We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter

$$ - $$$German, European,
8390 Lofton Ave N, Stillwater, MN 55082-8418
+1 651-439-7128
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good29%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (4 reviews)
“sauerbraten” (12 reviews)
“knockwurst” (5 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 pm - 9:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
German, European, Central European, Austrian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8390 Lofton Ave N, Stillwater, MN 55082-8418
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went there to celebrate our 40th Anniversary and we were not disappointed. It is a quaint authentic German restaurant.

Thank Don H
Reviewed 17 September 2017

You do not have to be Austrian, Bavarian, Bohemian, or even German to enjoy Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter! I was visiting friends from my university days and was brought here because I shared a restaurant in my home state which was similar. The waitstaff was Great,...More

Thank arts713
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Have visited twice in the past couple of years during our bike riding on the Gateway State Trail. My companion and I split a Sausage Platter which came with a Brat and Knackwurst, German Potato Salad, Sauerkraut, soup and bread. Very filling and very tasteful....More

Thank Trevor D
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

It had been a few years since we'd eaten here so when we were in the area we had lunch on a Wednesday. We had pork chops, chicken & sausage platters. Everyone enjoyed their meals. Food as delicious & all came and it at the...More

Thank Mumzie9196
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

This place is ALWAYS good. Yeah sometimes you have to wait longer than others for service, but food and beer never disappoint. My favorite is to sit on the patio in warmer weather. Take the family and walk the grounds a bit after eating!

Thank Dmae118
Reviewed 20 June 2017

It's been 10 years since I've been back to Germany/Bavaria and coming here was like a step back in time. From the beautiful flower boxes and piped in music to the decor, it brought tears to my eyes. Lunch started with a nice tall Hefe...More

Thank 279renates
Kim Q, Owner at Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

We love to hear of bringing back great memories! We strive everyday to make all our guest feel like they are in Bavaria. The Gasthaus is a home away from home for so many and we are glad you were here to enjoy the food...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Nine of us went to a Mother's Day brunch at this restaurant chosen because of advertised strolling Polka Accordian player. When I first asked when the music would begin I was told "we never have music on Sundays". I said I was told when I...More

Thank janiesue15
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Not sure why the bad reviews. We had a great experience from the perfect service and delicious German food. We really enjoy everything from end to end including the "light" check.

Thank Pierre M
Kim Q, Owner at Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thank you Pierre, we are glad you were able to enjoy our deck in April! More great days of beautiful pines, great food and beer ahead! Take care- Kim

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We dine here often, we had Weiss Beer and a huge meal. The soups are homemade and delicious. The portions are large enough for a man and we both had food to take home. Yum!

Thank Karen M
Kim Q, Owner at Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thank you Karen for your continued support as we journey into our 51st year at The Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter! Hope to see you soon on the deck! Kim

Reviewed 3 April 2017

So disappointed in our visit this time. Went on a Sunday evening. The sausage was greasy, the breaded schnitzels obviously had been made way in advance. They were salty and chewy. The wine was very good however.

2  Thank weezie1410
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store
223 reviews
4.37 km away
Fiesta cancun #6
10 reviews
4.60 km away
Cozzie's Tavern and Grill
17 reviews
3.90 km away
Nearby Attractions
All American Segway
14 reviews
4.90 km away
Maple Island Brewing
60 reviews
5.09 km away
Brown's Creek Trail
34 reviews
4.62 km away
Saint Croix Vineyards
73 reviews
3.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
haelder
22 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Steve L | Reviewed this property |
Sorry...just not sure. You should call the restaurant.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 20
Cuisine
German, European, Central European, Austrian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8390 Lofton Ave N, Stillwater, MN 55082-8418
  • Location: United States  >  Minnesota (MN)  >  Stillwater
  • Phone Number: +1 651-439-7128
Description
Award winning Old World hospitality in our beautiful pine forest. Lunch, dinner and Sunday buffet.12 Imported German beers on tap, wines, liquers and full bar. Strolling accordion Friday evenings. Reservation accepted and recommended. Outdoor seating in a pine forest. Family owned and operated since 1966! Guten Appetit!!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing