We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


5 Schoeman Street, De Rust 6651, South Africa
+27 44 241 2150
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good21%
  • Average12%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“breakfast” (4 reviews)
“pizza” (9 reviews)
“chicken” (2 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 am - 8:00 pm Hours
Pizza, International, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
5 Schoeman Street, De Rust 6651, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

What a nightmare this place is. Waited over 2 hours for 3 pizzas and still no food! After asking and was promised it will be done in 15min we waited patiently for another 30min but nothing. Decided to leave and pay for the drinks we...More

3  Thank melissa e
Reviewed 2 days ago

Great food and excellent service... One of these would have been nice. Waiter seemed distracted and not really willing to take our order. From previous experience, we expected the service to be slow and they didn't disappoint. Evening was topped of with one of the...More

2  Thank Pieter N
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Waitress was nowhere to be found and when actually at the table, irritated to serve us. Got orders wrong, brought pizza without the additional toppings ordered. Food was very average and to end the nightmare, people fought at the cashier! Boxing in De Rust...

2  Thank Chris V
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good value and huge portions. Double hake fillets a must. Service just a bit slow. Staff very friendly

Thank peterhall899
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

My fiance and myself stopped for a bite to eat here and the staff were so sweet and friendly as well as the owners. The homemade burgers and onion rings are delicious as well as their pizzas,I'm definitely coming back to try more from their...More

Thank goncalvesdaniella48
Andrew R, General Manager at Herries, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review, please come again soon..

Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We would highly recommend avoiding this pub. It took two and a half hours to finally get our meals and then the food was very ordinary. We only waited because there were no other options open and we had no food with us. One order...More

Thank jill616
Andrew R, Manager at Herries, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Hello, please accept our apology for your bad experience, please could you send me the date and estimated time that you were here so I can check CCTV footage to confirm you actually waited 2 and a half hours as this would be a first...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018

We have lived in De Rust for 4 months. We stopped going to Herrie se Plek after 10 days. The staff are rude, unhelpful, and generally make one feel it's best not to enter upon the premises. After being treated this way on 3 seperate...More

Thank peterandmargret2018
Andrew R, Manager at Herries, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Hello, please could you supply me with a date that you were here as I would like to check CCTV footage to confirm you were actually here as every client and local knows that the owner Minnie is extremely outgoing and friendly, I see you...More

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We visited Herries on recommendation from our Guest House as it was also the only dinner option available in the village. It would be nice to have at least another option especially during the holiday period. Looks like pizza is their speciality. My hubby had...More

Thank MoccaJava
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

OK, the stars are moving up and I'm very happy to say that I saw great improvements from last years visit. This will become an annual weekend and the annual Friday night dinner spot. This year we were a group of 8 and except for...More

Thank Jacques H
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Please send your chef to steak prep school,well waisted R600,waitress noticed we dod not eat much of the steak,did not even ask if something aint good,not imprezzed at all.

Thank Johan S
Andrew R, Manager at Herries, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Hello, We are sorry that your steak was not good, please advise what was wrong with it so I can rectify this, Warm Regards Herries On Route 62

Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Hlangana Lodge
579 reviews
32.25 km away
Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
207 reviews
32.36 km away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
161 reviews
32.65 km away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
23 reviews
33.03 km away
Nearby Restaurants
76 reviews
.10 km away
Village Trading Post
123 reviews
.48 km away
1965 Restaurant
6 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Meiringspoort Pass
120 reviews
.22 km away
Meiringspoort Waterfall
146 reviews
8.90 km away
The Cango Caves
3,572 reviews
31.85 km away
Doornkraal Padstal
17 reviews
10.69 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Herries staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
8:00 am - 7:00 pm
7:00 am - 8:00 pm
7:00 am - 8:00 pm
7:00 am - 8:00 pm
7:00 am - 8:00 pm
7:00 am - 8:00 pm
7:00 am - 8:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Schoeman Street, De Rust 6651, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  De Rust
  • Phone Number: +27 44 241 2150
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing