and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Bath, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Bedford, United Kingdom
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Stepping Stones staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?