We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#1 of 4 Pub in Burra
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$6 - AU$20
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (105)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
67
24
7
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
67
24
7
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mixed grill chicken schnitzel the pub free camp great host interesting history great atmosphere lovely meal great stay old style cold beer caravan park tim publican camping site character
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the accommodation in a caravan. Sufficient amenities for my needs - power and a shower. Tim and Sarah were great hosts for afternoon beers and great evening meals. Made a great base for touring the town. Great little pub. Would stay here again.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2024

Thanks again Tim! great history lesson/ grand tour! Good food- not too fancy but perfectly done pub grub. We went on a quiet night and had a really enjoyable time.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2023

Another lovely old pub in the style only Australian country towns seem to do them! A bit out of town but close to our accommodation at the old railway station, we stopped in for a drink and stayed on for dinner. Tim behind the bar...chatted amicably and the wines on offer were outstanding – he told us his background was in the wine industry and the selection on offer was definitely a testament to that. A small and basic, reasonably priced menu was on offer. We went with the Beef Parmigiana which was huge but perhaps a little dry. We asked if it was possible to have some dried chilli flakes to sprinkle over (a favourite option for hubby) and a generous bowl was happily provided.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2023 via mobile

lovely historic pub in North Burra. Stopped in for dinner. Had the schnitzel and a Parma. Old world atmosphere of days gone by.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2023

This spot was the perfect oasis after a day of driving. After some unsuccessful pub visits, we felt welcomed and had a great meal and chat with Tim. What an impressive facility, the camp ground was perfect and the showers excellent. Loved having that little...alcove for dinner, the fire and cards. Perfect spot to stop in and stay!More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2023

Great 150 year old pub with history, interesting conversation with owner/barman. Great meal and comfortable surroundings.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2023 via mobile

Terrible , was greeted by a gentleman that had clearly had a bad day and by the look of the car park with a dozen cars in it was really overwhelming for him, our greeting started with “ your not having dinner here!” No worries...mate just a drink then, even that was too hard couldn’t distinguish between a Moscato and a Chardonnay whilst I was waiting at the bar to get the drink swapped over he ever so gracefully ignored me ( a good 4-5 minutes) until we left in disgust and went to another pub insteadMore

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2023 via mobile

Just wonderful. Check out the copper coffin coffee table in the lounge off the front bar and an original Breaker Morant movie poster (that classic film was made close by) and lots of interesting art. It’s just a lovely pub with beaut ambience and cheering...pub food…. especially the mixed grill. I love this pub.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2022 via mobile

Stopped on way to Adelaide, didn’t think it would be much but had the best time, Publican is a character and food was great. Definitely worth a stop, historic and full of charm and good people.

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2022 via mobile

Lovely old style pub with lots of charm and old style memorabilia. Great service and a lovely meal of pork ribs and barramundi. Lots of local wines too. Staff friendly

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2022

Weather was horrid. Husband, kids, dogs and I. But Tim was an awesome host. We sat in a cosy room, played cards had a few drinks and dinner, Tim made sure the fire was cranking. Its not a caravan park, so those who expect primo...facilities go somewhere else. It's about the pub and the great atmosphere. If the weather calmed its farm, we would stay another night...More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2022 via mobile

The fellow was rather gruff with his greeting but not everyone is overly friendly so I put that to the back of my mind… When he gruffly asked how many were eating I said to and that we would be sitting outside… He looked very...strangely and I said we have two dogs with us… his response was, you are strange people. To which I responded, we are traveling for a year 05, what am I supposed to do to get rid of my dogs? His response, yes. I was disgusted but I still went to look at the menu that he gruffly pointed towards on the wall for me to look at for lunch… And then heard how rude he was to the lovely old couple who just pulled up in a caravan to stay… The man needs to learn a couple of manners or is going to continue to cost lots of revenue. Be nicer, or get out of the hospitality businessMore

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim P, Owner at Bon Accord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2022

Ha, ha ,ha ha, ha. Take a deep breath buddy and calm down. I’ve come across a lot of precious dog owners who get offended if I don’t ask their dog’s name and rub it’s tummy.

Reviewed 17 June 2022 via mobile

I stayed in the caravan park adjacent to the hotel. You have several choices. Free with no electricity or water if you spend $20 in the hotel; water and power for $25 if you are willing to accept a sloppy site, or $25 for just...power on a level site. The sites are generous in size. The facilities are cabin style and in immaculate immaculate condition. TV reception is excellent. There is a lot of road noise. My observation was that most heavy vehicle drivers used their compression brakes before the right angle bend.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2022 via mobile

We stayed out the back in our van for free. We had a few drinks and a lovely meal. Chicken schnitzel with mushroom gravy, chips and a delicious salad. Plus a nice bottle of wine. Great host. Thanks

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2022

A very friendly place, with good cold Beer. Nice hosts, nice fresh salad with my meal, owners are very proud of the place, and rightly so.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Burra Motor Inn
190 reviews
1.55 km away
Clare Country Club
1,385 reviews
33.03 km away
Clare Central Motel
130 reviews
33.98 km away
Clare Valley Motel
626 reviews
34.36 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
St Just Cafe
213 reviews
1.94 km away
The Cook O'Burra
109 reviews
1.89 km away
Royal Exchange Hotel - Restaurant
72 reviews
.58 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Burra Copper Mine
95 reviews
.64 km away
Burra Railway Station
90 reviews
.39 km away
Midnight Oil House
17 reviews
.99 km away
Burra Regional Art Gallery
27 reviews
1.71 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Pauline M
10 March 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 850warrenk | Reviewed this property |
I don't have a menu, but it was standard pub grub. Schnitzels, Steaks, Pulled Lamb and Greek Salad. I would say a pretty standard pub menu. The dining room however is setup like the 1800's and is amazing.
0
Votes
Geoff H
17 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from John W | Reviewed this property |
Hello Geoff yes I am sure there would be parking available. We free camped but there was a few power outlets available at a cost of $25. It was a great experience. Hope this helps you.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BON ACCORD HOTEL, Burra - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bon Accord Hotel

Bon Accord Hotel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5