We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion - CLOSED

Penn Road | Knotty Green, Beaconsfield HP9 2TN, England
+44 1494 670690
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (10 reviews)
“monkfish” (3 reviews)
“sunday roast” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Penn Road | Knotty Green, Beaconsfield HP9 2TN, England
All Details
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

Sadly Steve and Lizzie have left and the pub is closed for refurbishment. Not sure when it will re-open and how it will be run. However best to ignore all the previous reviews and look for reviews once it is up and running under the...More

2  Thank Dick L
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I've dropped in here on a few occasions for a couple of early evening beers and have always been made to feel welcome,even though this is a pub that appears to be largely frequented by locals. No gimmicks just a regualr good pub.. and the...More

Thank Markin53
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We had a very enjoyable family lunch today for 5 people - we had grilled lemon sole from the specials which was lovely, Egyptian Hake which was judged very tasty, adults cod and chips and children's cod and chips. All were very tasty and nothing...More

Thank Steven8915
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We visited the Red Lion for Sunday lunch having been recommended by a friend and they were right!! The pub has a wonderful feel to it, not least due to the landlord and landlady. They both made us feel very welcome and nothing was too...More

1  Thank evil_edna
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We live locally and thought we would give this pub another try! The décor has not changed and is still pretty dire - 'dull, dark and depressing' - the whole place looks unloved and not particularly clean. However, the worst part of our experience was...More

1  Thank alysonpet
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

I have eaten here a number of times but only just got round to reviewing! Always an excellent meal and a friendly atmosphere. Yes it's true the decor needs updating but the quality of the food more than makes up for it.

2  Thank LondonGipsy
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Be aware July 14th 2017 Steve the barman, can be very moody, he drinks halves whilst working behind the bar, and adds up the bill in his head ". After few drinks the amount is hit and miss! " .... we were overcharged and he...More

Thank anon1234562017
panny50, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear anon1234562017, We are very upset to hear you had such a disturbing visit to our pub on 14th July and that you were overcharged, the error was certainly unintentional. Unfortunately the décor is beyond our control as Punch taverns will spend no money on...More

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

The landlord couldnt even wait for me to park up and get in the pub before he started being rude to me. Plenty of other pubs for people like you he said. Actually there was.More

Thank Kev H
panny50, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Kev H, I am sorry you were so disappointed with our Pub, especially as you never actually entered it. In fact you parked your car not in our car park but on the hardstanding outside the front, which is very dangerous to exit from...More

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

I have eaten here a few times and it just gets better and better. The fish is always wonderful especially the fish and chips, you can't get it any better. I would definitely recommend. The decor is tired but you need to look past that...More

3  Thank bouchee6
Reviewed 12 June 2017

My husband and I live locally so following an article in a local magazine we decided to give it a try .The landlord was very unwelcoming on arrival , did not engage with us whatsoever .It was very quiet inside so we would have expected...More

10  Thank anonT7033MX
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Royal Standard of England
1,002 reviews
1.06 km away
The Cape
481 reviews
1.40 km away
China Diner
247 reviews
1.46 km away
Revolution Beaconsfield
159 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bekonscot Model Village
1,042 reviews
1.14 km away
Adventure 001 Ltd
434 reviews
4.42 km away
Odds Farm Park
554 reviews
4.70 km away
The Retreat Beaconsfield
248 reviews
4.95 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
USD 7 - USD 29
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Penn Road | Knotty Green, Beaconsfield HP9 2TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Beaconsfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1494 670690
  • E-mail
Description
The Red Lion Supporters Group are excited about the new phase for the pub, which is temporarily closed whilst essential works are carried out.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing