We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cu Restaurant

75 Cronton Lane | The Hillcrest Hotel, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
+44 844 736 8610
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good19%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (4 reviews)
“lovely meal” (3 reviews)
“friday night” (2 reviews)
Closes in 24 min
Hours
CUISINES
British
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
75 Cronton Lane | The Hillcrest Hotel, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Just a short review, I visited as usual for my company's xmas dinner, it was average. Considering this is supposed to be a high class hotel, obviously the chefs arn't. The turkey and beef were ok, not great, but the rest of the lunch was...More

1  Thank CheshireGilly
Andrew I, Manager at Cu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your company's Christmas dinner this year. Please rest assured that we will take your comments on board to improve for the future. I would value further feedback and comments from you regarding where you...More

Reviewed 23 November 2017

The meal and everything was OK, we felt quite cold on arrival and forgot that once the drinks and food arrived. Very good , what you would expect. Very clean toilets and great staff, not too chatty tho, took orders and went , sometimes you...More

Thank NightNurse1957
Andrew I, Manager at Cu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to our restaurant. We are so pleased that overall you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Look out for our special offers in January especially our Sunday Lunch Carvery deal...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017

The meal we had on Friday night was fresh hot and delicious I had the chicken breast on mustard mashed potatoes with green beans and peppercorn sauce my husband had the Ammon steak with eggs and chips

1  Thank Maggie E
Andrew I, Manager at Cu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to the hotel. The team are delighted that you enjoyed the food and the overall experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 27 March 2017

Fantastic organisation and such a lovely treat. I took my mum and other family members to a Mothers Day meal. The staff were really helpful and friendly. A three course meal plus coffee and a little gift for all the mums. The hotel had put...More

Thank Cathy H
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Lovely restaurant with friendly staff but had an hour to wait for main course even although restaurant wasn't busy on a Friday night. No apology or reason given. Food was a bit dry.

Thank kathycY8964PM
Reviewed 14 July 2016

The food was great and the service was excellent While the menu isn't extensive, the meals were well cooked. The copper decor is eye catching and very impressive

Thank Joolz B
Reviewed 30 March 2016

I've been here and seen the wires hanging from the ceiling cupboards upstairs. Food for functions obviously kept warm for a while. Not impressed.

Thank Heather H
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

I'm a bit late writing this but better late than never. This was the second Christmas Day in succession for us. We chose it because it's local and very cheap (£49 per head for adults). The food was perfectly acceptable and we really enjoyed it....More

Thank Fabitziana
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Went there for a Christmas Dinner Carvery, paid £20 and ended up being served with a plated meal of appalling quality, meat disgraceful, vegetables awful, everything piled high on the plate, turkey accompaniments served with the leathery over cooked beef. Tried to complain and claim...More

2  Thank Bryan D
gmhillcrest, General Manager at Cu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, however, I feel that you have missed some key facts. It is true that the planned carvery had to be changed to plated service on the day but this was advised to the organiser of your event and...More

Reviewed 19 December 2015

We went for works Christmas meal. The waitress was fantastic, no complaints there. The food was dreadful, the meat was so tough, the potatoes were anemic, the Yorkshire pud, you could smash a window with it and the gravy was like p**s water, one word...More

Thank Collette2013
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Widnes
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
416 reviews
.08 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
291 reviews
2.04 km away
Best Western Everglades Park Hotel
449 reviews
2.20 km away
Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel
280 reviews
3.14 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pesto Widnes
619 reviews
.39 km away
Harefield Coffee Barn
184 reviews
1.25 km away
Ring O'Bells
345 reviews
1.25 km away
The Upton Tavern
194 reviews
.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria Park
186 reviews
1.90 km away
Widnes Market
79 reviews
2.75 km away
Gladstone Memorial Fountain Widnes
6 reviews
1.63 km away
Dream
302 reviews
2.56 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cu Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 22 - USD 31
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
8:00 am - 10:00 am
Monday
7:00 am - 9:30 am
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 9:30 am
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 9:30 am
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 9:30 am
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 9:30 am
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
8:00 am - 10:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75 Cronton Lane | The Hillcrest Hotel, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Widnes
  • Phone Number: +44 844 736 8610
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;