We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kimball's Kitchen

1461 Duck Rd, Duck, NC 27949-4635
+1 252-261-8419
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good17%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“oysters” (22 reviews)
“steak” (19 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1461 Duck Rd, Duck, NC 27949-4635
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The service was very good but the food was average. I would have liked to have seen more choices on the menu including more seafood. Husband's grouper choice was in a sauce that was overpowered by spices. My salad was very good though.

Thank HiMyNameIsKathryn
sanderlingresort, Manager at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for dining with us and your review. We appreciate your feedback and shared with our culinary team. We do hope you will join us again in the future.

Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

We have been coming to the Sanderling for many years. We returned this week for a special anniversary. We had dinner at Kimball’s tonight. Service 10, food quality 10, all else 10. We will keep coming back. The view is the best locally. The folks...More

1  Thank HRHIII
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We had dinner at Kimball’s Kitchen on our last night in the Outer Banks. The meal was excellent, although somewhat more expensive than other restaurants we visited in the area. Nevertheless, the service and the view of the sound made it well worthwhile.

1  Thank William N
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Had a fine pricey dinner last year. Just walked across the street for cocktails last week. It's easily the most elegant eatery in Duck, spacious, quiet decor, sunset views over the Sound. Brendan the bartender knows his stuff. A perfect and beautiful Negroni and just-right...More

1  Thank vcdarty
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We dined here in August of 2017. The view is great with a perfect sunset. We had a fabulous dinner, but the star of the dinner was the fish dinners. We split the Bison Tartar which is extremely strong and gamey (not that it was...More

Thank RAS831
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We ate here on our first night at the Sanderling Resort. We wanted to take it easy on the first day and just walk across the street to dinner. We had baked oysters, heirloom tomatoes and watermelon, filet mignon oscar, and rack of lamb, grilled...More

1  Thank Silverstreak46
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We went out for a date night while on vacation & left the kids at home. The food is really good but VERY expensive and you have to buy the sides separately. The filet mignon with bernaise was fantastic. Our waiter was terrific and we...More

Thank OfAllThings
sanderlingresort, Manager at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for dining with us on "date" night while on vacation. We are glad you found us and enjoyed the experience. Thank you for sharing with other potential diners.

Reviewed 25 August 2017

good food ,good view of east west sunset, reminds me of Cape May NJ. Very nice. We would recommend this restaurant, miserable female server with dark hair.

1  Thank Kat M
sanderlingresort, Manager at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback. While service is very important to us we are sorry to hear that did not meet or exceed your expectations. We do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Reviewed 21 August 2017

This was to be a special birthday dinner. We had a 7:30pm reservation by the window to enjoy the sunset with dinner. We arrived at 7:30 and told our table was not ready. The table by the window was finally ready at 8pm, but not...More

1  Thank Wanderer083
sanderlingresort, Manager at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We aim to make every dining experience memorable. We do apologize for the error in the wine pricing and those have been fixed. Note to Diners: We do not make reservations guaranteeing a...More

Reviewed 24 July 2017

This was our third time dining at this gem and by far our best. There was an exhaust problem in the kitchen (our son is in restaurant supply and he said this is an expensive fix to make so it will probably take place off...More

Thank Candace614
sanderlingresort, Manager at Kimball's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for highly recommending us . We have shared with Jimmy as well. The air conditioning has been fixed and we apologize that impacted your dining experience.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Duck Hotels
Sanderling Resort
1,056 reviews
.13 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
1,498 reviews
4.22 km away
Sea Oats Motel
13 reviews
10.01 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1,723 reviews
14.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Duck Donuts
1,558 reviews
6.82 km away
Paper Canoe
510 reviews
.14 km away
The Blue Point
1,242 reviews
5.95 km away
Ducks Cottage
106 reviews
6.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Duck Town Boardwalk
572 reviews
6.44 km away
Currituck Outer Banks Visitor's Center
65 reviews
6.80 km away
Nor'Banks Sailing & Watersports
184 reviews
4.10 km away
Coastal Kayak Touring Company
70 reviews
6.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mariners04
21 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from DK B | Reviewed this property |
Check the Sanderling's website for their hours - that's what I'd do.
0
Votes
Dan M
18 September 2015|
Answer
Response from sanderlingresort | Property representative |
Attire “Resort Chic” – Relaxed business dress. Dress pants or shorts with a collared shirt for the gentleman and comparable resort wear for the ladies. We ask that you leave the beach behind along with any hats, denim or... More
1
Vote
Sarah N
22 May 2015|
Answer
Response from sanderlingresort | Property representative |
We do not have a private area. It's available Sunday and Monday from May - October for private events and anytime November-April. We do have a package that includes Kimball's Kitchen during these time frames. If interested... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 48 - USD 90
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Business meetings
Open Hours
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1461 Duck Rd, Duck, NC 27949-4635
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Outer Banks  >  Duck
  • Phone Number: +1 252-261-8419
  • E-mail
Description
If a special evening of dining is in your plans, look no further than Kimball’s Kitchen, formerly the Left Bank. Located on the Soundside of the Sanderling Resort, Kimball’s offers glorious view of the Currituck Sound and its inspiring sunsets, outstanding service and a world class menu. Kimball’s Kitchen offers everything that is special about both the Sanderling and the Outer Banks. Spotlighting local, grass-fed prime steaks, freshly caught local seafood, and an extensive raw bar selection, the restaurant creates a great dining experience with an upscale coastally casual environment. Of particular note are the numerous varieties of local oysters and the classic seafood tower, with a daily changing list of locally caught fish and seafood. Daily pasta and risotto specials are accompanied by an extensive Wine Spectator wine and champagne list. Children are welcome and are served smaller portions of the standard menu with a 50% price break.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;