We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3809 N Croatan Hwy, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-9237
+1 252-449-2483
Website
Today
11:30 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

685 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 682: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

This was by far my favorite meal during the week we were at the OBX. The tacos were amazing, got the oyster and shrimp. My wife got crab cakes and they were her favorite ever. Service was great and they were very friendly. On a disappointing note our last night there we wanted to get carry out again and they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Al W
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review! We're completely flattered to have been your favorite meal of the trip. I'm sorry to hear that we were unable to accommodate your order on the last night you were in town. For next year, remember that you can always call in takeout orders earlier in the day or even the day before.... More 

ny
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Got some medium crabs to go with seasoning. Crab was good and tasty - the seasoning was quite salty and not well applied. We have had crabs from other places esp in MD, and the seasoning makes a lot of the difference in my opinion.

Helpful?
Thank tp2009
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments on our crabs! Our owner is a commercial crabber which means you won't get fresher blue crabs anywhere else. We use a spice called J.O. #2 which is actually made in Maryland specifically for blue crabs. Since you found it to be a little salty for your taste, I recommend ordering "light spice" or "plain"... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We ordered a half bushel of #1 steamed crabs. Being from Maryland #1 are large males. At this business, #1 crabs are small medium males. What a complete disappointment! Never again. Some were so light, we barely got a few morsels of crab meat. Next time we will go to the seafood docks and steam the crabs ourselves; or, go... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wiserperson36
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for stopping in for our blue crabs. As you know, we offer two sizes. Our medium (aka #1) crabs, while heavy males, are not as large or meaty as the large (aka Giant) size. Since you're accustomed to the large size at home, I can understand that our smallest size offered was disappointing; I'd recommend ordering our larger... More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Went here based on reviews from tripadvisor. They weren't wrong, the food was amazing as was the service and the atmosphere. It's a small restaurant so you may,have to wait. It's okay, wait. We had the crab nachos (OMG) and the fried green tomatoes (really good) and I had the shrimp tacos and my friend had the fish sandwich. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review! We love hearing customers compliment the food and the service all in one. It means that everyone nailed it on your visit and high fives are due all around. We hope you'll vacation in the area again soon, and stop in to see us! More 

GA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We decided to try this based on TA reviews. We wanted soft shells, and these did not disappoint. However, we found the stuffed mushroom appetizer, at $10, to be very overpriced, and the fried flounder was average. Most disappointing were the raw oysters, which, while shucked right in front of us, were small, watery, and limp. If we were to... More 

Helpful?
Thank antiquemeister
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us! If you're after a more voluminous appetizer, I'd recommend the blue crab nachos. They're like nothing you've ever had before. And if your next visit happens to be in the fall or winter, stop in again for the oysters. The local, in season varieties are better all around than what's available in their off-season.... More 

Leesburg VA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Super fresh seafood and reasonably priced. They offer platters (scallops, flounder, crabcakes) as well as the best seafood tacos I have ever eaten in my life. Two tacos jammed to the hilt with whatever you like - scallops, fresh picked crabmeat, crab cakes, fish, topped with fabulous mango salsa and sauce, for $10. Fantastic. By this visit, #6, we have... More 

Helpful?
Thank donnaks
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the unique review. I have to tell you that your comment about coming sandy from the beach is so true! Paper place settings and crab cracking set the tone for our level of "fancy". See you on lucky number 7! More 

NW New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

No frills. Stainless steel counters, topped with paper and rolls of paper towels...need I say more? This is a serious, roll up your sleeves and chow down joint. Oysters shucked right in front of you. Blue crabs steamed to order...eat in or take out. She crab soup is fabulous! Blue Crab Nachos...OMG! Your choice of Fried Fish..Fried Oyster ..Shrimp..Scallop or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyBagadonuts
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Your review highlighted some of my favorite items on our menu. Thank you so much for sharing that we're one of the "regular" places you visit on vacation. Having only been open about four years, we're still garnering repeat vacationers so it's nice to hear from one! Have a wonderful day. More 

Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016

This is a terrific place for seafood. It has very few tables and two long bar counters to sit at. You can see into the kitchen while they shuck the oysters or steam the crabs and shrimp. Food was delicious and fresh. Relaxed atmosphere with many photos of their family business all over the walls.

Helpful?
Thank AJB308
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review

First of all, thank you for taking time to leave a review for us! I especially loved the compliments on our family pictures. Between those and our staff, we're literally surround by family at work. That atmosphere is a wonderful one that we can pass on to our customers. See you again soon! More 

Coal Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

If you are visiting the area, you must try I got your crabs. A huge selection of seafood. Also great kids menu. The tacos are excellent!

Helpful?
1 Thank kodack
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to leave a review for us! I especially love that you highlighted our children's menu. It's something that's often overlooked but is so special to us. Being a family restaurant, we wanted to make sure that kids have healthy choices. Did you know that your choice of side, including several veggie options, is... More 

Towson, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
168 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Excellent crabs! When we first called to order the crabs, we were surprised to hear that they were no longer able to take any orders for steamed crabs that day and offered to take our order for the next day. We're really glad we did! We were offered two sizes, #1's and jumbos. We ordered #1's and were very pleased!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear that you were able to get the blue crabs you were after! Unfortunately, we do sometimes run out of blue crabs but that's just the nature of the business. On your next trip to town, give us a call the day before and we're happy to reserve your crabs ahead of time. Hope this helps... More 

Travellers who viewed I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 

Been to I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 9 - USD 21
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 21:00
Saturday
11:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3809 N Croatan Hwy, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-9237
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Outer Banks  >  Kitty Hawk
  • Phone Number: +1 252-449-2483
Description
We're a locally owned shellfish market and oyster bar offering the freshest, local seafood in the Outer Banks. Our specialty is blue crabs and steaming is always free. Eat in or Take out. Open year-round 7 days a week from 11:30 am to 9:00 pm. For more information, please visit our website.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?