We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$10 - AU$40
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (593)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
298
153
57
35
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
298
153
57
35
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laksa dumplings steak grilled fish sushi salad overlooking the marina king snapper keppel bay great setting eye fillet wait staff meals lawn boats banana
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Great stop for lunch or dinner. So good, came for lunch two days in a row. The salmon was beautifully fresh, though would've been perfect if both were cooked to med raw as requested, not well done. Still great nevertheless.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 days ago

This place is the best Restaurant in Yeppoon from my personal experience. Amazing mix culture food, Dumplings are always incredible, Massaman curry is my personal favourite 😊. Staff are always friendly and caring especially on a busy day, they’re alway trying to give us the...best services as they could. Highly recommending this beautiful place. Also have an incredible view too.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was an amazing experience my daughter and I were not expecting. We were staying at Roslyn Bay Resort overnight deliberately for their Sunday Brazilian Grill- unfortunately after booking unit ,when I rang resort restaurant to book table for 2 we were advised this was...not being held tonight restaurant was closed. It turns out we were so lucky as Waterline took our booking straight away and set us up on a wonderful corner table for us to enjoy marina view. All staff members were so welcoming and helpful. I ordered Keppel Bay Bug Dumplings ( to die for ) Spring Rolls and my daughter Green Tea Icecream to start. Abit unconventional icecream for entree however the wonderful waitress made sure kitchen knew this was right immediately. Our entrees arrived in good time, I devoured my Dumplings and my daughter her Green Tea Icecream-she then asked for a spring roll, ate 1/2 way through and asked what was inside. This became a guessing game, not prawn, not chicken, not pork ,is it fish ?, no but it swims....the look on her face priceless- MUM NOT CROCODILE!!! My laughter confirmed ..she looked at the other half and shrugged her shoulders and ate it too - we have a convert! Our Mains arrived i had Seafood Laksa and my daughter the Eye Fillet HUGE MEALS !!! AND DELICIOUS. After entrees we could only eat half and asked for doggy bag which was absolutely no problem. I enjoyed wonderful Jansz Bubbles overlooking Marina, it is a gorgeous setting and the staff are just wonderful, and Chefs out of this world! Thanks for making a disappointment into a wonderful experience-we will be back here bringing family and friends.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024

We booked a table on Thursday for today (Sunday 7/1/24)and asked to sit on one of the undercover decks which they told us were available. Received a confirmation email and text message on Friday and Saturday to confirm our booking. Arrived on Sunday to be...told we now had to sit at the picnic tables on the grassed dog area in the strong wind because they had given our booking to larger tables🤬🤷‍♀️ After having to go and insist they give us the table we booked to our amazement they found one. It is a shame they treat local regular customers this way because the food is amazing but will think twice about going back. Plenty of other places to go.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Keppel Bay Marina, Marketing at The Waterline Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Hi, We are pleased you came to dine with us and sorry to hear some areas let you down. We cannot guarantee particular tables, however, we try our best to fulfil your request. It seems there was some miscommunication in conveying this message to you...More

Reviewed 6 January 2024

The food here is consistently of a very high standard. It is a very popular restaurant so booking is essential. The corn cakes, calamari, grilled fish, ramen noodles and particularly the duck salad are fantastic. This is a favourite spot for breakfast, lunch or dinner.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Keppel Bay Marina, Marketing at The Waterline Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Hi Louise, We are so pleased you came to dine with us and look forward to having you again. We are so lucky to have our friendly front of house staff and very talented chefs. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us...More

Reviewed 3 January 2024

There is no air-conditioned area and it is quite hot. The food was nice but mainly Asian menu to choose from.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keppel Bay Marina, Marketing at The Waterline Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2024

Hi, We are so pleased you came to dine with us and look forward to having you again. We are so lucky to have our very talented chefs. Sorry to hear some areas let you down, we are an outdoor dining venue and often get...More

Reviewed 20 November 2023

Stunning location and amazing service I needed a last minute table for our wedding anniversary and Shannon saved me with a quick booking by the water , friendly service and some of the best food you can get on the Capricorn Coast , we will...be back every anniversary from now on, highly recommended.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keppel Bay Marina, Marketing at The Waterline Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Hi, We are so pleased you came to dine with us and look forward to having you again. We are so lucky to have our friendly front of house staff and very talented chefs. We are glad we could make your anniversary a memorable one....More

Reviewed 15 October 2023 via mobile

Fantastic food, service and atmosphere on Saturday night thank you! Hosting international tourism agents from the UK, France and Italy, the meals were devine and the service by the very professional & knowledgable wait staff was really impressive thank you!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keppel Bay Marina, Marketing at The Waterline Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Hi, We are so pleased you came to dine with us and look forward to having you again. We are so lucky to have our friendly front of house staff and very talented chefs. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a...More

Reviewed 12 October 2023

Love this restaurant! Staff is incredibly friendly. The food is always wonderful! Great marina view. Perfect for all occasion wether it be morning coffee, casual lunch or elegant dinner. I highly recommend this restaurant. A true gem. Make sure to make reservations because they book...up fast. Added bonus… pet friendly 🩷More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keppel Bay Marina, Marketing at The Waterline Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Hi, We are so pleased you came to dine with us and look forward to having you again. We are so lucky to have our friendly front of house staff and very talented chefs. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a...More

Reviewed 25 September 2023 via mobile

A crazy, inflexible seating policy. This restaurant is located at a marina 11 km from the nearest town. My wife and I sailed to this marina and will be here for a week. We’ve eaten at the place regularly. The food and staff are extremely...good. Tonight I went to the restaurant for wine and an appetizer. There were 3 tables seated and no one waiting. I was told they were at “kitchen capacity” given the number of customers and reservations. My logic that I would not impose a burden on the kitchen had no impact. Luke, the person in charge, said it “would not be fair to seat you after turning away 25 other people. “ He gave me the manager’s card and said I could call the next day. I left a text message for the manager, Colin Frazer, but do not expect to hear anything.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Keppel Bay Marina, Marketing at The Waterline Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2023

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is a shame to hear that you did not have the experience we would hope for. We have had a very busy past few days with some staffing issues which has unfortunately...More

Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

We were sitting at the table for 40 mins before we got anything delivered. They seem to accept as normal that the coffees will take twenty minutes and I can live with that, but 40mins. No tables get cleared either. Obviously clearing plates once the...meal is completed is a thing of the past as well. They have a great location and have not long added a new deck overlooking the Marina which is lovely. Now they just need to get a bigger kitchen and coffee machine. We ordered bacon and eggs - you can’t just order eggs on toast, scrambled or otherwise. You have to pay for a full bacon and eggs and tell them to hold the bacon. Won’t be coming back for a good while, I’m afraid.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keppel Bay Marina, Marketing at The Waterline Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2023

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is a shame to hear that you did not have the experience we would hope for. We have had a very busy past few days with some staffing issues which has unfortunately...More

Reviewed 9 September 2023 via mobile

Return guests from previous years as have always enjoyed. Food was good with many options . Ordered initial drinks which after a Half hour wait we enquired as they had clearly forgot . Cocktail had been made and forgotten as frozen daiquiri had melted which...was replaced . Upon a second long wait for drinks and again enquiring the upstart rude waitress proceeded to argue and insist since they had increased capacity by an additional 300 guests they no longer had the capacity in the bar to maintain the service of getting drinks out. Very poor service and very inept staff.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keppel Bay Marina, Marketing at The Waterline Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2023

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is a shame to hear that you did not have the experience we would hope for. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the food but it is a shame other areas let...More

Reviewed 26 August 2023 via mobile

All the people complaining about the service mustn’t have been out recently as staffing is a nation wide problem. We found the service good, the food delicious and reasonably priced. Would have eaten here again if we had more time as was the best meal...we had in yepoon.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keppel Bay Marina, Marketing at The Waterline Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2023

Hi Anne, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are so pleased you came to dine with us and look forward to having you again. We are so lucky to have our friendly front of house staff and very talented...More

Reviewed 21 August 2023

What a thoroughly enjoyable meal we had today. Started with the Keppel Bay Bug dumplings, which were delightful and then seeing Yeppoon is surrounded by some serious cattle country we had to try some beef. But it’s not just steak and chips here… The Chef’s...Asian influenced cooking really comes into it’s own I had the daily special; “Crying Tiger” for $36, marinated Banana Station Rib Fillet, with papaya salad, rice noodles and Nam Jim Jaew (a spicy dipping sauce from the Isan province in North East Thailand.) My dining partner opted for the 300gm Banana Station Rib fillet with Japanese Potato salad, green beans and a Yakiniku sauce for the same price. They were both cooked to perfection and the presentation was top shelf. The variety of dishes here is enormous everything from fresh fish to dumplings and beyond. (Yes you can get a burger if you must. But you won’t be doing yourself any favours, go on be daring.) One word of warning the kitchen, which is on view, is tiny and they seat a lot of people here and therefore things take time. (46 minutes for the dishes to come). But in such a beautiful spot by the marina what’s the rush? (We were pleased we went to the kitchen and gushed our appreciation to the kitchen team)More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keppel Bay Marina, Marketing at The Waterline Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2023

Hi Simon, We are so pleased you came to dine with us and look forward to having you again. We are so lucky to have very talented chefs and beautiful local produce. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Kind...More

Reviewed 8 August 2023 via mobile

Yes, food well executed, but the service was mediocre to say the least perhaps a little more staff training is needed. Not informed at table seating as to protocol. Told after waiting 15 mins, go order at counter—-hello—check out $$$ $ for food here, this...should not happen!! No, May be good food but service does not live up to it. Think twice about returning. Come on Waterline you can improve!!!The app at the table went via Canberra!!More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keppel Bay Marina, Marketing at The Waterline Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2023

Hi Irene, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is a shame to hear that you did not have the experience we would hope for. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the food but it is a shame other areas...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Rosslyn Bay Resort
246 reviews
.42 km away
Yeppoon Surfside Motel
111 reviews
5.23 km away
Oshen Holiday Apartments
309 reviews
5.61 km away
Sail Inn
148 reviews
5.85 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Beaches Restaurant
412 reviews
.43 km away
Gather 4703
5 reviews
2.26 km away
Causeway Lake Shop
45 reviews
3.95 km away
Lure Living
217 reviews
5.34 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Keppel Explorer
302 reviews
.03 km away
Freedom Fast Cats
745 reviews
.28 km away
Funtastic Cruises
167 reviews
.06 km away
Great Keppel Watersports & Activities
15 reviews
1.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
toddfurness
18 November 2018|
Answer
Response from keppelbaymarina | Property representative |
At this stage we are closed on New Year's Day sorry!
0
Votes
toddfurness
18 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sebruap | Reviewed this property |
Being in such a tourist area, there is a fair chance they would be open but it would be worthwhile calling to check. If you can make your way to this place, do it. You won't be disappointed.
0
Votes
janineslm
28 September 2016|
Answer
Response from keppelbaymarina | Property representative |
Sorry, no we do not open Christmas Day.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE WATERLINE RESTAURANT, Yeppoon - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Waterline Restaurant

Yes, The Waterline Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Waterline Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Waterline Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5