We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown Wormingford

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Road, Wormingford CO6 3AB, England
+44 1787 227 464
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Fri 12:30 - 23:00
Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 208: English reviews
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The pub has just reopened with New Owners. Now more of a traditional Village pub rather than the Restaurant focus it had before. Menu is now much simpler, with Pub food staples like Steaks, Burgers, Fish & Chips. However the food is of good quality with nice sides such as home made coleslaw and nice minty mushy peas. Two Cask... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Quiet don't know why as it is excellent food. Had a group on voucher which was such a good deal and even without it would still recommend

Helpful?
Thank carolineh2004
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Excellent meal and service at this North Essex country pub. Recommend that you give it a try. Under new management.

Helpful?
2 Thank John T
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

First visit since the new owners took over. We had Sunday lunch and it was absolutely fantastic! Genuinely haven't had a roast that good for ages. Amazing value for money, lovely staff, and great food, what more could you want. Can't wait to come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

We recently visited here for lunch on a Friday afternoon. It was exceptionally quiet and I'm unsure if it was the lack of people that contributed to the total lack of atmosphere or if it's like that all the time. It was so quiet you felt you had to whisper to each other. Maybe background music would help this. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkbow1
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This was the email x2 and letter we sent to Shaun the manager of this resturant. Describing my sisters 30th birthday party. Only table booked in on a thurs night, 8 meals when a party of 10 people, poor service, questionable quality of food, awful atmosphere. And no response from manager when complaining. Its a lengthy read but you'll hear... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
Colchester, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We had read good reviews and so were looking forward to trying this restaurant with friends on a Groupon voucher. When we arrived at the pub at 12.30pm it was empty and we did wonder why if the reputation was so good. We were not aware that there was a separate menu for Groupon customers as this was not stated... More 

Helpful?
Thank JAN53
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Visited The Crown with some friends clutching our Groupon voucher. Groupon customers do of course have a separate menu but in this the menu was ok. I had Houmous, was a very large portion. 2 people had soup, one was returned to be heated. The mains were good. Overall it was a good experience. The owner was friendly and helpful.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frances N
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We had lunch here today. As soon as we walked in the place felt friendly, it was. It is an old fashioned style pub which has been refurbished without spoiling its original charm. There is plenty of 'off road parking'. The food was very good, well above the average Bistro type. It was hot, had good flavour, there was plenty... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrisskews1
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

The food was very acceptable Unfortunately all the draught beer had gone as a result of a previous function Have visited several times before and haven't been disappointed with service or food

Helpful?
Thank h0rkesley

Travellers who viewed The Crown Wormingford also viewed

Colchester, Essex
 
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to The Crown Wormingford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 14 - USD 31
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:30 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Wormingford CO6 3AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Wormingford
  • Phone Number: +44 1787 227 464
Description
Graduation Bookings being taken

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Crown Wormingford and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Colchester, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Wormingford staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?