We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fitzroy River Lodge

$$ - $$$, ,
277 Great Northern Highway, Fitzroy Crossing, Western Australia 6765, Australia
+61 8 9191 5141
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good43%
  • Average23%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (6 reviews)
“barramundi” (4 reviews)
“caravan park” (7 reviews)
Open Now
6:00 am - 9:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Pub, Australian, Bar, Pizza
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
277 Great Northern Highway, Fitzroy Crossing, Western Australia 6765, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We dined in the more formal restaurant, not the bar area. Service throughout the evening was first class. The menu provided sufficient choice and we were all delighted with our choices of Barramundi, steak and water buffalo. The latter was cooked to the chef’s recommendation...More

Thank LindsayMann
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the self contained rooms and very much enjoyed our time. Rooms were clean and had good facilities (the beds were very comfortable). Definitely recommend.

Thank Simmo_2005
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

great stopover for us going to Broome and back again. Large shad caravan sites with clean pool and camp kitchen. Very scenic with kangaroos. . Food at Inn was delicious with great staff who handled all customers on a busy night well.

Thank jenny m
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We were staying overnight in a safari tent for the night.It was just a short walk to the restaurant to enjoy a wonderful night dining under the stars.The staff were great and the food was terrific.

Thank jppetty
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Strange combination of expensive rooms in a lovely setting but home to the local community of drinkers in bar area: food was OK but pretty basic & pretty expensive: BASICALLY this had the monopoly of accommodation in the area and dont they know it: Cant...More

Thank Restless59
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Although the accomodation is too simple and way overpriced the restaurant has positive points. It scores for me good on their pizza's and service. Prices are high (over 20 $ for a standard pizza), but I guess everything has to be carted in from remote....More

Thank Kiwi1956
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Easily the best facility on the road from Kunnanurra to Broome. Huge are for self select sites in quite and secure are across the river from the township. Pub food and sports TV available and private resort adjacent. Great spot for Geikie Gorge excursion.

Thank Garry B
Reviewed 19 October 2017

over cooked and it smells horrible. You get hassled by locals all the time i was racially abused on two occasions.

2  Thank chookyboy72
Matt P, General Manager at Fitzroy River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear chookyboy72, Please see response to your review on the Fitzroy River Lodge Trip Advisor property page. Regards, Matt Payne General Manager

Reviewed 26 September 2017

A stop off on the way to Broome and very pleasant although the checkin staff weren't great. Directed to our site which was near the amenities area in a quite large park. The amenities were clean and well lit & quite adequate. We didn't access...More

Thank 188petere
Matt P, General Manager at Fitzroy River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear 188petere, The reception staff usually enjoy excellent feedback from your fellow travellers so we'll have a chat as a team at our next meeting this week. Please accept our apologies if we did not meet your expectations in this regard. Thank you for your...More

Reviewed 8 September 2017

We were travelling with the APT group which you would assume had a standing booking. When we arrived we expected to stay in the Lodge itself but hey had over booked and were bumped to the tents. Drink prices were extremely expensive in comparison to...More

Thank grassrootsman
Matt P, General Manager at Fitzroy River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear grassrootsman, Please note I have already responded to your review for the property. We appreciate your feedback and offer our apologies for what was clearly a breakdown in communication. Our dinners for groups normally enjoy extremely positive feedback so I will certainly investigate accordingly....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels in Fitzroy Crossing
Crossing Inn
54 reviews
2.71 km away
Fitzroy River Lodge
461 reviews
3.05 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Jalangurru Mayi
10 reviews
1.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Geikie Gorge National Park
228 reviews
18.96 km away
Mimbi Caves
41 reviews
79.77 km away
DEC Boat Tour
10 reviews
4.94 km away
Tunnel Creek National Park
65 reviews
39.55 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Fitzroy River Lodge staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 35
Cuisine
Pub, Australian, Bar, Pizza
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 277 Great Northern Highway, Fitzroy Crossing, Western Australia 6765, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Kimberley Region  >  Fitzroy Crossing
  • Phone Number: +61 8 9191 5141
  • E-mail
Description
Fitroy River Lodge is located in the heart of the Kimberley, only 2.6km from the Fitzroy Crossing Town Centre (with extensive IGA Supermarket) and 18km from Geikie Gorge National Park. Situated on the banks of the mighty Fitzroy River, Fitzroy River lodge offers a wide range of accommodation to suit all travellers. At the Fitzroy River Lodge you can relax on 50 acres of natural bushland with shady trees, landscaped gardens and plentiful wildlife. Traditional rooms feature flat-screen TV, Wifi (fee), hardwood floor, ensuite, air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities. Riverview Studios add whirlpool bath, balcony and BBQ. 2 bedroom apartments have full kitchen and living area. Room service is available to these rooms only. There are also Boab rooms (budget accommodation) with TV, ensuite and air conditioning. Safari tents with ensuite are available for refined camping. The extensive campground accommodates for both powered and unpowered site requests. Geikie Gorge and Historic Town Tours are run from the property approximately May through to October. Facilities include fuel, swimming pool, tennis court, fine dining in the Riverside Restaurant with al fresco deck overlooking the grounds, Lounge Bar with deck, conference/meeting room, WiFi (fee), coin laundry, camp kitchen and caravan storage. Lounge Bar offers a range of meal choices including pizzas, steaks, prawn dishes, soups, wraps, curries, risottos, burgers, fish & chips, schnitzel, parmi, steak sandwich, Chef's pie, nasi goreng and salads (Thai beef, chicken Caesar). Riverside Restaurant offerings include tandoori lamb kebabs, Shark Bay king prawns, Goldband snapper, lamb backstrap, eye fillet, chicken maryland, fajita, panna cotta, stuffed baked apples and warm brownie. Both outlets have kids menus available and room service is available for Motel guests.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing