We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BG's Boathouse

191 Wentworth Rd, Rye NH, Portsmouth, NH 03801-5507
+1 603-431-1074
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good43%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steamers” (15 reviews)
“clams” (22 reviews)
“seafood” (41 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
191 Wentworth Rd, Rye NH, Portsmouth, NH 03801-5507
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

This was off the beaten path for us on the way home from a weekend getaway, but it sounded like it would be good, so we gave it a try. We were greeted by a very nice hostess who took us to a table immediately....More

Thank kv_8098
Jeff G, Owner at BG's Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us had a fantastic lunch during restaurant week! The clam chowder had plenty of clams & the seafood was fresh & delicious. One of us indulged in a smelt plate and another in jumbo shrimp. The restaurant week menu included a beverage &...More

Thank partrca
Jeff G, Owner at BG's Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were here on 3/22/18 just 7 days after opening for the 41st year, and it had been 15 years since we had been here last. Must say the menue was updated and all seafood from local vendors. Was not busy, but the peace and...More

Thank BARRY C
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We have had some great meals here, one mediocre, and this last one was terrible. I have to conclude that BG's has a major problem with delivering a consistently excellent product. Some days you get the best. We got something else. My mother's seafood chowder...More

2  Thank StarWeez
Reviewed 13 December 2017

nothing fancy, however, the staff is always pleasant, food is consistently good. Been going there for years, love eating at the bar, or outside if weather permits.

Thank Diane G
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Greasy, overpriced seafood. On picnic tables with paper plates and plastic forks and cups. Charge for soda refills (spent $6 on 2 1/2 cups of coke).

Thank Tony M
Jeff G, Owner at BG's Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

We fry in pure vegetable oil filtered daily and changed often. We don't have any picnic tables at our business. We don't charge for Soda refills.

Reviewed 18 October 2017

This a very good place for seafood. Dishes are plentiful, tasty, fresh, and priced right. Service is also good. We have eaten here a few times and it was always a good experience.

Thank jello692017
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Went for seafood. Had a lobster roll. It was plentiful but absolutely flavorless. French fries were poor. Great outside seating however.

Thank kneel126
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Eight of us were seated and served on a Friday evening by a terrific waitress...she was truly the bright spot in the evening. Market price on lobsters were higher than what we paid at other restaurants that week. A pricey and bland-tasting swordfish offering seemed...More

Thank Alan S
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Food was ok, clams were very gritty but the lobster was hot and fresh, husband has the lazy mans lobster and said it was good as well. Beer was cold. It's just not as good as I remembered. Great location though.

Thank Karen M
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Portsmouth
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1,553 reviews
1.59 km away
Quality Inn
208 reviews
2.55 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
539 reviews
2.71 km away
Pebble Cove
47 reviews
2.74 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Salt Kitchen & Bar
522 reviews
1.59 km away
Latitudes Restaurant
220 reviews
1.48 km away
Atlantic Grill
243 reviews
.85 km away
The Ice House
103 reviews
.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
Great Island Common
39 reviews
2.38 km away
Odiorne Point State Park
149 reviews
2.51 km away
Fort Stark State Historic Site
30 reviews
2.53 km away
Strawbery Banke Museum
929 reviews
2.58 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sandi J
28 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Kronberg | Reviewed this property |
Not sure. Hope the answer you directly.
-1
Votes
Stephanie S
18 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Jeff G | Property representative |
We have ample parking at the Restaurant and Across the Street for Our Customers.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 24
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 191 Wentworth Rd, Rye NH, Portsmouth, NH 03801-5507
  • Location: United States  >  New Hampshire (NH)  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +1 603-431-1074
  • E-mail
Description
"Where the Locals Go" - This family owned favorite has been preparing the freshest seafood on the seacoast for 40 years! Enjoy the beautiful water views of Sagamore Creek while dining on the 2 outdoor decks, in the dining room or in the Sagamore Pub. Come by boat as well! Open Thurs-Monday until Mother's Day. Open 7 days Mother's day - Labor Day. Open Thurs-Monday after Labor Day. We close for the Season October 21st and Reopen in March.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing