We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bugle Horn

Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8QP, England
+44 1296 747594
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good32%
  • Average18%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (31 reviews)
“rump steak” (7 reviews)
“sunday roast” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
12:00 pm - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8QP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 512 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

popped in for dinner with Mum and Dad last night, all 3 of us were enticed by the chicken & thyme pie and we were not disappointed! Generous portions and a wonderful crusty pastry top. We just about had room for pudding, which was also...More

Thank Joanna W
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

As a Coeliac I asked the staff if I could see their allergy book before ordering. Smart**** staff member refused and said he knew exactly what was safe on the menu and suggested I had the black pearl scallops starter. I ate it and felt...More

Thank Liz B
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

A group of friends went for lunch and felt we had an interesting selection of dishes. The service was efficient and food tasty. An enjoyable visit

Thank philippamarsh
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for the lovely 5* rating Philippa!

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Just been with my husband for an afternoon lunch and I was so disappointed! Obviously the management has changed recently and the standard this place had, it s no more.The service was very very slow and a young boy waiter was also rude. I ve...More

Thank maddy b
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Maddy, Thank you for your review. I would like to discuss this further with you, please could you email me at buglehornhartwell@vintageinn.co.uk so that I can get a better understanding of your visit. Many Thanks, Aarron

Reviewed 1 week ago

A group of 25 , pre ordered food after a walk. No space to all sit near each other, food very dis-organised and several gave up altogether. A disappointment for all especially our organiser who had made 2 visits to check arrangements. Treated badly all...More

Thank Jane L
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Jane, Thank you for your review. We spoke with a gentleman who visited us 2 weeks prior to your visit who had a look around and was advised of the possible searing arrangements. I apologise you were not satisfied with this. we hope you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having dined here 2 years ago and had fantastic food, we were very disappointed this time. All 4 of us had the roast dinner and as they could see by what was left on the plates, it was not the best. The beef was so...More

Thank oneof2
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Evening, I am saddened to hear you were not satisfied with your visit and your issues were not resolved on the day. If you would be so kind, please could you email me at buglehornhartwell@vintageinn.co.uk so that we can discuss this further. Many Thanks,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having just moved to the area, we decided to explore the local pubs. Our first stop being the Bugle Horn, it's a nice pub, the beer was good and the food portions generous. We enjoyed our night there, left well fed and will return.

Thank Philip G
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Philip! Thank you for the great review you've left us! we look forward to having you back with us soon Bugle Horn

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've eaten here numerous times in the past and the food has been good. My pizza last time I came was lovely, but lately it's been a bit hit and miss. Today, at lunch time the service was good, we were quickly served with drinks...More

Thank Melanie S
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Melanie, Thank you for your review! we apologise for the inconvenience of the kitchen fire, and our chef's off day! your next visit with us will comprise of a full menu due to our equipment being fixed and a chef with his head screwed...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I met a group of friends on Friday evening and the bar service was dreadful. I have known this pub for ten years and the bar service has always been bad. There is a real problem in using staff to service tables and the bar...More

Thank Peter G
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Peter Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear you had to wait for a drink at the bar on Friday, we do try to serve each and every guest within a couple of minutes, Please don't hesitate to contact us to discuss...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate at the Bugle Horn on a Saturday lunchtime. This is a pub that really wants to a restaurant, not quite achieving either. We had to find our own menu's and order at the bar. Like a pub. The bar was small and not...More

Thank Thargon
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

good afternoon, Thank you for your review, we have replied directly to you via email. Many Thanks, Bugle Horn

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Jeera
91 reviews
.99 km away
Hartwell House
264 reviews
.45 km away
New York Deli
69 reviews
2.85 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hartwell House Spa
66 reviews
.46 km away
The Bell - Stoke Mandeville
28 reviews
3.80 km away
Orchard View Farm
75 reviews
5.19 km away
The Bucks Goat Centre
172 reviews
4.63 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bugle Horn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8QP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Aylesbury Vale  >  Aylesbury  >  Hartwell
  • Phone Number: +44 1296 747594
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Bugle Horn offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing