We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riva

Rottnest Lodge, Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 5440, Australia
+61 8 9292 5161
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good22%
  • Average21%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (4 reviews)
“pizza” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Australian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rottnest Lodge, Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 5440, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing food. Reasonably priced. Plating skills are excellent. Amazing service. 😆 Eye fillet $38 and amazing. Light up menus good for older people to see in the dimmed lighting.More

Thank Jaime M
Glen T, General Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jaime M ; Thank you for your recent review of Riva restaurant . Im glad that you enjoyed your evening and found the food and presentation to your liking . We look forward to welcoming you back to Riva on your next visit to...More

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We went here for dinner on a recommendation, and we have been here several times before but a few years ago. The menu was typical for Perth prices, but all 3 meals were really average. We agreed we could've cooked each meal better at home,...More

Thank Katrina Z
Glen T, Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi Katrina Z, We always receive fantastic reviews in regards to dinner in the Riva Restaurant as you will notice from other reviewers here on trip advisor and the friends who recommended Riva for you. We are disappointed to that you did not thoroughly enjoy...More

Reviewed 1 June 2017

....when the place was a reformatory for boys in the 19th century as this was one of - if not the - worst buffet lunches that I have ever had. There was a poor choice of poorly prepared, lukewarm, dried out stuff in trays. The...More

Thank Lexus51
Glen T, General Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Hi Lexus51; thank you for your recent review of Riva restaurant. I am sorry to hear that you were unimpressed with our buffet lunch. We do offer a option of either the buffet luncheon or a luncheon a la carte menu. We Run the buffet...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017

We had a wonderful dinner here during our stay at the Karma Rottnest Lodge - just delicious. My partner had pork belly which he was in raptures over - I had squid ink pasta with crab - delicious! and this was preceded by a superb...More

Thank naturegirl15
Glen T, Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Hi naturegirl15, Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at Riva. I will pass on your kind words to Dawn and we hope to welcome you back for another fabulous dining experience on your next visit to Rottnest. Regards Management

Reviewed 18 May 2017

This sensational restaurant suits inside The Rottnest Lodge and on the pool. Delightfully lit at night and wonderful by day for breakfast and lunch I have been there with my Family and Josh Senior. Each time we have had a wonderful experience. The food here...More

Thank KeithBales
Glen T, General Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Hi Keith Bales; Thank you for your recent review of Riva restaurant. I am glad that you enjoyed your evening and your stay with us here at Karma Rottnest and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to rottnest Regards Management .

Reviewed 26 April 2017

The al fresco area is nice for dining but we found the food to be a mixture of good and average. The staff were pleasant but they were all young and inexperienced, and it showed. We had a quokka join us for dinner which enhanced...More

Thank Brian K
Glen T, General Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hi Brian K; Thank you for your recent review of Riva restaurant. Im glad you enjoyed the ambience and the visi from the Quokka , I will speak with ny chef and restaurant manager regarding your feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back to riva...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017

One of my highlights staying at Karma Rottnest was the wonderful buffet breakfast. A wide range of choices; hot buffet, fruits, yogurts, toast and cereals. A nice extra touch was having hot cross buns over the Easter weekend! All staff were very polite and helpful....More

Thank Amy B
Glen T, General Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi Amy B; Thank you for your review of our Breakfast at Karma Rottnest ,We are glad that you enjoyed this as we believe it is vital to have a good start to your day before exploring the island . Looking forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 12 April 2017

First time at Rottnest and stayed at the lodge a nice location. Dined at the in house restaurant Riva. Had a wonderful evening and meal which was oysters followed by a wood fire pizza then a couple of tasty cocktails in the courthouse bar. This...More

Thank MrT2468
Glen T, General Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Hi MrT468; Thank you for your recent review of Riva restaurant . Im glad that you enjoyed your evening and we look forward to welcoming you back to Karma Rottnest in the near future Regards Management

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Hello foodies, At Riva at the restaurant we in countered a serious problem. Cockroaches were everywhere. This is just the start, when we ask the staff for the manger he came over with attitude and said we can't kill the cockroaches with chemical because it...More

Thank oscarvdv
Glen T, Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Hi Oscar, Rottnest Island is an A-Class reserve with an abundance of wildlife to be found on the island. While this includes a huge variety of marine and bird life along with everyone's favourite marsupial the Quokka, this also includes some wildlife considered pests such...More

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We abandoned our food and wine before finishing because we were sat at a table near the pool wall which also happened to be home to at least 50 full grown (3-5cm) cockroaches. I'm surprised no other reviews and reported this. We had to leave...More

Thank AshFonty
Glen T, Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Hi Ash, Rottnest Island is an A-Class reserve with an abundance of wildlife to be found on the island. While this includes a huge variety of marine and bird life along with everyone's favourite marsupial the Quokka, this also includes some wildlife considered pests such...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rottnest Bakery
351 reviews
.08 km away
The Lane Cafe
90 reviews
.09 km away
Aristos
317 reviews
.30 km away
Hotel Rottnest Bar + Bistro
259 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rottnest Island Visitor Centre
387 reviews
.21 km away
The Basin
166 reviews
.75 km away
Rottnest Island Nature Reserve
82 reviews
.53 km away
Geordie Bay
79 reviews
1.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ritzbits
6 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Glen T | Property representative |
Hi louise; I have made a reservation for you at 1230 tomorrow Regards Management
0
Votes
Paul M
16 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Glen T | Property representative |
Dear Paul, Thank you for your message. Riva Restaurant is open for everyone and you are more than welcome to have dinner with us. We have your reservation booked for tomorrow, February 18th. What time would you like to... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rottnest Lodge, Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 5440, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Greater Perth  >  Cockburn  >  Rottnest Island
  • Phone Number: +61 8 9292 5161
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing