We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Australian, Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (45)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
21
17
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
21
17
3
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

If you are thinking about visiting this place as a flying visit - go to McDonald’s instead. I’ve never been made to feel as uncomfortable as I did stepping into this place. For what reason I am not sure? We are from the UK and...on a long trip throughout Australia.. we had been in the car for 7 hours before we arrived here. I called ahead 2 hours before to see if they had anything available as it was on our way through and looked like a great place with lovely views. As we entered the restaurant the staff all proceeded to just stand and look at as. 2 people in particular, a middle aged gent and a young lad with longish hair - they were looking directly at us - clearly talking about us but still left us standing looking around waiting to someone to come over. The young lad eventually decided to come over when he felt like it. Showed us to our table and didn’t give us any information about how to order, when asked he said it’s table service. We waited 5,10,15 mins no one even seemed to notice us and you try to make eye contact they look the complete opposite way. Anyway my husband goes up to ask and all of them walk the other way so he’s gone to the bar to get us a drink while we wait and as I looked over I could see the bar man completely blanking him and serving others (probably locals or regulars, that come up to the bar after him, joke!!!!) After he eventually got the drinks he asked someone if we can order as no one had bothered coming over. A gent says he will take the order for us but ends up not taking the order because a lady says she will come over which again takes her sweet time another 5-10 mins pass at this stage I think what exactly is the problem. We have been in a car for 7 hours and I just wanted to feed our child as she was hungry and it seemed exhausting to just order food! Someone comes over and takes the order eventually and the food comes quite quick thankful for that and the food wasn’t too bad either. Once we’ve eaten we try to find out about the dessert included in our daughters meal. Tried to grab the attention of the staff to ask and again point blank ignored (particularly by the young lad with longish hair) ended up sorting it after much faff. Honestly could not wait to get out of there. Myself and my husband run a business in the UK and would be horrified if our staff behaved like that. I feel this place is very clicky and this review should be shown to your staff to improve and be better to people who are not local or in the click. No one should be made to feel that way for simply being wanting some lunch.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2023 via mobile

See my review as mooney mooney sports club. This appears to be a duplication. A very pleasant meal in a cut above the average “Club”

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2023

Great food and service; will go again. Veg and GF options available which was the reason to select this restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2022

We have been to Coastal Dining numerous times over the years. It's a great location for lunch, particularly if it's a nice day to take in the views of the Mooney Mooney Creek. Unfortunately, the dining experience this time (July) was a disappointment, especially because...it was my wifes birthday. The room was cold and we had to wear our coats during the entire meal. We asked several times if the temperature could be increased, but nothing happened. The service was not up to standard and they seemed to be understaffed for the number of diners; perhaps due to staff isolating with COVID? It was apparent that one of the waiters was new and struggling, but didn't seem to be getting enough supervision. Enough of the disappointing experience. The food was definitely up to their usual standard when it eventually arrived and we all enjoyed that part of the eating experience. We might give Coastal Dining a miss for awhile and hopefully by then the service issues will be sorted out. As for the cold, I think we'll be giving dining there in the winter a miss from here on.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2022 via mobile

What a lovely surprise. Very nice club in Mooney Mooney. Dining room is small and very comfortable. Menu was great, food was excellent. The staff were well trained, very pleasant and helpful. A must do if staying in the area.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2021

Sunday lunchtime, nine of us celebrated my son's birthday. Bookings are staggered so you have a two hour window (ours was 11.30 to 1.30), which enables very quick and efficient service. All ordered different meals and we were all very satisfied with our choices. They...wouldn't let us bring a birthday cake so we brought a box of cupcakes, ordered takeaway coffee from the bar, and took them down to the lovely grassed area with tables and benches, overlooking the Hawkesbury river.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2020

Unfortunately this latest dining experience at Coastal was just average. The cost of the meals appear to have since our previous visit before COVID. I chose the Scotch Fillet Steak and is thinly sliced with lots of gristle. The cost was $44. A poor quality...of what should have been a premium cut of meat.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrandTour30549495826, Other at Coastal Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2020

Hi Paul, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your recent experience did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately due to COVID some of our suppliers have had to increase their prices which has resulted in a price rise in some of our...More

Reviewed 18 February 2020

Enjoyed the Food and ambiance of this Restaurant set on the river We had pre booked which is essential. Welcomed by door Man, Had a drink at the bar and were seated promptly. The whole food fare was a 10/10. Great Oysters, and the Grilled...Barra was sublime. Value for money . Plating and potions were done very professionally and the Wait person ( Lauren ) was attentitive..More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2019

Just off the M1 freeway near the Hawkesbury River bridge, is the Mooney Mooney Cllub with it's Coastal Restaurant. The restaurant has exceptional, friendly service, a very good menu selection, fresh seafood and a magnificent view of the Hawkesbury River, both from inside and on...the verandah. This is the perfect place to relax, take in a drink or two and indulge in beautifule meal with friends or family. The Mooney Mooney Club is also a sponsor of the Marine Rescue NSW Hawkesbury Unit (who is located adjacent the Club), so it is a great venue and also supports the local volunteer community.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2019 via mobile

Here you have a Restaurant sitting on the beautiful and Majestic Hawkesbury river well known for its abundant fish supply of the classics such as Flat head, Jew fish and the most common of common fish the River Mullett. Well do not expect this restaurant...to supply any of the above fish. What they serve is totally imported from over seas. The fish ????? I will tell you is Hoki and they proudly advertise it. This is a restaurant that is squarely in the middle of what was a vibrant fishing community and Oyster industry and non of the food on offer is local. DisgustingMore

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2019 via mobile

Restaurant is located within Mooney Mooney Club. Went on a Saturday for lunch and our table was on the outside balcony overlooking river. Staff were very friendly and polite. We had the slow cooked pork belly and risotto filled zucchini flowers for entree and Fishermans...Basket and Grilled Barramundi for mains. All dishes were very delicious and reasonably priced. Recommended.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2019

There were a few menu changes since our previous visit. We had starters, mains and deserts. All were nice meals and the service was good. Overall a very good dining experience with a great outlook over the water.

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2019

We had lunch here yesterday with a group of friends. Had not visited since 2011 and noticed that the room has had a freshen up and looks great! Wonderful menu selection and everyone enjoyed their meals. Great food, genuine service and fabulous location!

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2019 via mobile

We stayed in an Airbnb a short walk from the Moony Moony club. On our last evening of our time away we had a great meal here! The food was fabulous and wonderful view too

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2019

Great food, fantastic views, easy parking and friendly staff. Lovely dining experience would be enjoyed by all, young and old

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Brooklyn Motel
96 reviews
3.06 km away
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort
1,093 reviews
10.01 km away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
3,504 reviews
12.40 km away
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
272 reviews
12.94 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Hawkesbury River Oyster Shed
37 reviews
.16 km away
Lifeboat Seafood
213 reviews
3.06 km away
Dangar Island Depot
10 reviews
3.71 km away
Pie in the Sky
156 reviews
5.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Broken Bay Pearl Farm
123 reviews
.12 km away
The Riverboat Postman
1,381 reviews
3.12 km away
Hawkesbury River Kayaks
237 reviews
3.32 km away
Hawkesbury River
22 reviews
.71 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Joan B
20 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rhonda w | Reviewed this property |
Yes suitable for large gatherings, BUT you will need to book a minimum of 4 - 6 weeks out, as they only take 1 large booking over 20 people per lunch dinner sitting...hope this helps!!
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

COASTAL DINING, Mooney Mooney - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Coastal Dining

Coastal Dining is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4