We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queen Adelaide

$$ - $$$, British,
272 Kingston Road, Ewell, Epsom KT19 0SH, England
+44 20 8393 2664
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good30%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (3 reviews)
“ember inns” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
272 Kingston Road, Ewell, Epsom KT19 0SH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked here because it's local, family friendly and cheap but we weren't expecting much due to reviews we'd read. However we pleasantly surprised- the staff were helpful and attentive, service speedy and food was all good - no complaints at all - we would...More

Thank JoBrocks66
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear JoBrocks66. Thanks for taking the time to review the Queen Adelaide Ember Inn. We always aim to provide our guests with great experiences and we're delighted we achieved this upon your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Hope you have a...More

Reviewed 16 September 2017

Huge pub on the main road but with plenty of parking. Nice seating area at the front but a bit noisy with traffic, seating out the back quieter. Friendly and fast service. Very fresh food.

Thank happyh0lidays57
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear happyh0lidays57. Thanks for taking the time to review the Queen Adelaide Ember Inn. It is always our aim to provide our guests with great service and products and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit. Have a great week

Reviewed 14 September 2017

Breakfast with no teaspoons, no teacups, boiling water only warm, toaster drops toast on floor, noisy radio and tv competing on your ears even though only the staff were watching tv. no cutlery on table. food was very good but let down by all the...More

Thank John T
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear John T. Thanks for taking the time to review the Queen Adelaide Ember Inn. Please accept our deepest apologies for the below standard experience you encountered. We always aim to provide our guests with great experiences, however we clearly did not achieve this upon...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

It's been another great even in a lovely and friendly pub and as always the food was excellent and the staff can't be more friendly and helpful. It now going to be our local.

Thank Davemadmax
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Davemadmax. Thanks for taking the time to review the Queen Adelaide Ember Inn. It's always our aim to provide our guests with great experiences and we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. Have a great week

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Had a really good full English breakfast here this week. Nice ambience and great bacon! Staff were very friendly too. The current boss was a banker in his previous occupation and obviously takes pride in seeing the pub is run efficiently. Likely to be become...More

Thank Trevor S
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Trevor S. Thanks for taking the time to review the Queen Adelaide Ember Inn. It's always our aim to provide our guests with great experiences and we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. Have a great week

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

What a fabulous quiet friendly place tucked away with all mod cons, a real oldie world pub come restaurant, very good food, didn't have to wait long, as Graham senior manager was very attentive and served me well, beautiful female bar staff too, will go...More

Thank 8,222,015
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Michael. Thanks for taking the time to review the Queen Adelaide Ember Inn. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit. Have a great week and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Staying at the Premier Inn next door we had lunch on Friday 1st Sept and breakfast on Sat & Sun. Staff very friendly and professional. However disappointed in our lunch. We both had the Sirloin Steak - I asked for Medium Rare but it came...More

Thank 69neptune
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review the Queen Adelaide Ember Inn. I'm sorry to hear that your Sirloin Steaks were not to your liking. If you ever encounter a problem, please inform one of my team and we'd be happy to rectify the problem...More

Reviewed 22 August 2017

I booked a table for 11 people on Sunday 20th August for my Nan and Auntie's birthdays. It was obvious the bar staff were struggling as there was only one person serving - given that we have to order at the bar for food, this...More

Thank Leanne T
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Leanne T. Thanks for taking the time to review the Queen Adelaide Ember Inn. Please accept our deepest apologies for the error regarding your meal. We always try to ensure we get things right, however unfortunately occasionally mistakes do happen. That said, I am...More

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a drink before going to eat at the Surrey Palace. The pub is situated on the main road. Usual choice of drinks, service a bit slow, and bar area cluttered with glasses all over bar. Would not return here probablyMore

Thank RichardH40
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Richard H. Thanks for taking the time to review the Queen Adelaide Ember Inn. As a branded pub we do offer many 'standard' drinks within our range, though we are also proud to offer many alternatives such as Estrella, Hop House 13, Samuel Adams...More

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Says it all really great Sunday roast and great kids food at a pretty decent price but the service slow and not very friendly

Thank andysmith35
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dastaan Indian Restaurant
208 reviews
.79 km away
June 8 Cafe & Bistro
35 reviews
.86 km away
Ewell Court Tearoom
72 reviews
.29 km away
Primo coffee, Restaurant
6 reviews
.66 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Wheatsheaf
25 reviews
1.41 km away
Nonsuch Park
206 reviews
1.28 km away
Jupiter Jo's
10 reviews
1.34 km away
Surbiton Raceway
23 reviews
1.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Donna N
4 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Nichode | Reviewed this property |
I would not dare go Christmas Day I would be worried about the price I am paying and the food quality
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 20
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Television, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 272 Kingston Road, Ewell, Epsom KT19 0SH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Epsom  >  Ewell
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8393 2664
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing