We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Massimo's

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
22 Main Road | Oakhurst Farm Park, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
+27 21 790 5648
Website
Today
00:00 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 00:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 278: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Best pizza i have ever had in my lifetime, restaurant was fully booked, lovey waiter, service good, lovely views. My favourite pizza in town

Helpful?
Thank Estelle D
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We managed to get a spot on a Friday evening as we were super excited to try the pizzas. It was a little hard to find but we are happy that we did not give up as we had an excellent dinner night ! :) From the moment we were sitted at out table we felt conpletely taken care of... More 

Helpful?
Thank vvpprr
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place for dinner. Not great views or scenery given the location but don't let that deter you. Great, original pizza and the service was fantastic. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank ahughes3466
massimos_hb, Owner at Massimo's, responded to this review

thanks for the lovely review, just a bit of info re our location though - during daylight hours, f you are sitting outside or at table 6, you get a magnificent view of the Oranjekloof reserve at the Hout Bay side of Table mountain. : https://www.tripadvisor.co.za/ShowUserReviews-g312659-d7187433-r341106321-Table_Mountain_Treks_and_Tours_Day_Adventures-Cape_Town_Central_Western_Cape.html Of course at night, and inside that's not the case! More 

Ko Chang, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Outstanding pizzas, everything else very good. Staff were friendly, helpful & accommodating. It does get very, very busy, you are well advised to book, turning up on-spec is not recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The customer service was engaging but maybe a tad forced. Not truly believable. Food was average, pizza very dry, pasta carbonara oily as the cream sauce had split. Tasty but not great. Unsure if I would return but not the worst....

Helpful?
2 Thank hospitalityworkers
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible! Was told that I have to wait 45 min for take away, and if customers come after me that booked, their food will have priority . I was told if I don't like it I must leave .

Helpful?
1 Thank 608henk
massimos_hb, Owner at Massimo's, responded to this review

At no time did we tell you to wait 45 minutes, the owner explained that you may wait 30+ minutes for your order, but that it was the ‘worst case scenario’, however, you kept rudely insisting on having an exact waiting time. There were take-away orders and table orders in the queue before you, did you expect to jump that... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of those restaurants when you have had a long day on the beach and you want something hardy to eat. You enter and you feel the ambience of a great little eater. Stick to the varied choices of pizza which are cooked in front of you. This is there speciality so best to stick with it. Service... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Raven S
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our family of four adults found this restaurant perfect for a fun birthday meal. Doesn't mean to say this spacious, romantically lit venue isn't ideal for a loving couple to dine as well. We all know the recipe for a good pizza by now - thin, wood fired crust with standard toppings. My daughter had the seafood pasta which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank handley3103
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here we are back again to the place with the best pizza anywhere I have ever eaten some anywhere in the world....welcoming hosts, woodturning pizza oven, sublime ingredients.....FABULOUS...and, for a small corkage you can bring your own wine. What I like is that Massimo's gives you the opportunity to buy pizza by the slice for R10 and once donations of... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank olive c
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Massimo's a few years ago and it was possibly the best pizza I had ever eaten. This time the food was OK, but the service was a bit slow and we had to chase drinks and were finally given the wrong bill. Disappointed, as it was our first meal after a 20+ hour journey.

Helpful?
1 Thank rb2000

Travellers who viewed Massimo's also viewed

 

Been to Massimo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 22:00
Monday
00:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
00:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
00:00 - 22:00
Thursday
00:00 - 22:00
Friday
00:00 - 22:00
Saturday
00:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22 Main Road | Oakhurst Farm Park, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Hout Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 790 5648
Description
Open every day of the week for lunch & dinner.We make amazing pizza plus daily specials, using only the best, mainly locally sourced ingredients, and the owners are always present to ensure quality & consistency. Check us out on google for more information

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Massimo's and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Massimo's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?