We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Forest Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
German, Austrian, European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
249 US Highway 206, Stanhope, NJ 07874-3294 (Exit 25 off Route 80)
+1 973-347-3344
Website
Today
13:00 - 20:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 13:00 - 20:00
Mon 17:00 - 22:00
Wed - Sat 17:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 171: English reviews
forty fort
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2015

We have been coming here for years. In the past it was always a special place to go. Mom is born in Germany, so for her The Black Forest is a bit of home. Four of us went there today for lunch. The food was awful! Goulash soup was all broth, the potato pancakes were see through thin and the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank mombis1313
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2015

My wife loves German food so I took her to lunch here. A fairly formal restaurant. Though we were very casual, I would recommend at least a polo shirt and khakis. Pros Extremely high quality Somewhat hard to find this elsewhere Clean Decor is unusual and nice Cons NOT cheap

Helpful?
Thank shartli
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Is there a better recommendation for a restaurant than to be able to say that you remember everything you enjoyed there 30 years ago? Our waitress tonight (name is Tania) worked there back then and told us that the restaurant is still owned by the same family!! We moved from NJ to Florida and were most happy to get the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank maryloustrain
Stanhope, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We have been eating here for years now and the service has never been better. The front-end staff was wonderful and the wait staff was friendly and attentive. We will definitely be back soon!

Helpful?
1 Thank D9890SAanonymous
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

My friends and I had a great time celebrating Oktoberfest last night. Our hostess, Angela, promptly seated us. Our waiter, Michael, was very knowledgeable with the items on the special menu. He helped us select the perfect amber lagers, and made great recommendations for appetizers and meals! The food was spectacular and cooked to perfection. The German maultaschen with fried... More 

Helpful?
Thank RON07860
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We fulfilled a many year wish when we visited the Black Forest Inn and we're darn glad we did. Everything about the visit was wunderbar. We both had the Sauerbraten which was the best we'd ever had. The red cabbage was outstanding as was the Balck Forest cake. You really feel like you are in the Black forest when entering... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ed M
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

We've been eating here several times a year for over 20 years and after today never again Lets start with the rude and obnoxious hostesses who said "i don't mean to be rude but you will need reservations for octoberfest or you wont get in the door " It was downhill from there The waiter came over and reeked of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank terrizuck
Barbara K, Manager at Black Forest Inn, responded to this review

Dear Terri, In writing my response something happened to my computer and I wasn't finished yet with my note. We were so upset to read your review. We are sure that you know quiet a bit about us because you started that you have been a frequent customer of ours for over 20 years. My family takes this very seriously... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Have driven by this restaurant several times when I lived in NJ, but never dined there. I like German food & family has been there but not myself. We were greeted at the door & seated promptly. Restaurant is set up in German decor with plenty to look at. Our server was Dina & she was very attentive to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank BobT784
hackettstown, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

Our favorite night to go is the Friday night buffet! We recently tried it for lunch as well and that was also excellent! We have been to other restaurants and have paid similar prices with just getting mediocre food, and we always come back to the Black forest and leave happy that our food is always delicious. We love the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
Level Contributor
1,356 reviews
574 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

Returning from Germany we did not get our desire for good bratwurst out of our system and found the Garden State was pretty thin on good German restaurants. We found this the best to date here. It has authentic decor and ambience, but wondered if it passed our "Brat (and Pretzel) Test." We intend to return soon which answers that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard C

Travellers who viewed Black Forest Inn also viewed

 
Netcong, Morris County
 

Been to Black Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 31 - USD 50
Cuisine
German, Austrian, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
13:00 - 20:00
Monday
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
17:00 - 22:00
Saturday
17:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 249 US Highway 206, Stanhope, NJ 07874-3294
    (Exit 25 off Route 80)
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Stanhope
  • Phone Number: +1 973-347-3344

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Black Forest Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Bridgewater

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Black Forest Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?