We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$10 - AU$35
CUISINES
Bar, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Sponsored by: Black Brewing Co

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Best Brewery / Distillery
1. Best Brewery / Distillery
"best brewery/distillery that we visited around this area"
BrendonP_1987
See reviews that mention Best Brewery / Distillery
2. Great service
2. Great service
"very knowledgeable about the beer and spirits range"
oztourists2014
See reviews that mention Great service
3. Awesome restaurant views
3. Awesome restaurant views
"Food was outstanding and kids meals are huge"
MangiMadness
See reviews that mention Awesome restaurant views
Reviews (436)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
206
121
47
27
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
206
121
47
27
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch pork belly pizza prawns great beer open fire overlooking the lake food was lovely margaret river gin beers venue tasting cider dam playground grounds
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited with a group of people. Though this place is surrounded by vineyards, the beer is amazing. I can also recommend the gin - definitely a great souvenir.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant Manager, Owner at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much Evelyn! We are very fortunate to be situated where we are and have talented people in place to make our products and experiences as good as they are. We're very glad you stopped by on your holiday and enjoyed your time...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 2 December 2023

The most important part….the beers……a great selection to choose from for the paddle. 6 tasters from 8 on tap. I was expecting a big range of Porters/stouts due to the name of the brewery, but there is a wide range of beers, including ginger beer....Really helpful bar guy made the decision easier. Great to sit by the lake and enjoy the tasting. This place has obviously invested heavily and it shows. Takeaway packs were reasonably priced.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant Manager, Owner at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

You've got great taste, Richard! We're very fortunate to have some award winning beers on tap lately with our famous Bao Bao Milk Stout being top of that list. We take great pride in our core range and our seasonal 'Bad Boy Imperial Stout' that...More

Reviewed 18 February 2024

Botanik at Black Brewing Co. was a highly anticipated event for us and proved to be as awesome as I’d imagined. We did arrive very at 3:40pm probably a bit to early as the event didn’t really kick off until about 5:30pm. We had travelled...from 3.5 hours North for this event so thought we’d make the most of it and have a nice meal and a few drinks to start. The only thing was the staff seemed to be all backpackers which where under trained and had no real idea about anything including the shrunken menu due to the event. We where getting sent from one side of the bar to the other back and forth from one staff member to another. We pretty much just had to figure things out for ourselves. Although there was one stand out staff member there by the name of Felix who was on the ball and was in the know about all things including local history & culture which was extremely refreshing to witness after getting the run around by the under trained backpacker staff. If this guy isn’t already the team leader than he need to be! I’ve nothing at all against backpackers as I was one for years but if your gonna work abroad please take pride in the privileged jobs you receive along the way. Despite the awkward start to the evening the event was on point and the location was outstanding! We will be returning to Black Brewing Co. in the future to try the full menus as I’ve heard only great thing about it. It was just a little disappointing the fantastic menu wasn’t there the afternoon we visited. The menus we experienced only started at 4:30pm and included pizza & chips.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Black Brewing Co, Other at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the event and our beautiful venue. We are sorry about the issues experienced at the beginning of the event. This is our very first one...More

Reviewed 12 February 2024

Wow!!! Absolutely blown away by the food, service and venue. I have been here for lunch before however was there for a 50th this time. Food was hot and delicious. Stand out was the Crispy Chicken with Bang Bang sauce (GF too) We were worried...that our dedicated area was outside and it would be too hot on a 38c day but we shouldn’t have. A big fan was made available to us but the beautiful breeze and covered verandah was all we needed. Drinks flowed all day and the bar staff were very accommodating and friendly. Highly recommend this place for your next casual visit or your function.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant Manager, Owner at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Thanks heaps for your kind words! We're very lucky to be situated where we are and to have our kitchen staff produce such good food. You'll have to bring a big group back sometime, we'd love to look after you.

Reviewed 12 February 2024 via mobile

The service and quality of food was excellent. The staff were friendly and attentive despite the venue being very busy. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Recommend to anyone seeking a fresh ale and a great bite to eat.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant Manager, Owner at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Hey Justin, We take great pride in our team and super glad you enjoyed your time with us. Look forward to your return!

Reviewed 12 February 2024

This location is one of the best in the south west! Spectacular venue. We had lunch on the deck with friends and the food was casual ( our choice) and very delicious. The gin drinks were a highlight. The boys loved the beer selection which...is brewed on site.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant Manager, Owner at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Hey Fiona, thanks heaps for your stop in! We're glad you all enjoyed yourself on your stay and look forward to you coming back!

Reviewed 18 January 2024 via mobile

Myself and my partner visited on Thursday 18th January. Our greeting was excellent and the young server was very polite, unfortunately that was the only good point of our experience. We ordered the burger and fried chicken. Upon arriving, in around 5 minutes which anyone...who works with food will know, this burger was clearly not cooked fresh. Slicing the burger in half, I was more than disappointed to find the burger was completely raw in the middle, which resembled a beef tartar more than a beef burger. We did share with the wait staff and the burger was replaced. My partners chicken was extremely bland when eaten without the sauce. We informed the lovely server again and she went and asked her “ supervisor “, she came and said that the dish could not be changed as it was our preference that we didn’t like it. Really? I then asked for the Supervisor who arrived at the table, tall guy with a bald head. Firstly, this guy needs a lesson in customer service. Atrocious to say the least. Not even an apology. He debated that it was our fault we didn’t like it and wouldn’t be replacing it. Did he really think we wanted to eat bland and under seasoned chicken? Certainly lacking in empathy and emotional intelligence. We weren’t looking for any compensation, just a nicer tasting dish! Overall the venue is dirty and not well presented and clearly not following HACCAP standards when it comes to meat temperatures. If your in the area avoid this place!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Black Brewing Co, Other at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

Hi Steve, thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are extremely dissapointed to hear about your experience during your last visit and we would like to investigate this situation further so we can address it properly. We would appreciate if you could email us...More

Reviewed 22 December 2023

Very disappointing, the chips were very overcooked very dry and cold, definitely the worst chips I have ever had in my life, the fish batter was overcooked will never go back there againMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Black Brewing Co, Other at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Hi Robert, we are sorry to hear about your recent experience. We always encourage our guests to let us know if they are not happy with any aspect during their visit, as we can fix the issue straight away. Our fish and chips are one...More

Reviewed 25 October 2023 via mobile

We've been to Black Brewery on many occasions but this time it wasn't nearly as busy.  It was winter and the week prior to kids holidays and we were assured that it would be overflowing next week.  Good for us as we easily got a...verandah seat and enjoyed some drinks. Staff were fantastic and very friendly.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Black Brewing Co, Other at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Hi Chizzel, thanks for sharing your review :) We are happy to know you enjoyed the time with us! Winter are always pretty chill down here, as most people choose warmer destinations (can't blame them really). As you said, is a very good time to...More

Reviewed 19 October 2023

Our group ate pizzas, tried every topping and they were all delicious… It was a beautiful warm afternoon but we were able to sit outside under shelter out of sun and still enjoy the gardens and lake area

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Black Brewing Co, Other at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Hi! Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback! We are happy to know you had such a good time and we look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Reviewed 27 September 2023 via mobile

We are fans of the Gin and Beer here so have been to the cellar door a number of times to purchase. Yesterday we came for lunch for my husbands birthday, a Tuesday on the school holidays the place was about 20% full. It’s all...looking very tired. The decking at the entrance is noticeably warped and becoming a trip hazard. Ordered food and drink at the bar and waited, and waited, and waited. 45 minutes later the food started coming out in dribs and drabs, interestingly the kids meal (a platter of ham, bread and cut fruit/veg) was last to arrive over an hour after we ordered. When I enquired politely that we were still waiting on some of our food the staff member replied tersely “ it’s coming”. The veggies were not freshly cut and had obviously been sitting around a while so I’m not sure why it took so long. Another hapless staff member aimlessly wandering around asked us twice if we ordered wings (we did not), then proceeded to try to deliver them to our table (she was also the one who took our order). The kids were so hungry at this point we should have just said yes. The food was good quality when it finally did arrive. The views from the deck over the lake are spectacular and the kids enjoyed the playground and island. Tasting room was closed with a sign directing tasting to the bar, but the staff on the bar were so slow and disengaged we didn’t bother. We won’t be returning.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Black Brewing Co, Other at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry to hear your last experience was not up to expectations and we would like to apologize for it. We had an unexpected reduction in our team on the last weeks before this...More

Reviewed 3 September 2023

Nice beer, food average at best. Ordered fish and chips. Old recycled salad from previous meal, cold cheap chips and soggy cold fish. Pretty embarrassing for the “chef”.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Black Brewing Co, Marketing at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2023

Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear your latest visit didn't meet your expectations. We would like to express that we would never re-use any ingredient, that would be absolutely unacceptable. All our menu dishes...More

Reviewed 16 May 2023

its been a while since we’ve visited Black brewery, so we decided to go for Mother’s Day lunch. The open fire created a really warm welcoming atmospher, the staff were all welcoming and attentive and the food from entree through to dessert was everything we...had wished for and more. 10/10 guys, keep up the great workMore

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2023

What a disappointment lunch was. The beef burger was very ordinary and the chicken wings not well cooked. I didn’t get the impression that the staff were that engaged either. Very disappointing experienceMore

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Black Brewing, Marketing at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2023

Hi, we are sorry to hear about your last experience with us. First of all we would like to apologize, even though both the Beef Burger and the Chicken Wings are among our most popular and loved dishes, we understand that sometimes things might not...More

Reviewed 18 April 2023

Big, bold building. Very fancy for a country style brewery based business. Luckily it wasn’t busy, so we just walked in and grabbed a table. Very nice beer and 3 great pizzas. A lot of thought and effort went into the pizzas and it showed,...really nice. We had a carbonara pizza, a Mexican pizza and a pepperoni pizza. The carbonara and Mexican were unusual, but much better than we expected. Expertly made. Not the cheapest place we have been on our holiday, but probably the best. Will defiantly go again when we are in town.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joaquín Robredo, Marketing at Black Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2023

Hi Mikel, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! We are really happy to see how much you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to your return. Enjoy the rest of your holidays. Cheers!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Smiths Beach Resort
470 reviews
9.96 km away
Edge of the Forest Motel
602 reviews
21.68 km away
Adamson's Riverside Accommodation
221 reviews
22.13 km away
Margaret River Hotel
440 reviews
22.71 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Amelia Park Restaurant
723 reviews
3.16 km away
Wills Domain
647 reviews
4.04 km away
Maison Lassiaille
37 reviews
7.69 km away
Rustico At Hay Shed Hill
1,200 reviews
6.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Stormflower Vineyard
33 reviews
.46 km away
Domaine Naturaliste
17 reviews
1.38 km away
Cherubino Wines
29 reviews
.87 km away
Taste The South Tours
309 reviews
.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
pamelamL8693KV
2 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from pamelamL8693KV |
Its hard to get through via phone.
0
Votes
Coulda
3 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from 544tarynd | Reviewed this property |
There is a good playground there for kids (if you can get a table near it) but also a bridge near by that goes over the lake to draw their attention so still have to be well aware of little ones. Hope this helps
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BLACK BREWING CO, Wilyabrup - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Black Brewing Co

Black Brewing Co is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5