We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smugglers' Den Inn

Trebellan, Cubert TR8 5PY, England
+44 1637 830209
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good23%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (44 reviews)
“pie” (23 reviews)
“steak” (33 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Trebellan, Cubert TR8 5PY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We were told this pub had good food, but it was very disappointing. The Mediterranean Board included pickled onions, not sure which part of the Med these were from. The sundried tomatoes were chewy. More disappointing was my burger. I realise it did not claim...More

Thank Lyn A
SmugglerCubert, Owner at Smugglers' Den Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We appreciate feedback but cannot understand why you did not think to mention it when you were here and when we could have done something about it? We do not have a Mediterranean Board on our menu. We do offer a Veggie Board that lists...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

It was the end of a busy week and my partner and I wanted a relaxed and cosy evening. As We've been here before, it was an obvious choice. I made the booking for 630pm. As we arrived we were greeted by a lovely female...More

1  Thank bigkop11
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Met with friends and chose from extensive menu. 3 of the party chose fish cakes which was on the specials menu!! They arrived and were absolutely tasteless. We were asked by the member of staff if everything was ok but he obviously wasn't prepared when...More

Thank lespenrose
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After walking from Holywell Beach to St. Agnes and inland to the old church remains we headed for the Smugglers Den Inn. What a charming old pub and restaurant. Lots of interesting memorabilia from a time long ago. We were warmly greeted by the young...More

Thank peterwV2022ZH
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been visiting this pub for years and it has never let us down. The pub itself is cosy the food excellent and the service friendly and inviting.

Thank 430PaulB
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited 3 times during our week's holiday in Holywell. Each visit superb, friendly attentive young staff and very good food. Especially surprised by the standard of the evening menu. Venison stew and blade of beef with horseradish mash were delicious! Dog friendly, cosy, warm...More

Thank clairebit
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Love this pub, and glad to see that it has a healthy amount of custom. Very nice food and still reasonably priced.

Thank MrsCsBobski
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We visited as a large group for a family birthday meal. We had a large room to ourselves that was decorated beautifully. As a group of over 30 we were all served efficiently by the friendly staff. Everyone enjoyed their meals which were fresh and...More

Thank NatalieM90
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Very characterful with lovely outdoor areas too. Food was lovely and service great! We had dinner as a couple with our two dogs and came back the next day with friends & family for a superb Sunday lunch! Thanks to the team!

Thank pennyal
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Another of our favourite places to eat when we’re in Cornwall. Always a cozy and welcoming atmosphere. A good sign is that it’s full of locals too. We had a vegetarian board and the seafood chowder. Both were delicious and large portions. Nice to see...More

Thank AndrewSarah51
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Highfields at Crantock
90 reviews
3.01 km away
Fairbank Hotel
157 reviews
3.26 km away
Hotel California
742 reviews
4.16 km away
Ravensbury Hotel
128 reviews
4.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cornish Mill and Bakehouse
10 reviews
1.10 km away
The Village Chip Shop
20 reviews
.94 km away
The Anvil
155 reviews
.84 km away
Nearby Attractions
Big Green Surf School
340 reviews
3.92 km away
Ticket to Ride Surf School
573 reviews
4.33 km away
Crantock Beach
679 reviews
3.97 km away
Perranporth Surf School
173 reviews
4.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jselwood
7 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from SmugglerCubert | Property representative |
During the summer holidays particularly and in the evenings it is a good idea to book unless you want to sit outside where there is decking, a beer garden and courtyards. If eating inside, please also request the dog... More
0
Votes
Julie P
30 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Helen B | Reviewed this property |
Yes this pub allows dogs in a certain area.
0
Votes
Joanne186460
26 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from 111philn | Reviewed this property |
Apologies not local so don't know
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 9 - USD 26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Trebellan, Cubert TR8 5PY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Truro District  >  Cubert
  • Phone Number: +44 1637 830209
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing