We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$89 - AU$568
CUISINES
Japanese, Asian, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (126)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
62
25
17
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
62
25
17
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fried rice wagyu fantastic night excellent service and food sakura japan skills saki
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 8 September 2023 via mobile

We ate here a year ago for my son in laws birthday it was amazing, every course was beautifully presented and delicious. Ate again here tonight for our anniversary (my husband has never been before). I was so excited for him to experience it. Especially...the prawns with prawn heads made into a beautiful edible presentation. We had a lady cook this time. 1st course scallops….overcooked. 2nd course I had lamb blackstrap, medium rare….overcooked & chewy. I was excited for my husband to try the prawns. The chef on the next table was doing the prawn heads like the delicious ones we had last time. The lady chef that cooked ours disposed of the heads….so disappointing! 😡 my husband said his prawns were tough. Next course fried rice. We looked across at the other chefs fried rice…light and fluffy. Ours was soggy, tasteless and unappealing. Overall very disappointed tonight compared to the last time. The group on the hot plate next to us had a totally different experience and totally different food to us however the same menu and same cost. Such a shame as we don’t eat in expensive places such as this very often.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2023

Food is generally good - a bit hit and miss - but beware the extra charges …. Eftpos charge - tap water charge and a charge whacked on to your bill for being there on a Saturday night ? Better places to eat the same...foodMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2023 via mobile

Nice welcome and we had high expectations but unfortunately it fell short when value was compared with others in the same genre. I have no issue spending money eating out, but this left us feeling we had spent too much on this experience. I understand...King Willam Rd rent must be exorbitant, plus wages and on costs etc. William our teppanyaki chef was lovely. Wishing the best for the restaurant in the future as the concept is fabulous but it's just a little off point finacially in the current market for me.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samurai Teppanyaki, Owner at Samurai Teppanyaki House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations in terms of value. It is indeed our aim to provide an exceptional dining experience and we understand that the...More

Reviewed 27 November 2022 via mobile

We felt like were in Japan right when we entered the Samurai Teppanyaki House in Hyde Park. We celebrated a birthday lunch for my 90 year old mother-in-law. We all loved it. Excellent service and food, the F1 wagyu is superb! We were all surprised,...with a birthday song from the chef and staff - with a cake and balloon. Samurai Teppanyaki House made it real special for us. Thank you so much. どうもありがとうございます Thank you for making it memorable. LiliMore

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2022 via mobile

Went here tonight for my Son in laws birthday. A fantastic experience from entering to leaving. Every one of the 6 courses was perfect and absolutely delicious. The skill of the chef was second to none and watching him cook it in front of you...was amazing. We tried the Saki paddle which was nice. A fantastic night. Will be recommending this place to everyone and will definitely be back.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2022

The whole teppanyaki experience was dimmed by not being done by a professional chef this time The FEMALE chef did not introduce herself Did not greet us Did not present the food before cooking Did not say anything until asked The fried rice was done...without the proper Teppanyaki way for the eggs . The highlight I looked forward to for a very long time was Foie gras. I got it cold inside. I complained. Her response was "I'll do better next time"! But that will not help me! As a pensioner I saved up a long time for this meal, and got full charged with $50 extra for it Now I'm not tempted to come back, and we used to come here as family twice a year I looked forward to it so much, and got left a bad memory!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samurai Teppanyaki, Owner at Samurai Teppanyaki House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you encountered during your recent visit. At Samurai Teppanyaki House, we strive to provide excellent food and service to our customers, and it's disheartening to hear that we did...More

Reviewed 30 December 2021

It is always fun to sit at the counter and watch your food being cooked. Covid restrictions at one point banned this in SA and even now there are capacity restrictions in force which must make running a teppanyaki restaurant a nightmare, so I have...a lot of sympathy for the proprietors. Unfortunately their responses have in some ways reduced their customers' experience. It starts when you book, as a $50 deposit per person is taken from your card immediately. Apparently you can get this refunded if you cancel more than 72 hours in advance. On the evening we arrived to find the entrance bolted and an instruction to ring the bell. A voice on the other end of the intercom asked our names and if we had a booking. We then had to wait until the voice made his way through the vestibule to the door and unlocked it. Once inside we had to scan the QR code in the vestibule and were then led to teppanyaki room and shown to our places at the counter. All very covidsafe but a bit daunting. Once seated, the service was very attentive, although we found the special offer on the $199 Kobe Beef tasting menu a bit confusing. We quickly gave up trying to understand it and opted for the $99 pp. Samurai Feast with Australian Wagyu which was quite good enough for us. The starter, consisting of sashimi, seared beef and tempura, was excellent. It was quickly followed by teppanyaki scallops and jumbo prawns, both very good. A salad was then served which we ate before the beef course, French style, but which according to the menu should have been served with the fried rice. The teppanyaki beef and vegetables were served with wasabi, salt, crispy garlic and two sauces. I found the sauce for the beef a bit sweet although adding salt corrected that. The fried rice was a bit bland but the house made ice cream was good. Our evening was then deflated when we paid the bill on the way out. Vincent gave me a figure which sounded about right. As it was over $100 "tap and pay" was not applicable, so I inserted my debit card in the EFTPOS machine, selected "Savings" in order to reduce the transaction charge to the restaurant, and paid. Only then did I notice the "Credit Card 1.5% surcharge" of $2.06 already on the bill. When I complained and pointed out that I had paid with eftpos through my savings account, Vincent said that Bendigo Bank charged them 1.5% on all cards including Debit cards and eftpos transactions. If true, which I doubt as Bendigo Bank's "business fees and charges" document lists savings and cheque eftpos transactions as costing 25¢, they ought to switch to Westpac who have a 1.2% "blended rate". If they are not using a blended rate offer like this it is illegal to charge more than the 25¢ actual rate for an eftpos savings bank transaction.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samurai Teppanyaki, Owner at Samurai Teppanyaki House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and we sincerely apologize for any shortcomings during your visit. We understand your concerns about our booking and entry processes. Our aim is to comply with COVID-19 safety measures...More

Reviewed 17 November 2021

Went here tonight for our anniversary dinner, the food and service was exceptional, our chef Nimo was amazing. We will definitely be back

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kazumi Ramen, Owner at Samurai Teppanyaki House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2021

Thank you for your review. Chef Nimo is a great chef. Please request him to be your personal chef for your next visit.

Reviewed 10 September 2021

The character of the venue was really cool whihc set the scene perfectly for the dining experience. Each course of our menu was simple but elegent with little touches that make it worth the price. Speacial note to the freshness of the seafood. Once you...try Kobe beef it is hard to go back... The service was also 5 star. Overall it was a very nice japanese experience and highly recommendMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kazumi Ramen, Owner at Samurai Teppanyaki House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2021

Thank you for your review. We would love to host you and your friends again soon.

Reviewed 6 May 2021 via mobile

Excellent. Went back in February and was amazing. Not just a restaurant but a dining experience that all must try. Interesting range of Japanese beers and excellent quality food cooked right in front of you!

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kazumi Ramen, Owner at Samurai Teppanyaki House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2021

Thank you for your review. We will have more beer and Japanese Whisky on the menu soon. Would love to see you again soon.

Reviewed 11 April 2021

For $650 we each had a glass of average wine, only 1 scallop, 1 small piece of steak, 2 prawns and some very average sorbet - had to pay extra for basically everything...including water! Will never be returning and will never recommend...and all 3 of...us walked away hungry. The service was good but believe me - you pay for it!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samurai Teppanyaki, Owner at Samurai Teppanyaki House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

We deeply regret to hear about your disappointing experience at Samurai Teppanyaki House, and we appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention. We aim to provide a memorable dining experience for all our guests, and it seems we fell short during...More

Reviewed 6 March 2021

Thai is now my favourite restaurant, pricey but SO worth it. I’ll definitely be recommending this place to EVERYONE

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samurai Teppan, Owner at Samurai Teppanyaki House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. We see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 March 2021

Went back after a while and they have upgraded and changed formats again. Taken away the duck :( but replaced with even more awesome things. Again, traditional high quality service and all food cooked to perfection - it is an experience. Great service as always...and high attention to detail, quality and cleanliness. Our chef (Kim) was great and made some adjustments easily based on some specific dietary requirements.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samurai Teppan, Owner at Samurai Teppanyaki House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Thank you Evan for your review. So glad to see you enjoyed the new version of Samurai. Please request Kim to be your personal chef for your next visit. We look forward to serving you agian.

Reviewed 13 February 2021 via mobile

Fantastic food, service and chefs. We got the seafood, and meat banquets and both were superb. The chef we had (Sky) was also so welcoming, kind and meticulous with his cooking. My partner got the Kobe beef which he said was to die for and...cooked to perfection. Waitresses were lovely and attentive. Price point is higher but it is well worth the $$. Will 100% be back soon.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samurai Teppan, Owner at Samurai Teppanyaki House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Thank you for your review. Lovely to see you had a great experience here. Please request Sky to be your personal chef for the next visit. See you again soon.

Reviewed 31 October 2020

Over priced, poor quality and really bad service. Steak looked frozen and the waitress tried to pour a beer in my old glass. Bad at Norwood, bad at Hyde pk. Just a Bad experience overall and to think I was hoping for some theatrics.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samurai Teppanyaki, Owner at Samurai Teppanyaki House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had with us. At Samurai Teppanyaki House, we pride ourselves on our fresh, high-quality ingredients, and exceptional service. It is clear that we didn't meet these standards during...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Jasper Motor Inn
67 reviews
.56 km away
The Terrace Hotel Adelaide
1,913 reviews
2.02 km away
Hotel Alba Adelaide
24 reviews
2.05 km away
HotelMOTEL
67 reviews
2.06 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Farina 00 Pasta & Wine
127 reviews
.03 km away
Parisi's
516 reviews
.04 km away
Burger Republic Hyde Park
91 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Endota Spa
6 reviews
.03 km away
Capri Theatre
62 reviews
.91 km away
Nook Nosh
21 reviews
.90 km away
Urth Clay Studio
5 reviews
1.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
truwren
15 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from icegolf | Reviewed this property |
We were looking for a place to have lunch and it was open so we decided to go there. Look at their website or ring them to find out their trading hours.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SAMURAI TEPPANYAKI HOUSE, Hyde Park - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Samurai Teppanyaki House

Samurai Teppanyaki House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5