We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Stone Kitchen

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bovlei Road | Bovlei Division Road, Wellington 7655, South Africa
+27 21 873 6770
Website
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying at Dunstone Country House and enjoyed four breakfasts and three dinners. The breakfasts were very good with a nice choice and fresh produce well served, sometimes in the winery if the wind was blowing and otherwise in the attractive garden. The dinners were also very good with a reasonable choice complemented by Dunstone wines but suggest the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
DunstoneEstate, Owner at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed our little Bistro. We do normally have a 7 day menu for dinners, but I think we had had so many requests for certain dishes during that week that the menus got a bit mixed up and hence they got repeated, I do apologies for that. Guest are more than... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Perfect venue for children outside playground. A beautiful mountain backdrop with seating under the trees. The omelettes are fluffy and delicious with 3 filling option. A perfect venue for breakfast!

Helpful?
Thank Mlambros42
DunstoneEstate, Manager at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review of our bistro, I am happy that you enjoyed your meals and the surrounding. We hope that next time you will have lunch at our bistro. Kindest Regards Dunstone Team More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
184 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017

We made a reservation for breakfast and enjoyed every minute of our visit. Small but peaceful seating area outside and the service and food was very good. Freshly prepared croissants are a lovely treat. Child friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank mcp19752014
DunstoneEstate, Manager at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast our croissaints are indeed freshly baked on order next time try our chocolate croissaints. We have just extended our kiddies playarea. Kindest regards Dunstone Team More 

Lemvig, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

This is such a cute place to have some lunch. Especially if you have children! There's a huge playground and a hundred different things for them to do whilst you can sit under the guava trees and enjoy the view of your child playing while having a cup of coffee. Very friendly staff, the food was really nice. We are... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohannaGagel
DunstoneEstate, Manager at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Dear JohannaGagel We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back at the Stone Kitchen. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant a number of times for breakfast and lunch for the kids playarea. Service is absolutely shockingly appalling. They will ever see us again! Every time is the same Poor service. Get some better people to work there don't bother running a restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank loftynmel
DunstoneEstate, Owner at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

It is so sad to read your review, we have so many happy guests and so many happy returning to The Stone Kitchen, I have no idea why on each and every visit you were so appalled. I also find its disheartening that you were unable to tell the owner or the manager of this appalling service face to face... More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

Exceptionally hot when we were there for lunch, but the meal was okay and the staff very accommodating in organising some salads for us for our evening braai at the Manor House.... Unfortunately what we ordered - potato wedges turned out to be fairly burnt 'chips'. Breakfast was very disjointed as the young girl forgot the toast and the butter... More 

Helpful?
Thank irenemaclean
DunstoneEstate, Manager at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for highlighting the fact that the waiter forgot your condiments. In high season we have to employ casual staff and sometimes they do not get it right we have offered training so that they can be on par. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and so sorry... More 

UAE
Level Contributor
183 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

Lovely breakfast with wide selection served on outside terrace - weather permitting. Very efficient and friendly staff. Play area for children outside available. Belly pigs and horses nearby - very homely atmosphere. Dinner is pre-selected choices which is fine. Very cozy atmosphere inside restaurant/wine cellar- food was good - majority at our table had the lamb cutlets. Well cooked and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sTcO
DunstoneEstate, Manager at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Dear Stco Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Stone kitchen. Our play area and farm animals enjoy the attention from all our little guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals and we wish to welcome you back to our estate when you are in the area again.... More 

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017

A lovely spot in the Bovlei valley, this is a nice spot for lunch, particularly with children as there is a nice play area. Food was very nice - I had a nice lamb burger with some excellent Dunstone Shiraz. Worth another visit when in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Dave H
DunstoneEstate, Manager at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review we are glad that you enjoyed your time at our Bistro. Our kiddies playarea has recently been extended which makes it a joy for our younger patrons. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kindest Regards Dunstone Team More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

My husband, myself and our two little boys wanted to have a lazy relaxed lunch at the Stone Kitchen (at the recommendation of a few people). We were given a choice of two tables and chose one closer to the kids play area. After settling in with strollers and diaper bags and bottles we sat there for 30 minutes being... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizma R
DunstoneEstate, Manager at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant. I am so sorry about your terrible experience at Dunstone it is unacceptable. We really do try to make everyone’s experience a good one and everyone works so hard in all aspects to do that. In high season we employ casual staff we have addressed the issue... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

It was a pleasant surprise after a long drive with a 2 yr old and a 10 yr old. The place is very child and parent friendly. The picnic was tasty, generously presented and different to the hundreds of other picnics on offer. Very tasty vegetarian and meat options. Would recommend a little more cheese in the quiche and less... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris G

Travellers who viewed The Stone Kitchen also viewed

 
Wellington, Western Cape
Wellington, Western Cape
 

Been to The Stone Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 3 - USD 10
Cuisine
Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Takeout, Parking Available
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bovlei Road | Bovlei Division Road, Wellington 7655, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +27 21 873 6770
Description
An Owner managed family bistro offering simple homecooked dishes to enjoy with wines, dishes include The Stones Burger, filled baguettes and vineyard platters. A winery restaurant with amazing views of the majestic Haweka mountains, situated off the beaten track along a gravel road - a truly rural and homely dining experience.

On the lower slopes of their estate, in Dunstone Winery Abbi & Lee offer a casual light bites menu to enjoy with wine tasting.

The Stone Kitchen is Child-friendly offering kiddie snacks and a great play area.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Stone Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?