We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Classic Wineseller

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
American, Wine Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
20 Church St, Waynesville, NC 28786-5709
+1 828-452-6000
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Tue 11:00 - 18:00
Wed - Sat 11:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Winder, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Have been here many times to purchase wine and for wine tasting. The owner Richard is very knowledgeable and helpful. The wines are priced equal to larger cities. We were not that exited about food that is served. Preparation and quality and taste is so so. We would go back and skip the food. The entertainment for the evening (Joe... More 

Helpful?
Thank dstone7866
Cutler Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Jazz It Up was what was advertised but boring was the theme. The music was not Jazzy but a snooze. At $70 a person plus a bottle of wine, we couldn't wait to get out of there and paid up and left asap. The four course meal was okay. The crudités were excellent. The second course of the meal, the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TeacherBurns
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback about your visit to the Classic Wineseller. I’m glad you thought “the crudités were excellent”, that “the ‘soup’ was amazing” and that the “service was terrific as always.” However, I’m very sorry the NYE jazz duo didn’t suit your taste and that you were disappointed. I’m also sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

If I could rate this as 0 stars I would. I've been here several times and have always experienced a rude owner/ manager. He stands at the front door to make sure you have a reservation before even letting you inside- whether you want a glass of wine, a bottle, or full on dinner. Nevertheless, we had made a reservation... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julia R
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review

I apologize to you and your guests and am truly sorry that you had a bad experience at the Classic Wineseller. I assure you, we never want to hear that our customers are dissatisfied. Please allow me to review a few things. -Yes, our front door is at the top of six stairs. When customers arrive and come down the... More 

Bryson City, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2016

I wanted to do something different for our company Christmas party, something a little more than just dinner. Paige did a terrific job accommodating our needs, customizing our event to suit us perfectly. Trish selected fine wines and cheeses for our tasting. She is very knowledgeable about wines, and a wonderful personality. She served us very well. Travis prepared our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing about your great experience at the Classic Wineseller. I’m pleased to hear our servers took good care of you and that you enjoyed the food our chef prepared. We would love to host you all again anytime. More 

Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

This is a great restaurant/wine store! They always have live music on the weekends which has been fantastic both times we've been there. The music is also the perfect volume, it is loud enough to enjoy but you can still have a conversation. The service and food are excellent! For small plate entrees, we've found the portions to be generous... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darlene6675
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your visits to the Classic Wineseller. We are glad you found the wine selection to your liking, and the food to be fresh and delicious. We prepare each plate one at a time to maximize freshness, and our servers love helping you! Many thanks again for your review. Come see us... More 

Clinton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016

This place was okay. The best thing was the live music. My fiancé and I had just got into town and were going to get some dinner. We found this place and walked in. The man ( I guess he was the manager/owner) asked if we had reservations, ( it didn't say anything online about having to make reservations), when... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachelhoneycutt20
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to let us know about your experience. You are correct, reservations are not required but many folks do make reservations. Asking arriving guests if they have a reservation is the only way we know to distinguish between reserved guests and those who do not have reservations. I'm glad you enjoyed your food. I'm very sorry to... More 

Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016

Well my wife had made a reservation and wanted to be in the room by the music , They did that ok , except they had a tiny table that looks like they brought in from the storage room and instead of my wife facing the wall I did, never in my life have I been put in that kind... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PETE K
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to tell about your visit to the Classic Wineseller. I'm very sorry we didn't meet your expectations. More 

North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

This was our second visit to the wine cellar. Very small adult friendly restaurant in a basement. The service is decent, the food is good, and the entertainment is classy.

Helpful?
Thank 4SeasonWanderer
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review. I'm happy to hear you're a repeat customer and have enjoyed your visits. Come see us again soon. More 

Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016

10/22, 10/29, + 11/19 & 11/25 already reserved. Whether its: pianist / singer Joe Cruz playing the music of the Beatles, Elton John, James Taylor, Simon & Garfunkel, Sting; Jazz vocalist Wendy Jones paying tribute to Duke Ellington; Mean Mary’s lightning fast banjo & fiddle; or a whole line-up of talented local, regional & national musicians regularly appearing in this... More 

Helpful?
Thank TripIt42
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a kind and detailed review about what you like about our establishment--now in its 20th year. We hope you'll come back to see us again and again. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016

We went to The Wineseller because the other restaurants nearby were booked. I wish we'd have just gone back to the hotel and ordered a pizza. The service was terrible! After being seated, we waited for a server for 10 minutes, even though there were only 5 other tables at the time. She finally did come take our order. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your visit to the Classic Wineseller. I'm very sorry that you are so unhappy. More 

Travellers who viewed The Classic Wineseller also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Classic Wineseller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 15
Cuisine
American, Wine Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Romantic
Open Hours
Tuesday
11:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Church St, Waynesville, NC 28786-5709
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Mountains  >  Waynesville
  • Phone Number: +1 828-452-6000
Description
The Classic Wineseller is a retail wine and craft beer shop that is open Tuesday through Saturday. The restaurant is open Wednesday through Saturday evenings. Enjoy LIVE music on Friday and Saturday evenings. Our location is underground and stays cool year around. A light jacket or sweater is suggested.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Classic Wineseller and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Classic Wineseller staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?