We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
R45 Main Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly The Restaurant in the Vines)
+27 21 876 2129
Website
Today
11:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 16:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at Rickety Bridge for 5 nights and eat in the restaurant 3 times. Once as couple and twice as part of a group. On all 3 occasions the food and service was first class. The food was fresh and well presented. The staff always friendly and there is a good vibe about the place. Great choice of wines... More 

Helpful?
Thank aldn58
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
442 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a large party and sat outside on a beautiful day. It would be too lengthy to go into detail. Suffice to say that every aspect was superb : the welcome, the excellent service, the great food and delicious wine. We had SUCH a great time that we were loth to leave. I will certainly return.

Helpful?
Thank georgestof
CassieJR, Manager at Paulina's, responded to this review

I am so happy that you enjoyed your time with us so much. It is always so exciting for the staff to receive such positive reviews. We will see you again soon Regards Cassie More 

Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently visited Paulina's for the first time for a family Sunday lunch. It was easy to book by telephone and we got a table at relatively short notice. The interior of the restaurant is beautiful and they have a nice veranda with beautiful views of the vineyards and mountains. The service was excellent and the staff helpful and friendly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank PaarlRock
CassieJR, Manager at Paulina's, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to review Paulina's I appreciate your comments which we take very seriously when looking at how we can improve our guest experience. I do hope you will return and give us another try. Kind regrads Cassie More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Had a late lunch here on the shady terrace with a wonderful view over the vineyard and surrounding countryside. Mains and pudding all delicious, every part cooked perfectly. Service really friendly too.

Helpful?
Thank deepbluesea2012
CassieJR, Manager at Paulina's, responded to this review

Good Morning I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the lunch at Paulina's. THank you for the great review. Regards Cassie More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We've been here a few times, and it's never disappointed. We got squeezed in on a Sunday at lunch when phoning ahead, and the food and service were great. They didn't even try and sell us up on the wine!

Helpful?
Thank ctjeanne
CassieJR, Manager at Paulina's, responded to this review

Good Morning It is really nice to hear from our regular visitors. Thank you for choosing Paulina's, we hope to see you again for lunch. Regards Cassie More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We visited for a birthday treat. The food was great as was the wine. Although we had made a reservation it wasn't that busy but we were able to choose where we sat. On the whole the staff were polite but not over friendly.

Helpful?
Thank CheshireSunshine
CassieJR, Owner at Paulina's, responded to this review

I am delighted you enjoyed the birthday Lunch at Paulina's It is very rewarding for the staff to receive these reviews. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Regards Cassie More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this restaurant. Wines, food and service was excellent. We had a tasting platter, with 3 different main dishes paired with their wines. They also have a beautiful wine tasting area. I will be back to try a few more wines.

Helpful?
Thank Celeste v
CassieJR, Owner at Paulina's, responded to this review

Good morning Celeste I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the estate as well as the lunch at Paulina's We look forwrd to seeing you again soon Kind regards Cassie More 

Nice, France
Level Contributor
377 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We came for lunch and had a warm welcome from Cassie and her team. Lunch was a 10/10 experience. The staff were very proactive even though the restaurant was busy. First we were offered crispy wafer thins with 3 dip choices - hummus, tapenade or cream cheese flavoured with chilli. This helped us whilst we decided what to choose. Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank HudsonS16
CassieJR, Manager at Paulina's, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you so much for the glowing review of Paulina's I am more than happy that you have enjoyed your time with us. From myself and all of my staff we wish you compliments of the seaon and hope to see you again in the near future Cassie More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We pre booked this restaurant on one of the wine tram's route but it was unnecessary as it was unfortunately empty when we visited. The food was average and nothing inspiring, but the view from the window was spectacular. The decor and service was good though.

Helpful?
Thank Reiselustig58
CassieJR, Manager at Paulina's, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to review Paulina's restaurant. I am delighted you enjoyed your time on the estate. Our summer menu is just about to be released and we hope you will come along and sample some of our dishes. My kind regards Cassie Roche More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

while enjoying the wine tram route, we stopped for lunch, excellent food, friendly efficient service and well priced

Helpful?
Thank john s
CassieJR, Manager at Paulina's, responded to this review

Good morning I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us. We do hope you will visit again soon Kind Regards Cassie Roche More 

Travellers who viewed Paulina's also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Paulina's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 17
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 16:00
Monday
11:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 16:00
Thursday
11:00 - 16:00
Friday
11:00 - 16:00
Saturday
11:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: R45 Main Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly The Restaurant in the Vines)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Franschhoek
  • Phone Number: +27 21 876 2129
Description
Take a seat overlooking the Rickety Bridge vineyards. Sip a glassful of crisp estate wine and enjoy a delicious lunch while drinking in the splendour of the magnificent surroundings. Every creation from our team of talented chefs is given extra zest by the striking beauty of the setting and stunning views of the Franschhoek mountains.Rickety Bridge is an enchanting Franschhoek wine estate that earns its place in the Cape’s cuisine capital. Franschhoek is home to some of the best restaurants in South Africa.The Restaurant in the Vines has made way for Paulina’s, named in honour of the original owner of the property in 1797, Paulina de Villiers.In keeping with current culinary trends, the restaurant features a variety of half and full portions of its exciting bistro style menu, allowing diners the opportunity to sample and share dishes.Executive chef Melissa Bruyns (previously at Haute Cabriere and Westin Grand) explains: “the half portions are larger than a conventional tapas serving, so ideal for sharing, or having as a starter. I believe in using fresh seasonal ingredients, and letting them speak for themselves, beautifully prepared and presented, but without over-elaboration. We have planted a herb and vegetable garden on Rickety Bridge to ensure that I have plenty to work with”

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Paulina's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?