We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Smugglers' Den Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Trebellan, Cubert TR8 5PY, England
+44 1637 830209
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

566 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 565: English reviews
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Walked from our site at Perran sands down a long windy lane (a long narrow road) and found this amazing character pub opposite an idyllic campsite. Shame we were a day early for the beer & pie festival, However had a great experience. Lovely Friendly staff and great food. We had lamb, chickpea & chiritzo pies with peas in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank steveissy
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We booked early to get a table here for 10, the food was outstanding, the value was incredible and the service was first rate, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and as this isn't by any means our first trip I'm sure we will be back again soon!

Helpful?
Thank Simon M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was lovely hot and tasty.. we found this from a little trip adviser searching it was on our way back from a day in Newquay to Perranporth where we had been staying so though would drop in on bank holiday weekend (Sunday) on the off chance of getting a table fully expecting to be told there was at least... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim25Pugh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped by tonight at a moments notice and asked if they could fit us in .The staff were very accommodating and could fit us in as they had a two hour slot on a table , in between diners. The place was filling up quick which is always a great sign of a good place to eat. We had amazing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lornsy46
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We both had fish pie with fresh vegetables. Very nice and filling, good value. Only comment, in my opinion, the vegetables were a bit under done for my liking ..... I know it's the recommended way of eating veg to retain all the "goodness" but how I prefer veg, so didn't want to complain. Friendly owners and staff.

Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went as a group of 11 people to celebrate a birthday. We chose to eat in the bar as it is dog friendly. The food was really good, the service good and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is a great outside terrace with great views across the farmland, dunes and to the sea. It is reasonably priced... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula J
jason a, Owner at Smugglers' Den Inn, responded to this review

Very glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, venue, service and food! More 

Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited whilst on holiday in Cornwall it was very busy but we were lucky and seated straight away. The staff were friendly and quick to take our order the food did take quite some time to come but the waitress did apologise and we could see it was very very busy. However the food more than made up for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
jason a, Owner at Smugglers' Den Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your words of encouragement! More 

Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Family had an overall pleasant dinner but pate special was not and the whole plaice special seemed below minimum capture size, waiter cheerfully told me the plaice was very small so added some prawns...... I should have rejected it.... Other meals looked good.

Helpful?
Thank Avee101
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table at the smugglers' den and were told it would be number 10. When we arrived, the waitress realised number 10 was occupied so put us on a different table. It was very busy, and service was slow but when the food came out, it was hot and tasty. When it came to pudding, my dad found... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becky A
jason a, Owner at Smugglers' Den Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Sometimes things do not go according to plan when it is busy! Appreciate your understanding and very pleased that you enjoyed your food and will be back. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here as a group of 6 & 1 toddler for lunch. It was a sunny day so we sat outside. The food was excellent & it all arrived at the same time. The atmosphere was relaxed & we could have just sat there all day. The staff were friendly & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. Perhaps... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandTCryan
jason a, Owner at Smugglers' Den Inn, responded to this review

Your timing to visit was perfect! The decking and new patio with a refreshed beer garden and play area is next to none in fine weather! Don't be put off in not so good weather however, as inside has its own cosy charm. More 

Travellers who viewed Smugglers' Den Inn also viewed

 

Been to Smugglers' Den Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 9 - USD 26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Trebellan, Cubert TR8 5PY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Truro District  >  Cubert
  • Phone Number: +44 1637 830209

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Smugglers' Den Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Smugglers' Den Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?