We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (79)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
24
35
6
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
24
35
6
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 11 January 2024

have given that feedback & positive review. I am now so sad to say that I will never return here & I will be sharing this feedback with all family, friends & contacts. Now living interstate & having not seen my beautiful Mum for over...a year returning home to see her was a very special occasion for me & also for my Mum. Without hesitation I booked our lunch together some time ago naturally at The Royal Hotel. I would not have chosen anywhere else this being such a special occasion for us. The Royal being my parents favourite local for many years as when my Dad was alive they would frequently visit together as my whole family have over many, many years in fact. My grand-parents also lived in Gatton. We have history here. My elderly Mother now 83 has very recently been diagnosed, just days prior to our lunch together, with life threatening cancer & faces a very tough road ahead fearing the outcome. On the day of our lunch I chose to wear the very beautiful outfit that day which my Mum had bought for me for Christmas. This outfit being now even more special for me. After our beautiful lunch together I appreciated entering my room on a very hot day with the welcoming air conditioning on ready & my lugage also there for me being taken to my room which Lily had organised for me that day after arriving in Gatton early after my travels. After that beautiful lunch I purposely placed my beautiful outfit over the chair at the dining table to air it overnight planning to wear it again very soon after on my travels. Having packed up the next morning ready to leave by 10am checkout time I clearly recall leaving my outfit until last to careful pack & place it in a certain bag so as not to crush it. As I was placing my lugage just outside my door in readiness I spoke with the cleaner Fiona who was actually about to clean my room next. Our chat lead to a lengthy friendly discussion so I was then distracted & as I left sadly I then forgot to pack that very special outfit leaving it there over that chair in room 5. I realised this when I reached my destination but planning to return to Gatton the next day I was not concerned as I knew it would be there & had fair that I would just pop in to pick it up. I was actually surprised that I had not received a call from someone to advise me it was there as after checking out I was in Gatton all day doing errands for Mum leaving my lugage there & returned to sit at them table until the end of the day waiting for my bus travel to Brisbane. Returning just yesterday I popped in to The Royal to collect my outfit fully expecting to walk out with it but was absolutely shocked to be told after their search that it was not there! Nowhere to be found! I expressed my concern to the Manager as Lily was not there this day. This leaves me no other conclusion that SOMEONE working there at The Royal Hotel now has my very special outfit gifted to me by my beautiful Mum which I chose to wear that day for our very special lunch together. As we all now face losing her, this makes it even worse for me & for her now she knows this, This whole wonderful experience that day & over many years I am very sad with this whole outcome I will never return. I hope whoever chose to keep may outfit feels the shame that I feel. Could you please just have the decency to think this through & consider why this outfit is so special to me. Please choose to do the right & honourable thing & return it to me. Catherine. 0450609500More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royal Hotel Gatton, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Thank you Catherine for taking the time to review us once again. As previously stated to you when you brought this incident to the Venue Managers attention, our Venue Manager has personally gone through every room, Linen Bag, Rubbish bag and camera footage from that...More

Reviewed 20 December 2023 via mobile

First class service and first class food in a lovely atmosphere. We venture regularly to meet our two elder sisters at what is a halfway point for all us. Had not been on a Sunday before and expected it to be fairly slow. Quite the...opposite and we could not believe how efficient and friendly the very busy wait staff were in all aspects of service. A very enjoyable time. Can highly recommend this hotel and want to thank everyone for making our visit so enjoyable. Merry Christmas.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royal Hotel Gatton, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Thank you so much for the lovely review Greg. We are so glad to hear of your enjoyable experience during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kindest Regards Management

Reviewed 9 July 2023 via mobile

We went for dinner here 4 people absolutely terrible food no taste with any of it dishes were cold when served Also when going up,to the bar one of the bar staff was or had been sick sniffling coughing all,over her hands should not have...been at work let alone serving drinks and bringing peoples food out haven’t been there for along time definitely won’t be back for along time definitely they need to to lift there standards hardly no one in there either for a Saturday night so that probably says a lot of the place do self a favour don’t go thereMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2022 via mobile

Friendly staff who served us in a timely manner and courteously. Great food and very reasonable pricing. Can recommend the quick lunch options. Thank you

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2022

Nice modern atmosphere, a little noisy though. Place was busy. Friendly staff and great reasonably priced meals. Had Fish & Chips, which was very tasty and nicely cooked. Didn't try any desserts so can't comment on that. Would return in the future.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2022 via mobile

Always a good feed here. Glad to see the same chefs when we come here. New cocktail menu and dinner specials.. will always be back

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

We are regular visitors to this hotel and while the meals are always great and the staff are friendly we ordered dessert tonight and for $10 received a meagre piece of sticky date pudding. If the kitchen had run out of this choice then that’s...fine but to serve such a lousy portion for $10 was insufficient and insulting.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royal H, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Hi Maree, Thank you for your feedback. So sorry to hear of your experience with us. This is not our standard and I will be addressing the portion size. If you would like to discuss further please don't hesitate to call on 07 5462 1029....More

Reviewed 15 May 2022 via mobile

Service is always great and the staff were friendly. Ordered a crumbed steak and it was some processed imitation of the real thing. Very disappointed.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2021

Today we joined a very happy throng of people all celebrating Christmas at the Royal Hotel Gatton. Prices were very reasonable and the atmosphere was happy. As for food.... Well they had everything and the minute serving platters needed replacing, well they were. When we...arrived the queue was quite long but only took about 10 minutes and we were serving ourselves. By the time one of us (not me!) was ready for seconds the queue was small. Prawns, Oysters, Salmon, Calamari, turkey, chicken, beef, and the for me best thing.....Ginger Beer Battered Barramundi. OMG how wonderful was this day? 15 our of 10 xxxxx The staff worked so hard and were cheerie and an amazing team.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2021

Our pub meals were tasty but difficulties in purchasing a drink as staff member did not know how to work the till. While she was mumbling away to herself, six plus other patrons lined up behind us. Gave up and went around to the front...bar where we got a drink from another grumpy rude staff member.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2021

Nice venue and friendly staff . Just about the best pub rump I’ve had. Thanks Royal and Grazier Beef!

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Was in a group of 15 ladies, most of us waited 75 minutes or more for our meal after ordering, one lady in the group ordered the barramundi she sent the meal back as tge fish wasn't cooked another lady couldn't eat the salad lettuce...leaves were brown, I ordered the Thai beef salad which was awful, swimming in oil and was smothered in yucky mayo, others in the group were not impressed with the meal either I didn't eat my meal nor would I eat there again I went to the toilet before leaving, it was smelly and dirty, the floor was very yucky, definately cannot recommend that place Its such a pity that there isn't many good places to eat in the Lockyer Valley The Q N in Laidley was lovely and clean loos I have had someone recommend Glamordanvale pub, not tried it yet though The Fernvale pub opposite the Woolies is good too and cleanMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2020

Fresh, Clean, staff fantastic. Ordered late and meals came out quick. Bistro had around 50 people so not quiet. Great Value and Service

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

Dined here twice during a recent business trip. Daily specials offer great value.Large meals that are well priced, popular with locals and visitors alike.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
royalh639, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thank You for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

Was looking forward to not cooking and having a Sunday dinner. Had the roast lamb with potatoes and veggies and my husband had bangers and mash. I was so disappointed. There was a lovely pile of lamb but on eating a few pieces my jaw...ached, it was so chewy. I presume reheated. The meat and veggies were Luke warm where as my husband's meal was piping hot.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royal H, Kim - Bistro Supervisor at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2020

Hello Mandy I am so sorry you were disappointed with your visit. We always aim for our customers to leave here enjoying their experience. Can you please call me at the hotel ? I would love an opportunity to talk to you regarding this.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hatton Vale Motel
29 reviews
19.87 km away
Coachman Motel
91 reviews
29.59 km away
Eastgate on the Range Motel
148 reviews
29.67 km away
Motel Glenworth
47 reviews
29.85 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Jak & Mo Taste Co
82 reviews
.04 km away
Killing Time with Coffee
35 reviews
.29 km away
Oh! Sushi
30 reviews
.20 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Awassi Cheesery
9 reviews
9.57 km away
Laidley Pioneer Village and Museum
17 reviews
15.43 km away
The Big Red Elephant
5 reviews
17.05 km away
Ravensbourne National Park
20 reviews
23.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Royal Hotel staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ROYAL HOTEL, Gatton - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Hotel

Royal Hotel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4