We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Petite Ferme

Pass Road | La Petite Ferme, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 876 3016
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (489 reviews)
“rabbit” (39 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm Hours
African, French, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Pass Road | La Petite Ferme, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We know this restaurant well having been visiting every year for at least ten years. Very surprised to find it half empty of a Friday lunchtime.Even more surprised at the heavy lunchtime offers on the menu. Tried the trout which was very dry. The thick...More

Thank Harrydomingo
Reviewed yesterday

Two couples met at La Petite Dauphine for lunch during our recent holidays in South Africa. The location and setting of this restaurant / guest house / hotel is superb and this fact is a great start to the dining experience. We dined outside but...More

Thank Willsy13
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Most wonderful location but sadly food not exciting and small menu. Very disappointed by the decision not to be able to take glasses or cups out on the grass. Why??

Thank Hickers50
Reviewed 5 days ago

This was another one of those recommendations which we were told not to miss, and so we booked well in advance. However, once we’d booked we started to read some dodgy reviews which worried us, I think there is a new management and this isn’t...More

Thank Magglington
Dylan v, Manager at La Petite Ferme, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Magglinton Such a thoughtful response with some constructive comments which we will surely take note of and thank you for sharing the wonderful experience you had at La Petite Ferme, once it got going. Our tables are allocated to accommodate all our guests and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The service and setting are superb. The meals are well presented, however, we found their prices to be very expensive. I did not enjoy my meal at all. I found it dry and tasteless. I certainly will not be returning .More

Thank Peter D
Dylan v, Manager at La Petite Ferme, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Peter D It bothers us that you did not enjoy your meal and that no mention is made of your distaste for your food to a manager on duty who could have heard your issue at the time and made the best effort to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I felt compelled to leave a review as I cannot understand some of the negative reviews for this restaurant. Our party of four had an amazing lunch seated by the large windows on the veranda looking out over the stunning scenery around Franshhoek. Service was...More

Thank Helen866
Dylan v, Manager at La Petite Ferme, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Helen886 We are delighted that you had an amazing lunch at La Petite Ferme. Delicious food served by our professional & friendly team is what we strive to do each day while spoiling our guests. The beautiful view over Franschhoek valley is a feature...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The view is pretty nice and also the food. But i will say it's little overrated and the service could have been better. But still i think you should take a lunch here.More

Thank MattiasGun
Dylan v, Manager at La Petite Ferme, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear MattiasGun We appreciate that you have taken the time to leave an honest review. Glad you enjoyed the food but its a pity the service did not live up to the rest of the experience. La Petite Ferme is a busy restaurant but our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We took our family of 6 to this restaurant for lunch and we were bitterly disappointed. The service was terrible, the menu very limited and exceedingly expensive. We had such good memories of this establishment from our last visit there many years ago, but it...More

Thank sandywrig
Dylan v, Manager at La Petite Ferme, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear sandywrig Its always tough to respond to a negative experience but I'm sure it was just as much of a struggle to find some good in your visit to our restaurant. Clearly we did not live up to your expectations and we are truly...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose to stay here so that we could eat at la Petite Ferme. Stunning views and lovely food. The staff were very helpful . They were happy for my husband and I to share the starter and dessert Loved watching the peacocks ,they roost...More

Thank sheilah85
Dylan v, Manager at La Petite Ferme, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Sheilah85 We appreciate the kind review of your stay and experience in our restaurant. Such majestic creatures those peacocks and they add to the natural setting on our property. Glad we could satisfy all the touch points to what sounds like a wonderful visit....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Really not what it used to be. the new owners are now catering for the mass market of coaches and tours and it shows in everything they do from their welcome, to their food and services. There are many more nicer place to eat in...More

1  Thank pag1234
Dylan v, Manager at La Petite Ferme, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear pag1234 We appreciate all reviews, even ones which are tough to digest. La Petite Ferme is not what is used to be, which was a more rustic country style cuisine. We have kept to our heritage of country style food but refined the plating...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Franschhoek
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
1,242 reviews
1.30 km away
Leeu House
206 reviews
1.48 km away
Le Quartier Francais
567 reviews
1.58 km away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
81 reviews
1.72 km away
Nearby Restaurants
La Petite Colombe
213 reviews
1.54 km away
Le Coin Francais
127 reviews
1.56 km away
Orangerie at Le Lude
180 reviews
1.10 km away
Foliage Restaurant
1,247 reviews
1.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mont Rochelle Nature Reserve
115 reviews
.98 km away
Haute Cabriere
279 reviews
.46 km away
Huguenot Memorial Museum
375 reviews
1.22 km away
The Huguenot Memorial Monument
246 reviews
1.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
27 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from OHClan | Reviewed this property |
There are not two restaurants but there is an indoor and outdoor area - I would suspect this is it!
26 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from carolbhickman | Reviewed this property |
Hello, I am afraid that I have left the area now, and can only suggest looking on Google, but I am sure if you just address anything to La Petit Ferme, Franschoek, South .Africa, it will get there
20 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MikeGrahamHermanus | Reviewed this property |
Absolutely no idea. Try phoning the restaurant.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 12 - USD 20
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Open Hours
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pass Road | La Petite Ferme, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Franschhoek
  • Phone Number: +27 21 876 3016
  • E-mail
Country style cuisine Restaurant. Boutique Hotel & Vineyard. Welcoming you to an authentic experience, with fresh local ingredients served by our friendly & professional team.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Save your favourites!
Keep track of your top restaurant finds.
Save now