We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Benihana

840 Morris Tpke, Short Hills, NJ 07078-2696
+1 973-467-9550
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good40%
  • Average18%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (9 reviews)
“steak” (6 reviews)
“the managers” (2 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 am - 2:30 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
840 Morris Tpke, Short Hills, NJ 07078-2696
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 78 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Our chef had his underwear hanging out the back. It was a ghetto chef with no personality, just going through the motions, and the worst Benihana experience to date. Very few Asian people working there and the wait was long. Crowded, disappointed.

Thank Tracy L
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a 6:15 reservation for our group of 8. Arrived on time, after waiting in crowded and freezing cold lobby, we were finally seated at 7:05 without an apology or any comps. No management presence was noted at the host stand, just a few seriously...More

Thank globedecker
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I usually love the Short Hills Benihana, but I was very disappointed this time around; based on my experience and that of other reviewers, their service is falling apart. The waiting area was chaos and every party with a reservation, including ours, was seated 20...More

Thank Christopher E
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Out for a friends dinner. We were surprised to be in the middle of more than 6 children's birthday parties. It was like the Mc Donald's on steroids. The restaurant should have not accepted reservations outside those parties or at least should have warned us...More

Thank Grace I
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This Benihana location continues to go downhill. We used to look forward to a trip to Benihanas, but now, each yearly visit reminds us why we don't go there much anymore. If I do go, I will no longer order scallops or lobster as you...More

1  Thank Tina P
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Onion soup is total SALT. Maybe if one requests a low sodium meal, it would be possible to enjoy the food more. The chef is the main reason for coming here. Quite a nice show for the kids. Very loud with birthdays being celebrated all...More

Thank 1joanne-12
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We come here often as the kids really like it. Food is mediocre. The show is very nice. Service is mediocre. Space is tight. They try to jam in people ... sometimes squeezing in 1-2 extra chairs. And because it's busy they take every opportunity...More

1  Thank OSJ1965
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Years ago the portions were small and the food and ventilation were excellent. Now it is the exact opposite. My guess is that patrons complained that the portions were too small so Benihana made them enormous and, in order to offset the expense, now buys...More

Thank obbell2017
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

On behalf of our Benihana team, we would like to sincerely apologize for your negative visit with us. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

When I went to Benihana I thought I wouldn't like it because it's Japanese food. (I'm not a fan of Japanese and Chinese.) When we got there, there wasn't much parking. When we got inside, there were paintings, and bamboo. It only took about 5...More

1  Thank christianmU5213IY
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Real rating is "good". I can't rate them "average" because it's not your average eating experience. Add showmanship to consistently good food, particularly when you get a good chef and it's, well, a unique experience. Which makes it ideal for special occasions. Which is why...More

Thank Jim W
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Short Hills Hotels
Grand Summit Hotel
498 reviews
2.64 km away
Hilton Short Hills
1,112 reviews
3.20 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
123 reviews
4.29 km away
Clinton Manor Hotel Union
76 reviews
4.54 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Natale's Bakery
117 reviews
1.47 km away
Boxcar Bar and Grill
55 reviews
1.19 km away
Huntley Taverne
287 reviews
.87 km away
Tillies
29 reviews
1.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Reeves-Reed Arboretum
42 reviews
1.02 km away
Paper Mill Playhouse
205 reviews
2.45 km away
Twin Elephant Brewing Company
9 reviews
3.66 km away
Melovino Meadery
27 reviews
4.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Benihana staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 30 - USD 30
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 840 Morris Tpke, Short Hills, NJ 07078-2696
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Short Hills
  • Phone Number: +1 973-467-9550
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing