We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pickled Onion B&B & Restaurant

Carretera 186, Uxmal 98760, Mexico
+52 1 997 111 7922
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good30%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“avocado soup” (8 reviews)
“chimichanga” (4 reviews)
“cheesecake” (2 reviews)
Open Now
7:30 am - 9:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Mexican, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Carretera 186, Uxmal 98760, Mexico
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2018

The food was allright but nothing special. The terrace is quite nice, but the much needed ventilator over our heads was broken... staff is a bit curt and rather in a hurry. Only a short walk from our hotel, the Flycatcher Inn.More

Thank Arvid K
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us ...We dont profess our restaurant to be .special.but to serve good qualtiy regional food , home cooked style at reasonable prices . Aslo sorry about the non functional fan which is by the kitchen door but...More

Reviewed 3 July 2018

Despite having stayed in Santa Elena several times, we had never eaten at the Pickled Onion. We are a lunch and a dinner on different dats,, and really enjoyed the food as well as the setting. The food was fresh and tasty, served promptly by...More

Thank Tim B
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for your kind comments they are really appreciated and we are happy you enyoued your meals with us .. it indeed was a pleasure to serve you thank you kindly Valerie

Reviewed 19 June 2018

Besides the fact that this B and B gets better every year as a place to stay when exploring the Ruta Puuc, Uxmal, etc., the food is always very fresh, especially the breakfast plates which are included in your stay. The breakfast patio is serene...More

Thank RegD1945
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

What a very lovely review thank you so much ..It was a delight to read and will pass onto the staff ... who also will also be very happy again thank you so much Valerie

Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

We searched a good typical mexican restaurant in Uxmal cause we didn't wanted to eat again in the hotel. So i looked at tripadvisor and found this one. We were amazed. The flair of the restaurant and the dishes as the cocktails were definitely amazing....More

Thank Sandra C
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Thank you for your very kind words .. and we are so happy you enjoyed your meal with us It was a pleasure to have you here thank you again Valerie

Reviewed 23 May 2018

My experience was less than perfect. The food was good and the prices were low. You eat on an open porch surrounded by a nicely landscaped garden. Waiter was ok, not really what I would call friendly. Trouble I had was that the ceiling fan...More

Thank robertaT6608SP
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for your comments and as you said we are in the middle of nowhere and always best to bring cash in these remote areas as one is never sure if we have a signal or not due to climate or storms . On...More

Reviewed 22 May 2018

We stopped off here for lunch on our way to Uxmal and so pleased we did. There were no other guests when we arrived to a very warm welcome from the staff who were happy to explain the menu and quick to serve our drinks....More

Thank 628AlanM628
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you for your kind revue .. and happy you enjoyed your meal with us... Glad you found us and had a good experience cheers Valerie

Reviewed 2 May 2018

in addition to truly great food and drinks, this restaurant, in Santa Elena just down the road from Uxmal, is in a lovely setting planted with flowers and trees. It is part of a wonderful B&B/country Inn complex that is well worth a visit.

1  Thank John U
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

How delightful to read your comments thank you so much We appreciate you as our clients take care Valerie

Reviewed 29 April 2018

We loved the Pickled Onion! Our family of 4 stayed for two nights. We had two bungalows, one for our teens (age 15&18) and one for my husband and I. The novelty of staying in a thatch roof bungalow was fun. The pool area was...More

2  Thank jcstinchfield
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Every time I have stayed here it has been one of my greatest pleasures. The room was super comfortable, nicely decorated, great water pressure. The complimentary breakfast is large and tasty. The grounds are landscaped wonderfully. Valerie is a great host with personal conversation with...More

Thank Acmeflower
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments.. indeed it was a pleasure to have you here with us We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and there will always be a welcome for you.. I hope one day I can come and visit your oasis...More

Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Our group of 10 from Canada LOVED the food and cold drinks. The BLT, quesadilla, Mango margarita, meatballs & more are all highly recommended. 5*

Thank Mat P
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your very kind review.. We really appreciated it... It was a pleasure to have you here with us Thank you gain Valerie

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The Lodge at Uxmal
407 reviews
13.72 km away
Hotel Plaza
29 reviews
14.07 km away
Posada el Jardin
64 reviews
14.10 km away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
461 reviews
14.78 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant El Chac-Mool
112 reviews
.21 km away
Tutul-xiu
25 reviews
13.98 km away
La Finca Puuc
18 reviews
21.84 km away
Nearby Attractions
Zona Arqueologica Uxmal
3,830 reviews
13.84 km away
Ruta Puuc
447 reviews
14.00 km away
EcoMuseo del Cacao
152 reviews
14.80 km away
Uxmal
220 reviews
16.91 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Pickled Onion B&B & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
7:30 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
7:30 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
7:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
7:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
7:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
7:30 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
7:30 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Carretera 186, Uxmal 98760, Mexico
  • Location: Mexico  >  Yucatan Peninsula  >  Yucatan  >  Uxmal
  • Phone Number: +52 1 997 111 7922
  • E-mail
Description
The restaurant and B & B boosts the freshest ingredients in the whole area and the cleanest modern kitchen. Wonderful evening sunsets to wallow in over dinner. Open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch and dinner . Excellent Yucatan cuisine. Watch Gracilia making handmade Tortillas . Experienced local chefs from Santa Elena Easy access and free parking.FREE internet for all guests in the rooms and public areas . Included ,delicious breakfast, with fresh, some homegrown, local fruits and more, with your room. The breakfast area is located in a private area specifically for over night guests.Guests can enjoy FREE Wi Fi ,coffe,water and more in the rooms .
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing