We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dukes Head

Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
+44 1342 712431
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (26 reviews)
“sunday roast” (22 reviews)
“pork” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Bright and warm entrance, beautiful fireplace, flaming logs on the fire. Shown to our table promptly. The floor around our table had trodden in sweet potato chips, which must have been there from the previous evening. The table was not laid up for four diners,five...More

Thank Ron R
Reviewed 3 days ago

Met our friends at the Dukes Head this evening for a meal and catch up. Usual excellant service with staff being very welcome. Food as usual good, Red Pepper soup could have been a little warmer and spicy.

Thank Colouredbottles
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day! Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Lovely Sunday lunch with friends. Staff very friendly food was cooked perfectly and would definitely recommend and go back thank you

Thank jennie440
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Jennie440, thank you so much for your high rating! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day! Luca and the Team

Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited on a Sunday evening. No roasts left, normal menu had items not available as well. Dessert menu also missing items. Even the cheeseboard was unavailable. What kind of restaurant runs out of cheese. Very disappointed.

3  Thank suecakebread
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We fly out of gatwick every year and stay in a hotel close to here so always go in for dinner. We both enjoyed our food, it was lovely and well presented. Steaks cooked to perfection! Staff very friendly and as always we enjoyed our...More

Thank Margaret C
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Margaret C, thank you so much for your high rating! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day! We look forward to see you next time you are back in this area. Luca and the Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Another disappointing experience here. Service was slow because they were understaffed in the restaurant and kitchen, which was a shame because the staff were trying their best, but they simply needed more waiting staff to help them. 20 minutes for drinks to arrive at the...More

1  Thank dk1981felbridge
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dk1981felbridge, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at 01342712431 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We popped in soon the off-cnace with no booking. We were directed t the bar and told same food, same menu - just order at the bar. This was fully acceptable and we were warmly welcomed and served efficiently and friendly. I had roast port...More

Thank brianbG2201PJ
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Brianbg2201pj, thank you so much for your high rating! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day! Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the Duke's Head recently for dinner. The restaurant wasn't full as we ate quite early, but it still had a pleasant atmosphere. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The menu was varied, and food good so we enjoyed our meal. Our only issue...More

Thank Julie N
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Julie N, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the dukes head last night had a great meal and nice time with my family would definitely recommend.

Thank Poppymillie1
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Poppymillie1, thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited as a group of 13 on a Saturday afternoon for a family get together. We were asked to place our orders in advance of our visit, to help the kitchen out, which was fair enough. Food was good, service attentive and friendly. Will be...More

Thank MandL-OM
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mandl-om, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Dukes Head, Crawley Down! We look forward to your next visit! Take care! Regards Luca and the Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dal Nonno Restaurant and Pizzeria
261 reviews
1.39 km away
Olivers Coffee and Wine
107 reviews
1.11 km away
The Curious Pig in the Parlour
847 reviews
1.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tulleys Farm
1,027 reviews
3.59 km away
British Wildlife Centre
398 reviews
5.12 km away
Southern Pursuits
343 reviews
3.27 km away
Kingscote Estate and Vineyard
22 reviews
4.88 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
SarahOver
25 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Abel B | Property representative |
Hi Sarah Over Sorry for the delay in responding We have an allergy guide which covers our menu dishes and identifies which allergens are in each dish Hope this helps Please ask your waiter or waitress on the evening for... More
0
Votes
Paul S
27 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Paul S | Reviewed this property |
There are No "Treatments! Its a "Restaurant"
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 24 - USD 32
Meals
Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Crawley Down
  • Phone Number: +44 1342 712431
  • E-mail
Description
Our traditional pub building has been stylishly refurbished to make it the perfect place to find a cosy corner and take time out whilst enjoying some of our Chefs seasonal dishes and our great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Inside you will find roaring log fires, comfy armchairs to while away the afternoon and an open bar with a unique dining room. So, whether it be a special celebration, a mid week treat, or an impromptu dinner we are happy to help you arrange the perfect occasion so give us a call or pop in and speak to one of the team. We look forward to seeing you soon... near Gatwick airport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing