We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cabbage Roll

2641 Lafayette St, Saint Joseph, MO 64507-1529
+1 816-233-4444
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good19%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (42 reviews)
“cabbage rolls” (65 reviews)
“pierogies” (7 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
German, European
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2641 Lafayette St, Saint Joseph, MO 64507-1529
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was delicious and staff was very accommodating. They went out of their way to see that I walked out with a cake & pie that I needed for an event later in the day!

Thank Martha C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I just happened to hop across this place. What a jewel. I had Jagerschnitzel for the very first time. Oh Lordy it was good. Accompanied by sweet-and-sour sauerkraut and warm German potato salad. On Friday nights they have $14 all you can eat. Are you...More

Thank AustinActor
Reviewed 17 June 2017

We pulled off the interstate looking for something different than we can get at home and we found it here! Homey little place that felt like we were in someone's kitchen rather than a restaurant. The food was really good and the owners/staff were extremely...More

Thank Sandra D
Reviewed 7 June 2017

I was so excited to try this restaurant based on the reviews and the fact that they had pierogies (the whole reason I went) ...what a disappointment! My plate....slice of wheat bread with margarine, a baked potato that has been sliced and warmed in a...More

1  Thank Vicki R
guynstjo, Owner at Cabbage Roll, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry you were not happy with your meal. after reading some of your past write ups on other restaurants I can see you are a hard person to please . when we come out and ask how are things and you say fine. we are...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Andy and Larry to an excellent job serving great food! This resteraunt is in a quiet neighborhood waiting to be found. I bring my Mother once per month and always have exceptional food and service! I have brought client's here to eat and they are...More

Thank david w
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Some colleagues and I stopped by here for lunch a few days ago, and I was really impressed with everything they had to offer! The prices were very reasonable (their tenderloin sandwich was a good size and price for lunch). The decorations in the restaurant...More

Thank Jake S
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Stopped for a quick lunch because I love locally owned and operated facilities. I also love German food. My friend had the lunch special and I had bratwurst and sweet and sour cabbage. Truly good! Stop for lunch or any Friday night for the buffet...More

Thank Gary C
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Had the perogies for lunch! I chose hot German potato salad & lettuce salad as sides. Everything was delicious; hot & fresh. Can't wait to eat here again.

Thank lrichelle
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We drove across town to the Cabbage Roll based upon TA reviews, but were disappointed in almost every way. Small rundown building in a poor area, with limited hours and seating. We had the Brat and Polish combo. The German potato salad (served hot) was...More

1  Thank Dennis M
guynstjo, Owner at Cabbage Roll, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your meal. when asked how everything was--why you did not say something then--we would of taken care of it. after reading some of your other reviews--it seams like you are a hard person to please-we have been...More

Reviewed 14 March 2017

This is styled after German cuisine. It is different than most anything else around for sure. Of the people I know they have mixed opinions. I will tell you your best bet is to make reservations for the buffet on Friday nights. It will allow...More

Thank TravelinMikee
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
JC Wyatt House
141 reviews
1.72 km away
Il Lazzarone
155 reviews
1.91 km away
Fredrick Inn Steakhouse
127 reviews
1.98 km away
Nearby Attractions
Patee House Museum
343 reviews
1.55 km away
Pony Express Museum
277 reviews
1.85 km away
Glore Psychiatric Museum
210 reviews
2.55 km away
Jesse James Home Museum
163 reviews
1.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Charles K
22 November 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from guynstjo | Property representative |
yes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 13
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Buffet, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Takeout, Reservations, Seating
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 - 14:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 14:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 14:00
Thursday
11:00 - 14:00
Friday
11:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 19:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2641 Lafayette St, Saint Joseph, MO 64507-1529
  • Location: United States  >  Missouri (MO)  >  Saint Joseph
  • Phone Number: +1 816-233-4444
Description
We Are Opened Mon--fri--11 To 2 Dinner Buffet Friday Nights 5 To 7 Reservations Are Needed For Friday Nights Closed Saturday & Sunday
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing