We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boars Head

$$ - $$$, British,
Main Road, Aust BS35 4AX, England
+44 1454 632278
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good25%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (8 reviews)
“ham” (4 reviews)
“burger” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Aust BS35 4AX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

When I rang to book for Sunday lunch I asked what time Sunday lunch was served until and was told 4 pm so I booked a table for 3.30. On arrival we were told that there was no Sunday lunch left!! We were obviously very...More

Thank Janice A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perry and his excellent team made us feel very welcome and very valued! I speak as I find... (see my previous reviews), and I can genuinely say that the staff were awesome! Food was good, especially the steak. For the price you cannot go wrong!

1  Thank Lizie T
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Running late so decided to go out for tea instead. Great beer great food. Very friendly and welcoming. Looking forward to our next visit.

1  Thank Nick194
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed with vegetarian roast☹ was given quorn sausages along the usual roast potatoes and vegetables and a Yorkshire pudding. .would have been much nicer if at least i had gravy. . but no. . made the whole meal dry and unappetizing. Asked for horseradish...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 October 2017

A warm welcome awaits you in the Boars Head Aust . The food was delicious and the service great even when my friend accidentally spilled her wine they cheerfully replaced it and mopped up the mess. The inn is quaint and a real boars head...More

Thank FarroviaCarol1947
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Many thanks for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 11 September 2017

We ate here on a Thursday evening , we had a warm welcome , there were a few tables already taken but this pubs has lots of rooms/alcoves with different sized tables, we both had steak with chips peas tomato and peppercorn sauce, the steak...More

1  Thank YVONNE G
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Glad you had a great time. Please come and see us again soon.

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Had lunch today at the boars head, was a bit of a wait as they were very busy but we were told the bar when we ordered. When the food arrived it was lovely- and callum helped us pick out the lemon and raspberry pudding...More

1  Thank Joe H
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your review. So pleased you had a great time.

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

I wish I took the time to read the reviews before I took my family here for lunch. I don't really know where to start with this review. Everything about the boars head is rotten. Arrived early to find the pub nearly empty. No one...More

4  Thank johnweb81
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thanks for your review. I'll look into your feedback and see what steps need to be taken to address the issues.

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice Lunch and some really nice Ale on tap. Very enjoyable and service was good. Nice garden on a sunny afternoon and covered courtyard garden.

2  Thank GlennerBristol
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

This is my first time at this pub although with a friend who has been before.I can honestly say I experienced the worst Sunday roast that I have ever had. Overcooked chicken and a huge plate of over cooked tasteless and textureless vegetables with gravy...More

Thank goldcherub
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. Please be assured that all your comments are discussed by us as a team and acted on accordingly.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
White Hart pub
181 reviews
2.32 km away
Shirley's Cafe
19 reviews
2.98 km away
Swan Inn
213 reviews
4.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
6 O'Clock Gin Distillery
24 reviews
6.47 km away
Mojo Active
17 reviews
6.55 km away
Chepstow Castle
838 reviews
6.58 km away
Paintpotts
16 reviews
6.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Boars Head staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Aust BS35 4AX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Aust
  • Phone Number: +44 1454 632278
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing